We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Man Bits Dog...Again and Again!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dog House

Dog House
189 Lower County Rd, Dennis Port, MA 02639
(508) 398-7774
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 39 Restaurants in Dennis Port
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Man Bits Dog...Again and Again!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hot Dog Lovers of America....unite and stop by for one of the best dogs anywhere!!! Crispy, crackly Kayem Natural Casing franks...Grilled to perfection and all the worthy condiments!!! Gustatory Pleasure First Class ....Even the bare bones basic dog hits the spot...load it up with Your choice of goodies!!! A must stop on every single visit to the Cape!!! Your Chance to really bit the dog!!! Go For It!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fun casual outdoor dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I took my eight year old daughter here for dinner and was pleasantly surprised. Although neither of us had hotdogs, what we did order was very good. Burgers, fish sandwich, chowder and hand cut fries were great. (My daughter says Awesome!). The establishment is clean, staff is friendly, and I would definitely go back.

Heads up that there is outdoor picnic table seating only. You order at a window, they give you a buzzer, and it buzzes when your food is ready to pick up. It's a fun little place, especially for families with kids. The kids meal was a good value and came with a ton of fries to share.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Dogs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The dogs are good. It seems very clean too. My family loves this place but they are hot dogs--I don't see the big deal but my relatives can not get enough of this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dogs & More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great little joint. Great food made to order. They have hotdogs but also many other types of quick food. Super nice owner who was walking around giving kids free ice cream. We didn't accept (we wanted our 2 yo to nap), but he told us to come back later and he would give him some.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite hot dog joint on the Cape : )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We just finished our dinner from The Dog House and it was fantastic! We eat here several times during the summer and this was our first for this season. We all had split dogs with different toppings. I had sauerkraut and cheese on mine and it was perfect, not soggy and drowning in sauerkraut water. Their cheese is real shredded cheese, not the gloppy orange syrup a lot of places use. We all shared a small order of onion rings and fries and there was plenty for 5 adults. One of our favorite things to order is their home-made limeade, it's really good! They offer a variety of hot dogs, burgers, seafood and even fried dough (which rocks!) We usually eat there at the pick-nick tables but it looked like rain tonight so we got it to go. The staff is so friendly, everything is cooked when you order it and the ocean is right down the street. Prices are average and the serving sizes are great! Excellent place for little ones too b/c it's outside seating and there is plenty to look at and keep them occupied!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog House also viewed

 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Dog House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dog House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.