We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deerfield Academy Reunion Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deerfield Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deerfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deerfield Inn
Save
You added Deerfield Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Old Main Street, Deerfield, MA 01342   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2nd night discount
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
WILMINGTON,DE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deerfield Academy Reunion Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife, son, daughter-in-law and three grandsons stayed at The Inn during
the mid-June 2013 Deerfield Academy Reunions. Rooms-Perfect. Hospitality-Perfect.
Location-Perfect. Can't wait to return and see even more of The Henry Flint Historical
Center! P.B.Weymouth,Jr.

Room Tip: Carriage House 2nd Floor Rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for posting, and how lovely to know that you and your family had a happy time re-visiting Deerfield. The weather was iffy, but you will remember from your days here that as this is New England you just have to wait five minutes! Don't be a stranger and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    57
    12
    8
    0
See reviews for
95
179
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New London, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a business meeting and dinner with clients. The inn has just reopened after an 18-month renovation required by damage from Hurricane Irene. The building itself, inside and outside, is beautiful, comfortable and in keeping with historical Deerfield Village. Our room was spacious, well decorated and provided with plenty of amenities. The staff was supremely accommodating of my request for a quiet place to meet and for a part of the dining room where we could continue in some seclusion. Oh yes, the dining room--Champney's.
Service was just the right blend of attention, cheerfulness and patience with our leisurely meal. Now the food: almost everything was locally sourced, fresh and delicious. It was also prepared and garnished perfectly, and we enjoyed everything from steaks to fish. I should also mention that the included-in-the-package breakfast was delicious, well presented and pleasantly served. I would definitely return; in fact, I hope that the opportunity will arise.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
How lovely to read your words! We all try hard to do our best every day, and we do occasionally fall short because that is the way we humans are! But what pleasure it has given us all to know we made you happy and that you enjoyed hour time with us. We hope you come back! The summer menus will be in place on July 1st!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementon, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I love the Deerfield Inn in its entirety. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the dining areas are lovely with fireplaces, cozy seating areas, wonderful pub All the employees are friendly and helpful. The owners, Karl and Jane are always on the premise inquiring about your stay and plans for the day. The food was excellent and other guests friendly and fun. The quaint town of old Deerfield offers lovely homes to visit and quiet walks throughout the area. The Deerfield Inn is a secret gem not to be missed.

Room Tip: I stayed in the carriage house which was lovely but certain the main inn is equally as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write. We appreciate that so very much. So glad you enjoyed your visit here and hope you won't be a stranger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I booked a room at the Deerfield in on Friday, June 7th with a checkout date of June 8th for my mother and I to have a Mom-Daughter getaway (the first since my son was born 8 months ago). I am a former employee at Yankee Candle, and had always stayed here when traveling to Deerfield for meetings many years ago. I always loved my stay, and was excited to take a trip down Memory Lane this year.
Upon Check-in, I was turned off immediately by Helen's indifference in checking us in. It was a horribly rainy cold night, and we were happy to finally reach our destination. We were told that our room was located in the Carriage House, which was fine, but were told by Helen that we needed to go back out and drive our car around the back to park there. We already had brought our luggage into the building. The reason I am mentioning this is that there is a way from the Main Inn to the Carriage House without needing to go outside. No offer for help from Helen.
When we got to our room, we wanted to have a cup of tea and relax before heading to Champney's for dinner. Our television set would not work, so I called the front desk and spoke with Helen. She immediately blamed us for 'doing something' to the TV, and huffed about having to send someone up to check it out. She did end up coming to the room, along with another employee, who confirmed that there was something wrong with our remotes, and she fixed it immediately. Again...no apologies from Helen at all. The other girl that helped us was extremely nice, and I wish now I had gotten her name. Helen left the room without so much as a goodbye.
Now--I have NEVER written a complaint about any restaurant/inn on any websites, but really felt strongly about this one. We were made to feel like an imposition (after spending almost $300 on our room) by Helen. Amazing how just one person can make such a negative impact on the way we now feel about our beloved Deerfield Inn. We will not be back. I did give an average rating, as the food and service in Champney's was wonderful, and our room was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
So sorry you did not have a five-star stay. (We have fixed the tv programming problem - we discovered it had to be reset every time the zapper batteries are changed!) We hope you give us another chance as we usually hear nothing but fab things about Helen. She is so very disappointed she let you down. Please accept our most sincere apologies. The axiom is there can be no "off" days in the hospitality business, and we are all most profoundly saddened. :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for our anniversary and our visit couldn't have been more perfect. The staff was warm and welcoming, and as a lovely surprise for us because it was a quiet night they graciously upgraded us to a fabulous king room. Nice surprises included a Yankee Candle car freshener to take home, little cookies in the room to have with tea, and a free pass to the homes that are part of the Historic Deerfield museum tour.

Everyone we met at the inn (owners included) was kind and genuine, and we absolutely felt like valued guests. The restaurant was excellent, our cocktails were perfect, and we had a wonderful time. This is a jewel in Historic Deerfield!

Room Tip: Room 141 has a spectacular shower which includes two showerheads for two people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are so glad that you had a happy celebration of your time together. We wish you many more years of happiness, and thank you for being so dear as to write down your thoughts about your stay here. Glad you liked the "romance shower"! xo from us all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff are welcome and warm, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the water pressure for the shower was great. If I were to return, I would definitely rent a room at the Deerfield Inn. As an added bonus, the Inn features a well stocked pub with friendly staff featuring a variety of local beverages and food sourced from local producers. This makes it a great stop for history buffs who have a bit of a 'foodie' side. :D

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
A foodie historian - what fun! Those passions must open up a world of interesting exploration! Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write a review. I sometimes can't find the words to express how grateful and touched we are that our guests have made that effort for us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We just returned from the inn and had a great time. The inn is beautiful, food was delicious and the staff was warm and friendly. The location. Is central to Old Deerfield and the free subscription to the houses was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We love that you had a wonderful trip. It makes us all so happy to have been a part of it. Many, many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Address: 81 Old Main Street, Deerfield, MA 01342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deerfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. The disasters went, but the guests stayed for "the atmosphere and charm of early days, with modern comfort and convenience" with breakfast starting at 30¢ and a room with running water from $1.50. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 130th year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.