We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are two - both about the same” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chapin's Restaurant

Chapin's Restaurant
85 Taunton Ave, Dennis, MA 02638-1721
508-385-7000
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 22 Restaurants in Dennis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“There are two - both about the same”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My friends and I hit Chapins on the north side once or twice a year. It is always crowded and loud, the food as a whole is pretty good. I have read a few reviews and there is also a sister restaurant on the south side - loud, dark and pretty much a beach bar. The food is average, but the entertainment has generally been good. If you are looking for a hopping bar and dining experience - the north side with it's outside raw bar is your pick. If you want night life and a bar with a band - you might like the south side.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    67
    43
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
“Great Family atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We went to Chapins for our last dinner meal on the Cape. We were warmly greeted and sat right away. Our three year old enjoyed the view of the small courtyard lawn by our table and the childrens menu did not disappoint. I got the lobster and was very pleased with the price and quality of it. My husband who is allergic to seafood got the philly cheesesteak sandwich and was quite happy with his meal as well. I would not hesitate to go back especially with a picky 3yr old in tow.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We loved the food here! Hubby, myself and my two daughters, 17 and 6 loved it. Nice family menu and very well priced.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Tradition of good food continues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My wife and I rented a place in Dennis and had heard about Chapins. It’s true, this a really good place to eat lunch or dinner, particularly if you like fish. I had baked cod and it was perfect- the fish was tender and coated with bread crumbs. My wife had a cobb salad and it was huge. Their menu offers a wide range of choices from fresh locally caught fish to steaks and Italian food. Their prices are reasonable for the cape- my baked cod was $16.99

The other thing we had heard about this restaurant is that it can get very crowded. We did see people waiting but my wife and I got right in. Chapins is a large place with several dinning areas inside and out. It has lots of room around tables and is the perfect place for families. The wait staff is very good and operate with almost military precision, moving around huge amounts of food and weaving in out of tables.

Chapins offers valet parking which is really the best option because the restaurant is near a residential area and there are other few places to park. If you are coming off the beach, this is the good place to eat.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK food, but loud and dark place. Not for families.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a big party restaurant! It is NOT for families! Many people were drunk and screaming. The place smelled badly and is dirty, there is crap all over the floor. Dinner is served on paper plates, which I hate! You can't see what your eating, or for that matter, read the menu. The food was just OK. We ordered fish and chips, a buffalo chicken wrap, and lobster roll. Each thing was OK, chicken wrap was the best out of all of them. If we return, it will be just me and my wife, it is not for children at all!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapin's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chapin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapin's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.