We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chapin's Restaurant

Chapin's Restaurant
85 Taunton Ave, Dennis, MA 02638-1721
508-385-7000
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 22 Restaurants in Dennis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Visited for lunch and had the lobster sandwich which was on special. Portions were huge! Lobster tasted very nice.. Just a small complaint on the grilled veggies that had far too much oil.
Otherwise, nice experience! Service was also good and I liked the outside area!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    67
    43
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Chapins is a great little neighborhood restaurant minutes from the beach on the North side of Dennis. They have a great menu, great food, friendly servers and reasonable prices. There is ample parking and valet service available. There is also a large lounge area, separate from the dining room if you prefer to relax and eat there along with an outside area which is open when weather is permitting. They are celebrating their ten year anniversary with some wonderful $10.00 specials that are to die for !!! Where can you get a nice piece of prime rib for $10.00 ? It will melt in your mouth along with local seafood items. Definitely worth the trip as you surely will not be disappointed ! Enjoy !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great food really enjoyed the $10 menu options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

parry of nine quickly seated , good service , they had a great offer on a US$10 menu which most of us dined from , not sure what days this is available we went thursday early in june , great value food was very tasty and high quality with very pleasant service .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“chris made the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Go early-4pm-avoid valet parking-avoid scowling bartenders-sit at the bar-sit next to a cash register-go on Thursday when Chris is working. Follow this advice and you will have a great time. Another upside was Terry Brennan was the entertainer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south dennis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having been to Chapin's a number of times this visit was extremely disappointing. Five of us meet regularly on Thursday evenings for dinner. The first of our party arrived ten minutes before we were to meet but searing was not available until all were present. That's fine but for another group of in the same situation as we were. We were told we would be taken first but that did not happen as promised since we had our five. We were offered a booth for five which was unacceptable and finally had a round table. The desk and the host were clearly not communicating. Had we been able to have easy access to our cars we would have left.
Service was fine but the food was inferior. Their Thursday special is roast beef which two of us had. Both pieces were extremely fatty although cooked well. Broccoli was cold- not warm but cold!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapin's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chapin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapin's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.