We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This famous Playhouse on the Cape presents classy, professional productions.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Playhouse

Cape Playhouse
820 Main St., (Rt. 6A), Dennis, MA 02638
508-385-3911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the magic of live theatre in the country’s oldest professional summer theatre on beautiful Cape Cod! The Cape Playhouse in Dennis brings the Best of Broadway to Cape Cod each summer, featuring critically acclaimed actors of Broadway, television, and film. The Cape Playhouse also offers entertaining and educational Theater for Children. Tickets are available at the Box Office and online.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This famous Playhouse on the Cape presents classy, professional productions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

have seen several productions at the Cape Playhouse, and have always been impressed with the calibre of talent. Most performers have Broadway credits already, or are headed there!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our friends, avid theatre patrons, drove up from NYC because they knew several of the actors.
It was a delightful musical evening. The theatre is very comfortable and while I had not been there in several years, we live on the other end of the Cape, we were all very glad that we had come to see JASON GRAAE, CHRISTIANE NOLL, CAROL WOODS, KAREN ZIEMBA - They're Playing His Songs: THE MUSIC OF MARVIN HAMLISCH

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our first visit to the Playhouse. If this is your first visit the ticket is half price so this was our incentive to attend. It is an historic building with a lot of character. We saw Some Enchanted Evening and enjoyed it very much...a selection of Rogers and Hammersteins songs. Well worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Real theater you don't get all the time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This playhouse has a long and interesting history. It is g reat to be able to see live theater and they have shows in the afternoon which works great for us as we don't feel like traveling that far at night. They also have some fun shows for kids which is a fantastic way to introduce the young ones to quality live theater.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good plays with television stars on Cape Cod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

for several years I had season tickets, this way you get 1 show for free. I haven't the past few years because I realized depending on the play you may want to sit closer vs. farther away. Most of the plays I've seen their were good. It is air conditioned, I personally enjoy the coolness but you may want to bring a sweater.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cape Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Playhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.