We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Stock - CLOSED

Summer Stock
36 Hope Lane, Off of 6a, Dennis, MA 02638
(508) 364-6063
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 6A
Description: Located at the campus of the famed Dennis Cape Playhouse, Cape Cinema & Cape Cod Museum of Art- Summer Stock is open every day for lunch & dinner- with a weekend brunch. Featuring a fresh twist on American Bistro Fare with creative cocktails and eclectic wines, many ingredients are sourced from the finest farms and fishermen on Cape Cod. The menu is diverse- there is something for everyone in your group! Start with local rawbar of oysters or littlenecks or maybe something from the appetizer list- possibly a flatbread pizza? The entrees include pasta, seafood, steak and vegetarian dishes- be sure to save space for house made desserts! Visit the separate lounge Bar Lilly, giving nod to popular Cape Cod fashion icon Lilly Pulitzer, often the spot for drinking and nosh pre and post theatre, cinema and museum events. There is also an outdoor area with seating for cocktails. Entertainment info is on the website. Opened by the owners of Island Merchant in Hyannis- a Best of Boston Winner
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have read the reviews and can't understand them! I think the food here is wonderful, the service is great, and there is a sweet bar with live music. What more could you ask for? I eat out 3-4 times a week and travel extensively. This place is a hidden gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Missed opportunity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Summer Stock is located on the grounds of the Cape Playhouse, Cinema, and Museum of Fine Arts, so you would expect it to be top-notch. Not so. Disappointing, limited menu, dull décor and indifferent service. No one seems to care about their clientele. I noticed the place was almost empty even though a new play was about to have its opening performance. The personal pizza managed to have a tough, dry crust around the rim with a soggy inside. Gazpacho and seafood chowder were both run through a blender so they seemed thin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

tried this place a couple of times- limited menu,didn't care for the salmon dish, my friend had a pasta dish and said it was good, nothing special-
you can eat in the bar or the big room- good location, by the theater, museum and playhouse..we were hoping for live music on a saturday night but apparently they only have it on thursdays and sundays- relaxed atmosphere, hopefully they'll add more items to their current small selection-
prices were high for what you get

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not Ready for Prime Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having rolled out of the Cape Cinema at after a great film, the three of us were very hungry for a late night supper. Because this restaurant is virtually next door to the cinema and it was so late, we didn't want to waste time finding another place that was open, so we landed here. We were all disappointment with our food but worse was the overwhelming smell of cat urine. An extremely helpful barkeep/server tried to explain the stench away as something to do with a tree in bloom outside, but there is no denying this place needs to be recarpeted immediately. There are so many great food places on the Cape to try that it will be a very long time before I'd ever come here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Might be better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went for dinneer on a night when a wedding reception took up the whole front room, So. Limited menu, eclectic, on the expensive side. Funky. Probably won't go back because it was not our favorite, but one can see its possiblities...so give it a try.
On the grounds of the playhouse.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Stock also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Stock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.