We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swan River Seafood

Swan River Seafood
5 Lower County Road, Dennis Port, MA 02639-1845
(508) 394-4466
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 39 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Boston
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have been to Swan River before because they are very good with allergies. Once again we were not disappointed. The wait staff was very attentive and plenty of parking out front. Nice view out to ocean/river. There is a large selection of seafood which is what it is all about during the summer. Only thing needing improvement is the salads. They are plain, plain, plain. With just a little effort the presentation could be so much better.
Great for families, and has has large bar where a lot of locals seemed to be enjoying themselves.
Great fish market right in parking lot as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    16
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Okay Food - AWFUL Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Food was pretty good, not great, but certainly above average. Prices were reasonable, a little over what you would expect to pay, but hey, Cape Cod knows how to charge.
If you visit this restaurant, insist that you are NOT served by ‘Claude A’. Claude is the absolute worst, rudest, most unhelpful waiter that I have in all my travels EVER come across. Absolutely no attempt to make anyone welcome. Water had to be requested, rather than just brought to the table, and then another request had to be made for the ‘luxury’ of a straw. A decent (not cheap) bottle of wine was ordered, - no tasting offered, simply splashed into the glasses on the table. Lobster was ordered, and delivered, but no bib given. (By this time I didn’t want to speak to this excuse for a waiter for fear of losing my temper). Beer was served, in a glass ¾’s full, without any explanation or apology. Throughout the entire meal, not once did our ‘server’ ask if everything was fine, or if we wanted anymore drinks (we did, but they never sold them to us because Claude didn’t do his job.).
I refused to pay Claude directly, and went to the main desk. The person who was working the main desk claimed to be the manager, but looked like a teenager and seemed to have no authority whatsoever. When I explained my dissatisfaction, the only response was ‘oh. I’m sorry’. No attempt whatsoever to make it good. I left a zero tip, and wrote ‘appalling service’ on the credit card receipt. Hopefully this may get noticed by someone in proper authority here.
Real pity as it could have been a nice evening, but ruined by these people employing a rude, inefficient, lazy, and unhelpful idiot as a waiter.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice location; but seriously overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our large party that included two infants was seated in confused fashion. The hostess apparently didn't realize that two children under the age of two were going to need high chairs. Most of the said there food was "OK". My brother-in-law got the Lazy Man's Lobster Casserole. It tasted like crab cake and was VERY dry.
Don't expect to see back there next year.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Generally very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I dined as part of a group of seven recently. We were able to make reservations to sit in the small outside seating area. Our waitress took our drink order promptly. Friends ordered littlenecks off of the raw bar and said they were delicious. Entrees we had included: seafood Wellington, lobster pot pie, seafood platter, sirloin tips and lobster scampi. Everyone enjoyed their meals. I can personally attest to the scampi. The lobster was very tender and the dish also included pieces of summer squash and tomato. The only thing I would have liked was a stronger presence of garlic in the dish. The sauce was lacking. All in all, we enjoyed the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Let them cook it. Then you pick it up. Sweet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Never fails. On the way back from the beach, we order our lobsters. Go home, start up the grill, throw on the steaks. Go pick up the cooked and split lobsters. Get back home and settle in for a feast.

Price is right and no waiting for a table.

Awesome every time.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan River Seafood also viewed

Dennis Port, Cape Cod
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Swan River Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan River Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.