We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food - Make Reservations if you can” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scargo Cafe

Scargo Cafe
799 Main St. (Rte. 6A), Dennis, MA 02638-1908
508 385 8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 restaurants in Dennis
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Make Reservations if you can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Not your average meal. Excellent menu prepared extremely well. Atmosphere is very Cape Cod/Colonial. You will need to wait for a table unless you eat very early or make reservations. Bar area is lots of fun but more noisy than other side of the restaurant which is a lot quieter.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    139
    76
    23
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Dennis, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Super spot for an evening meal with friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Excellent menu choices, delicious food, good drinks. Reservation are honored with minumum waits.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Ate at the bar for lunch - loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Friendly bar staff took our orders in a matter of minutes and had the food out even quicker. Bloody Mary was fantastic. The sweet potato dippers are a must -- awesome, slightly crisp, fluffy on the inside with a killer dipping sauce.

I just had a plain ol' salad -- goat cheese, pecans, dried cranberries (all my favorites). My friend and her mom shared the stir-fry which was super tasty, wish I had ordered that.

Was only passing through town, but hope that I'll be back again soon. It's a lovely little place that was bustling.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennis, Mass
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Cape Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Scargo Cafe is our "go to" restaurant on the Cape. We never had a bad meal and the service is very good. Because it is very good, it tends to be busy especially on weekend and in the high season. Unfortunately, Scargo don't take reservations. The trick is to get seated before 5:30 PM.

The menu is so good it doesn't change that often. Frequent diners would welcome a little change. All of the fish dishes are good . My wife always orders the Scallops and loves them every time. The Salmon and Scrod dishes are very good. Small salads can be ordered with every entree for a modest extra charge. Hot freshly baked bread is served while you wait for your meal. One of the signature dishes is the Grapenut Custard Pudding. Save rooms for this delicious dessert and order two spoons if you wish to share.

Scargo has a VIP card for frequent diners, which translates into $10 certificates and 20% specials (off the entire food bill) for birthdays and anniversaries. Before they send the birthday and anniversary certificates to you they will call and sing Happy Birthday. They do a great job in promoting their restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scargoboy, Owner at Scargo Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thanks so much for your very kind words! We truly appreciate it. Also very happy to let you know that as of 2006, we began to accept reservations for parties of all sizes on a limited basis. Keep in mind that we do still allocate most seating for walk-ins (75%) so reservations do go quickly, especially in summer. Generally there are ample openings if you call about 24-48 hours ahead (sooner for Saturdays) and you can always just drop by as always. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, way overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Good food, lousy service, way overpriced, nice decor and location

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scargoboy, Owner at Scargo Cafe, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Sadly, it is often necessary to put a higher price on quality ingredients. We're truly committed to providing an outstanding and superior product. At the risk of sounding defensive, I will let our record of 25 years speak for us. Please know that just like home, premium ingredients and comfortable surroundings do sometimes come at a premium price. That said, we are also committed to a "guaranteed great" dining experience. I apologize for your disappointment. I am sincere in saying that I would love the opportunity to show you why we have a loyal following of raving fans. I promise we will do whatever it takes to make things right. Please contact me via email eat@scargocafe.com and allow me to show you a true Scargo Cafe experience as my guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scargo Cafe also viewed

 
Dennis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Scargo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scargo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.