We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy for a reason, even during the off-season.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grumpy's Restaurant

Grumpy's Restaurant
1408 Main Street, Route 6A, Dennis, MA 02641
508-385-2911
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Dennis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Busy for a reason, even during the off-season.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband golfed with a couple who kept insisting he go to Grumpy's for breakfast. We were smart to listen and that was a good 8 years ago. We take all our guests to Grumpy's and they always request returning. We normally go for breakfast, rarely going for any other meal. When we do, we still order off the breakfast menu. Two small criticisms. The coffee is not as good as it used to be and they need to use fresh blueberries when in season for the stuffed blueberry French toast with coconut. I love that but it would be even better with fresh berries.

That being said, I have ordered, the omelettes, eggs, French toast in almost every iteration, but currently my favorite is the egg scramble with feta, spinach and olives. I love almost everything and the service is outstanding. The staff has been there as long as we have been frequenting the restaurant. Last year, I mentioned to the waitress that the potatoes weren't as good as normal. The next time I went, they were very good again. The wait can be long sometimes, but that is usually only during the summer, but the service is incredibly fast.

The real testament to the quality of this diner is that they are very busy, all year round, not only during the summer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    73
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Yarmouth and found this place with 3 days left in our vacation. We then ate breakfast here every morning until we left. The deciliousness and wide variety of options make it easy to eat here day after day. The homemade hash is fantastic and the fresh fruit French toast is great. The omelettes are huge. You could easily split one between two people. The amount if food you get for the money makes this place a great value. We will be back any time we are near the cape.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were staying across the road from Grumpy's and went there for breakfast every day of our stay. The choice, service and standard were very high. The breakfast menu covers just about everything you can think of and more besides. We particularly wanted fresh fruit which didn't appear on the menu, but a fruit cup was available with fresh strawberries, grapes and bananas and served in an instant. This surely has to be a contender for best breakfast on the Cape?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently stopped in for lunch while traveling through Cape Cod and was pleasantly surprised. While sitting at the counter it seemed that even the employees were Grumpy, but I soon realized it was jut that the place had character. Our food was really good and our waitress was very nice. It is nothing fancy, but certainly worth the price. I highly recommend having the cod.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun local breakfast joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Line at the door almost made us turn around but a fellow patron encouraged us to stick around...the line would move fast and the food was worth it. She was right on both counts. Our party of four was pleased overall. Two of us were were very happy with our orders the other two found the food to be average. The two dishes that won raves was the lobster omelet...filled with spinach, cheddar cheese and an abundant amount of large chunks of fresh lobster meat. The other dish was an apple, cheddar and bacon filled omelet. Not a typical omelet offering...it was delicious. The traditional eggs benedict was described as soupy and the frittata was a tad bland though adequately prepared. Service was efficient though not overly friendly (don't think they really had time given the turn over of tables) and the setting was New England breakfast through and through.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grumpy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grumpy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grumpy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.