We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Champney's Restaurant & Tavern

Champney's Restaurant & Tavern
81 Old Main Street, Deerfield, MA 01342-9706
+1 413-772-3087
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Deerfield
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Rts 5 & 10
Description: Come and gather at a New England table! Our seasonally driven menus are a reflection of the rural landscape and come and go as the harvest is available. We are a nano local place with six local and six other draught beers, we butcher our own meat, make almost everything in-house, and source from the area farmers, foragers, and growers. A warm, friendly, local gathering place with food and drink at the center of the experience.
Amherst NH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“exceptional dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

a good variety with creative dishes, from the creative appetizers and soups and salads to the unique desserts, very pleasant atmosphere and friendly, professional service

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Champney's Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. We try our best every day, and when it all comes together in the way we strive for we are so very pleased to have made our guests happy. Enjoy the Fourth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    37
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clementon, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“At the Deerfield Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

cozy and warm with good food, good employees and fun clientele. I also loved the fireplace. You can eat at the bar, booths or separate tables.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Champney's Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for having a bite to eat with us when you were here. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance and your experience. We have our new summer menu in place now, so perhaps we will see you here again! Happy Fourth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed- miss the previous restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We used to love Champney's, so much that our daughter always asks to go there for her birthdays (4,5 & 7 today). The menu is much less interesting than before and fairly limited. We ordered the artisan cheese with crostini as an appetizer and got 4 small slices of run of the mill cheddar with 4 crackers. Nothing artisan there. The chicken quesadillas for the kids were overcooked and burned. The batter on our fish & chips was soggy.

Dessert saved the day: both the chocolate cake and crisp were good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Champney's Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are sorry your daughter did not have a happy birthday here. How sad and disappointing! Please know we are working our way through some start-up bumps before we officially go "live" and we take your comments very seriously. We have been making changes and responding to feedback right along and think we have tweaked our way into a great menu for the summer. Please pay us another visit and contact the innkeepers directly before you come by so we can be sure all is well. We must make it up to your little bear - sad children break my heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had a great lunch at Champney's in Deerfield, part of the Historic Deerfield museum. Interesting food options, very tasty, and great bar service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Champney's Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your visit here, and thank you for reviewing. Don't be a stranger and come on back as we change our menus to reflect seasonal availability and add new draught beers and cocktails!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everson, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great food, reasonable prices and the service was fantastic! The whole staff from the desk staff, waiter, bartender to the bus boys were very polite, thoughtful and pleasant. Great job with your restaurant, we highly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Champney's Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are all so delighted for your words. We do our very best every day and we are glad you were happy here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champney's Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

 
South Deerfield, MA
South Deerfield, MA
 

Been to Champney's Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champney's Restaurant & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.