We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious and Satisfying!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scargo Cafe

Scargo Cafe
799 Main St. (Rte. 6A), Dennis, MA 02638-1908
508 385 8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Dennis
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Scrumptious and Satisfying!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

From the cozy, warm fireplaces to the Grapenut Custard Pudding, I fully enjoyed my experience at Scargo Cafe. Busy as the Cafe was, the host was able to find a spot for our hungry twosome quickly. Menu (on-line) features choices for everyone and price quite reasonable. Thriving bar community as well, glued to their mesmerizing TV screens but, sound did not interfere at all with private experience. Saw no children at 8pm on a Sat nite. Reservations only accepted at 50% of seating. Could be hard to get in, but we were lucky.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    103
    30
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia KY
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Super visit during restaurant week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I visited Cape Cod recently. When we discoved that our visit coincided with restaurant week, we decided to visit several of the participants. Our first visit was Scargo cafe based on a review on Trip Advisor and our B & B host. The meal was superb! The food was excellent and the portions were very generous. Ths service was also top notch, and they seemed to be very interested in promoting and featuring the restaurant week specials. This was one of the best meals I've had this year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good service, updated menu, good food and cozy bar. Very good stop prior to the playhouse shows. Pepper burger is excellent, not your run of the mill menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dennis, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have been going to Scargo Cafe for years. The food, atmosphere, and service never gets old. As year round residents we rarely go to any restaurant in the summer because of the crowds but the fall, winter and spring we love to go. The winter is fun too as the owners always have great and fun marketing ideas to attract new and regular customers. Tonight I had East Dennis oysters which are always a great size and consistent quality. For the main course I tried the short ribs which reminded me of the meals my grandmother used to serve. I always feel at home here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extensive menu - great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had dinner for four before the theater at Scargo Cafe. The menu was interesting and extremely varied, wait staff very cordial, and food was excellent. Great spot --- I would return again in a heartbeat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scargo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Scargo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scargo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.