We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mid Cape Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briarcliffe Motel

Briarcliffe Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dennis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Briarcliffe Motel
203 Route 6A, P.O. Box 171, Dennis, MA 02638   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Dennis
s.windsor
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Mid Cape Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our family has been vacationing at the Briarcliffe Motel and the Cape for the past several years. As so many others have commented, the owners are accommodating, helpful and go out of their way to make our stay a pleasurable experience. It is an older motel but the rooms are always clean and comfortable and a very good value given its proximity to Mayflower and other beautiful Dennis beaches and attractions. We also enjoy using the pool to cool off after a day at the beach or to just relax and read. I would highly recommend this little gem of a motel for families, couples or individuals whether you are visiting the Cape for a night or a week.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The owners were fantastic from the get! I emailed back and forth with Julie, who was helpful and friendly. When we arrived Ken checked us in, he was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were on the small side, but wonderfully clean. Who stays in their rooms on vacations anyway? The facility is non-smoking and it is true, we had two rooms and you could tell they had not been smoked in. We stayed 3 nights and each day after coming back after our adventures, the beds were made and bathrooms cleaned. The location cannot be beat! Right on 6A and close to everything. I would absolutely stay here again and I would recommend this motel to anyone. Thank you Julie and Ken!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are set back from the road, so all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

When we checked in we should have gotten the clue this was not going to be a good place to stay. The lady was angry right from the start. The rooms are very dumpy. We could not switch rooms as they were full. (why I will never understand). Insects were everywhere. The air conditioner was so noisy the children could not fall asleep. I could go on and on, just take my advise and stay away!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliffe, Owner at Briarcliffe Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
We as owners of the Briarcliffe Motel are HORRIFED to think that a guest left our motel unhappy with their stay! Keeping our motel clean and appealing is our top priority and we firmly believe that we are consistant in following through with that goal. My husband and I scratch our heads that the only time we hear about bugs from guests are online.

Our motel is modest, seasonal and is built like a cottage. We do use window units to cool down our rooms. To some, that may be noisy and for that we apologize.

Since I am the only "lady" welcoming guests, I would assume that this family is refering to me. It appears that I was having a "moment". Again, for this I apologize. Yet we must always consider that those guests who vent online may have been the source of that "moment". Who knows? :)

Please take a moment and read through the other reviews and then make your decision. If you decide to give us a chance, we believe you will enjoy your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My girlfriends & I (late 20's/early 30's) have stayed at the Briarcliffe for a few nights for the past 5 summers. Ken & Julie (the owners) are delightful, and the price of the rooms is beyond reasonable for high season on the Cape.

No, it is not luxurious. But who comes to the Cape to sit in their hotel room? If you are a budget-minded traveler who simply wants a clean (old does not = dirty, an occasional bug in a humid climate does not = dirty), friendly place to take a dip, shower and sleep in between long beach days...you will love the Briarcliffe. If a small shower and outdated room will kill your 10-hours-on-Mayflower-Beach zen...perhaps you should look into spending 3-4 times as much of your hard-earned cash elsewhere.

Also, they have a big ice machine next to the office and nobody has ever batted an eyelash as we've filled up our coolers there. That saves us another $10 and 15 minutes a day!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee Falls, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Reserved two nights in first week of August. Location was very good (Route 6A in Dennis). Price was very reasonable. Owner (Ken) was friendly and informed. The rooms were small, but we were not on the Cape to sit in our rooms. We spent long two days on Mayflower Beach and the pool at the Briarcliffe was very refreshing at the end of each day. At night, I played with the on/off switch for the air conditioning- it couldn't have been that bad because but kids slept well.
With the type of weather we got this summer, a short stay at the Briarcliffe made a lot of sense. We would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Our family had a home in Dennis many years ago. We celebrated my sisters birthday by coming back to Dennis. The owners Ken and Julie are warm and friendly people who made us very welcome. We had two rooms next to each other. They provided a card table in our room for us as we played cards each night . The rooms are very clean. We watched other guests enjoy the pool. The grounds are beautiful and it is set back from the main road so it is quiet for sleeping. It is very close to the Cape Playhouse. We enjoyed their first show of the season.They serve coffee and tea each morning in the lobby for the early risers. They provide a list of restaurants that all were wonderful that we tried. Grumpys for breakfast can't be beat. Julie even shared a slip of a plant from her gardens that I had been looking for. They are located close to the beach and Scargo tower that enables you to view the entire area. This motel is all that their web site shows and more. We would come back here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My wife and I were in Dennis for only one night and were not really looking for anything fancy, and thats pretty much what we got.

The staff at Briarcliffe was very helpful and freindly, the rooms were small but clean, and they had a nice pool. On the downside, the AC was kind of loud and the mattress was pretty stiff, but what can you expect for the reasonable price, on Cape Cod, during the busy season???

Overall, not a bad place to rest your head.

  • Liked — Location/Price
  • Disliked — Loud AC and stiff mattress
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Briarcliffe Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliffe Motel

Address: 203 Route 6A, P.O. Box 171, Dennis, MA 02638
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Dennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on historic Route 6A in Dennis. The motel is set back on a hill to offer a quiet place to rest your head. Closest motel to Mayflower & Corporation Beaches. Outdoor pool and morning coffee! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briarcliffe Hotel Dennis
Briarcliffe Motel Dennis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarcliffe Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Briarcliffe Motel to your Saves list