We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, homey, oceanfront motel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shell Motel

Sea Shell Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dennis Port
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shell Motel
Save Saved
You added Sea Shell Motel to your Saves list
45 Chase Ave., Dennis Port, MA 02639   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Dennis Port B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quaint, homey, oceanfront motel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stumbled upon this lovely motel during a weekend away to Dennisport. It was so lovely! We got a large suite that had an ocean view. The decor was dated - think of your grandmother's decor from the 1960's. BUT - very clean and accommodating to our family of 5. Our room was a 3 room suite (room 10). Balcony with ocean view. Nice continental breakfast in the am. Property is pet friendly and right on the beach. Staff were very personable and helpful. Price was very affordable and a good value for what you got. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: We had room 10 - a three room suite on the second floor. Nice ocean view from the balcony. Very re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is our 2nd time at the Sea Shell. The rooms are nice and clean,with a enclosed balcony. The place is right on the beach and has friendly helpful staff. It is pet friendly..so you can bring fido too. We stayed in room 33 which is top floor and is ocean front. Not all the rooms are ocean front..so be sure to ask for one. It has free parking and is fairly close to resturants for meals. The rooms come with fridge and microwave. The rooms on the top floor are larger and have a table and chairs. The prices are pretty good. We paid $144.00 per night...this was mid June..prices are higher for the summer months.
We enjoyed our stay and have told other friends to try the Sea Shell. Worth the money

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for Ocean front rooms...Top floor rooms are larger. Rooms # 31 32 and 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

I searched for a pet friendly motel and Sea Shell was the most accommodating, pet friendly of any place I found on Cape Cod. They welcomed my dog with open arms and hearts and made special arrangements for us regarding housekeeping. The room was clean and cozy with an enclosed balcony, it was great to sit there and read or have a glass of wine and hear the waves. The motel is easy to get to and close to shops and restaurants. There's a small private beach with lounge chairs for customers of the Sea Shell. Lisa and Joy in the office are friendly and helpful. I had a wonderful stay and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed here for one night...the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Location is right on the beach, and rooms were clean and fairly new looking. This was our first stay at a 'pet friendly' hotel...we brought our puppy and she was welcomed with open arms. There were a couple other dogs there, but by no means was the place overrun with dogs.

only downside is dogs are not allowed on the beach, but that is a town rule, not specific to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, NY, usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Friends recommended this place...we are very glad they did! Believe it or not, true ocean front rooms on cape cod are scarce and quite expensive...most require a 1 week minimum...we got lucky...for the most part (will explain later)...and got a discounted price $249.00 per night - the regular rate for August is $300 a night - for 2 nights in ROOM 31... and $99 for 1 night in room 26 - not so great ...view of neighboring hotel parking lot.(The move was not voluntary, btw) ROOM 31 is top notch 2 room suite with full kitchen, separate bedroom, flat screen tv, even an electric fireplace,and that WONDERFUL ocean front balcony! There are six rooms (3 on each floor) of the hotel that are true ocean front - avoid the others. Only ROOM 31 has the full kitchen...a queen bed in the main room and 2 twins in the separate bedroom...bathroom has separate vanity areas - very nice and clean...my only complaint about this room is the lack of toiletries one comes to expect these days...you are given 3 slivers of cashmere bouquet soap...no shampoo, conditioners etc...no hairdryer unless you request one. Room 26 is small and really needs to be refurbished...there is a screened-in porch area, but the air conditioner vents into it and make the porch very hot indeed, and noisy! The sliding door is difficult to operate...tiny bathroom with a very old looking vent/fan cut into the tile wall about 2 ft off the floor, with some ugly plastic tape around it...honestly it was creepy looking...although the motel mgt describes this as "ocean view", that is somewhat deceptive...you have to look past the parking lot and through or over the 8 ft fence surrounding the motel next-door to get a glimpse of nantucket sound. Bottom line - we loved our time here in ROOM 31 !...also staff were very pleasant...and free self-service breakfast was a very nice surprize.!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Shell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shell Motel

Address: 45 Chase Ave., Dennis Port, MA 02639
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dennis Port
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Dennis Port
Sea Shell Motel Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.