We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect for What We Needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Village Motel & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Colonial Village Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
Colonial Village Motel & Cottages
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   426 Lower County Road, Dennis Port, MA 02639   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Dennis Port
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just Perfect for What We Needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed after the end of season and so while the pool and spa were still open, there were no tourists to contend with. We stayed in one of the motel rooms. The room was very functional and we noted a number of steps that had been taken to "winterize" that probably wouldn't have happened during season (i.e. fresh paint on the windows). The motel was quiet and the area was good. The Wee Packet across the street was great.

The rooms were clean and in dated but decent shape. For the price, it was a great value.

No breakfast onsite was offputting at first, but the local options were FAR better than what could have been done onsite. The internet was nearly useless though and the parking lot is very small. The most problematic thing was the hall light outside the door to our room. It lit the room up like a Christmas tree even with the shade down. Our 2 year old definitely had trouble getting to sleep with it being so bright. We did have to ask for more towels for the pool, as an FYI.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    12
    6
    14
See reviews for
14
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife and I booked two nights at this dump. We left after 2 nights and realized we forgot a big bottle of specialized shampoo. We went back the next day and the creep at the counter told us that they threw it out. Translated, thast means he or one of his staff decided to take it home. He said they throw everything out that's left behind in a room....but only 24 hours later??????? Show a little respect for your guests, realizing that perhaps after an item is not claimed after 48 hours, then you can keep it or throw it out. This was a very expensive shampoo and you can bet that one of the staff kept it. Just the arrogance of this creep was a turn-off. On another note, we left after 2 days because the room stank. Pretty rundown and filthy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Cannot beat the price, location, the pool, and very clean. Thank you we will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I would agree with the other reviews who rated the hotel as "average". We were three families that reserved various types of rooms. Some areas were very nice, such as the pools and the grounds, and some of the rooms look like they've been updated. The two-bedroom room we reserved was very spacious and sleeps 6 comfortably. However the decor in our room was quite dated, especially the kitchen area, and could use some freshening up. The air conditioning was adequate, and the bathroom was large enough, but also kind of dated.
The only real complaint we had was that there was NO COFFEE ANYWHERE on premises. It would have been a nice touch for the lobby to have been set up with a self-serve percolator for the guests each morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
520 reviews 520 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
524 helpful votes 524 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Located in one of the nicest and coziest places in Dennis Port directly off 28, this place is one of the better spots to stay on the Cape! First off the places is very well maintained and the rooms, although dated are immaculate and quite large. The grounds include two pools both indoor and out and heated. Plus they have motel rooms, efficiencies and cottages. The staff is very helpful and friendly and welcoming. The locations sits down the road from Sundae School Ice Cream, which is very popular and a few other smaller restaurants and is about a quarter of a mile from Depot Beach which is one of the public beaches. However, Dennis makes it difficult to park near their beaches by requiring a permit from the town hall which is only open Mon-sat so you could walk but these beaches have no facilities and no lifeguards. The best thing about this motel is the price. On a busy 4th of July weekend, I paid about half of what the other hotels down the street were charging for the same types of rooms. On the Cape you are barely in the rooms anyway so why take out a second mortgage to have to stay somewhere and be taken advantage of. Try this place out and you will be pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: Do research!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

For under $100 a night in high season it doesn't get much better than this. Serious Cape Cod Charm. If you're looking for pristine, new, modern, luxurious rooms, go to the Holiday Inn in Hyannis. However if you're looking for REAL Cape Cod, head to the Colonial Village. I've stayed all over Dennis in the past 25 years, and so far, this is the best combination of location, value, and service.

The room was clean, and more than adequate for a weekend beach vacation. The beach is about a 10 minute walk down the street. Restaurants, Sundae School, and Ocean Hour restaurant is about the same. It's really a perfect location in Dennisport.

Amanda at the front desk was so sweet at check in. She let us know where we could get ice, and towels for the pool. The outdoor pool was great for a lazy afternoon when we headed back from the beach. The water was refreshing and it was very very clean.

We're planning on going back this summer! Can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Hotel is, as others have noted, a little dated in its decor. So what? - I say. Its clean, friendly and nearby most anything you want. Pros: Clean, inexpensive, nice staff, great pools and nice grounds. Its within walking distance from the local beach. Clean and cool (temp) pools. It was hot as heck so they were refreshing. Easy to get around and several nearby restaurants are great. Beds were firm but comfortable. Air conditoner worked great (thank God). Parking lot is small but it works. Cons: The television had 6 channels which were the local affiliates. The nearby beach is small and had lots of seaweed. To be fair, the main beach in town was the same but larger. Not the hotels fault. No outlet in bathroom. Not a deal breaker just annoying. Overall, you get a good place to lay your head for a good price while out in the middle of the Cape.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Village Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Motel & Cottages

Address: 426 Lower County Road, Dennis Port, MA 02639
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Dennis Port
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Village Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Village Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Village Motel & Cottages Hotel Dennis Port
Colonial Village Motel And Cottages
Colonial Village Hotel
Colonial Village Motel & Cottages Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Village Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.