We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Playhouse

Cape Playhouse
820 Main St., (Rt. 6A), Dennis, MA 02638
508-385-3911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the magic of live theatre in the country’s oldest professional summer theatre on beautiful Cape Cod! The Cape Playhouse in Dennis brings the Best of Broadway to Cape Cod each summer, featuring critically acclaimed actors of Broadway, television, and film. The Cape Playhouse also offers entertaining and educational Theater for Children. Tickets are available at the Box Office and online.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our friends, avid theatre patrons, drove up from NYC because they knew several of the actors.
It was a delightful musical evening. The theatre is very comfortable and while I had not been there in several years, we live on the other end of the Cape, we were all very glad that we had come to see JASON GRAAE, CHRISTIANE NOLL, CAROL WOODS, KAREN ZIEMBA - They're Playing His Songs: THE MUSIC OF MARVIN HAMLISCH

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peekskill, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our first visit to the Playhouse. If this is your first visit the ticket is half price so this was our incentive to attend. It is an historic building with a lot of character. We saw Some Enchanted Evening and enjoyed it very much...a selection of Rogers and Hammersteins songs. Well worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Real theater you don't get all the time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This playhouse has a long and interesting history. It is g reat to be able to see live theater and they have shows in the afternoon which works great for us as we don't feel like traveling that far at night. They also have some fun shows for kids which is a fantastic way to introduce the young ones to quality live theater.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good plays with television stars on Cape Cod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

for several years I had season tickets, this way you get 1 show for free. I haven't the past few years because I realized depending on the play you may want to sit closer vs. farther away. Most of the plays I've seen their were good. It is air conditioned, I personally enjoy the coolness but you may want to bring a sweater.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“As good as Broadway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was very nervous about living on the Cape full time after living in New York City. I have been pleasantly surprised with the cultural activities on Cape Cod and the Cape Playhouse is one of my favorites. It is a lovely piece of theater history. I immediately became a season subscriber and enjoyed all of the productions.

Take the time to enjoy a great play or musical at this historic theater.

Cheers!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cape Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Playhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.