We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find a better place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deerfield Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deerfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deerfield Inn
Save
You added Deerfield Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Old Main Street, Deerfield, MA 01342   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2nd night discount
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Camden, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hard to find a better place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a great place indeed!
The Inn has just recovered form the signs that hurricane Irene left, and not it really looks wonderful. We stayed in a room in the Carriage House but we had the chance to see also other rooms. They all look wonderful, with all the details and amenitis that you can imagine. The decorations show the great taste of the person who took care of it. We were definitely admired by the beautiful wallpapers that you see going from one room to another. All different and all wonderful.
The restaurant is another great experience. Don't miss it!
Last, but not least at all, the innkeepers. Jane and Karl go over any limit to make your stay pleasant. For us it's been unforgettable.
The town of Derfield is amazing. You feel like stepping back in time. You wouldn't be surprised to see carriages instead of cars!
We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay. How very dear of you. We all so appreciate it and thank you for making our day. Don't be a stranger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    57
    12
    8
    0
See reviews for
95
179
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Deerfield Inn. The newly renovated inn is just lovely with fantastic amenities, a lovely hard working staff and great Innkeepers. I am so glad they are back up and running. I wish I'd seen it before Irene hit, but it's lovely now. The historic town of Deerfield is as quaint as can be too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Well thank you, friend DINEr, for writing such a sweet and lovely review. I think I can say the same about you! xo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Deerfield when visiting a nearby school. As it turned out, it was the first night of their re-opening post-Hurricane Irene. We stayed in the Carriage House. The room was spacious and well-equipped. Because we had a very early start, we weren't able to take advantage of the breakfast, but the staff went out of their way to make sure that we had something nice to start the day with. There is coffee service (K-cups) on each floor, and they also put some breakfast items in the fridge for us. Our 7:00 a.m. check out went very speedily too.

I would highly recommend the Deerfield Inn, and look forward to trying out the restaurant on our next stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for being one of our first guests post-Irene restoration! We are all so happy to have Champney's Restaurant & Tavern back open, and we hope next time you can stay for a yummy country inn breakfast in the fireplace restaurant! Thanks for taking the time to post. We all so appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My children, parents, and I stayed at the newly renovated Deerfield Inn - in two rooms. Both rooms were beautifully renovate, wtih comfortable beds, nice furnishings, and really excellently appointed bathrooms. The towels were big, soft, and plentiful. The shower had great water pressure, and the shampoos etc were great. My son and I missed breakfast the next morning as we had to leave early for a school visit 20 minutes away, but I heard it was very nice. One drawback was the noise from the school next door, which was simply their student rock band rehearsing from 9:30 till midnight. Our room's windows were closed, but we could hear them clearly. Other than that, the stay was lovely and we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face Deerfield Academy. As my summary states, they practiced until midn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
YIKES! I am so very sorry. I didn't even know that DA had a rock band! A cappella yes... Please accept our sincere apologies. We have written to ask if this is something we can expect moving forward, and if so, to move somewhere else, pretty please. So glad you enjoyed your stay apart from that, and thank you for your generosity of spirit and kind understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

From start to finish, this was a fantastic, personal and rewarding experience.
All major hotels could learn from the amazing service offered by the Deerfield Inn.
A year ago we stopped in Deerfield on our way up to Vermont only to find the Deerfield Inn was still closed due to damage from Hurricane Irene.
Well, we were just back & it is open & better than ever. (The restaurant will open on April 1.)
From outside to in, this is a beautifully decorated New England Inn.
We went to check in, and the woman at the desk was tied up with a client. She asked the caller to hold, gave us our keys and said she'd come down to meet us as soon as she was off.
How many hotels/inns would treat you that way -- like you're family?
We got settled, and found her in the hallway, ready for our signatures and some details about the breakfast baskets, when she locks up, etc.
I think they've thought of just about everything:
The rooms were large and beautifully decorated. Perfect for a New England Inn.
There was a small bag of sweets on my bed!
There were biscuits in the room for the coffee.
The floors in the carriage house bathrooms are heated to 72, so you don't freeze your tootsies on the tiles!
There are plenty of towels in the bathroom.
There is a Keurig machine for coffee and tea on each floor - with ceramic mugs!
The clock radio has a iPod, iPhone charger.
There is a flat screen TV with a ton of options if you want to stay in.
The shower has a shampoo, conditioner & body wash dispenser, and there are also some bottled options. Westins no longer give you q-tips or a shower cap, but the Deerfield Inn does!
There are also bathrobes (which you can buy) in the closets.
They have free WiFi, so you can cozy up and check your e-mail.
Now, for the amazing breakfast basket, which magically appears in front of your door between 8 and 8:30am -- no knock to wake you. Open your door when you're ready and be greeted by a basket with scones, yogurt, oj, an apple and flowers! (The coffee you can make in the Keurig at any time.).
The list:
Shower pressure: My only complaint, as it was weak for the 1st floor.
Front desk: Excellent. Among, if not, the best. Kind, helpful, trusting.
Bed: Big & fluffy. Lots of pillows.
Sheets/Bedding: Above average.
Towels: Abundant & above average.
Phone service/attendants: Never used it (note: you may have trouble getting mobile coverage.
Room size: Above average.
Room service: None. This is an Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Well, thank you! We are all speechless with pleasure and don't know what to say other than the biggest thank you for your kindness in taking the tine to write such a detailed review of your experience. We are all so delighted that we met your expectations and hope we see you here once Champney's opens up once again. I have a work order in for Paul to please check that pesky shower pressure in all 1st floor guest bathrooms. I agree - full strength shower water is blissful. Next time - you'll see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight as part of a 24 hour getaway from our home in Central Connecticut. From the time I made our reservation via phone to the time we checked out, our experience was wonderful. The newly rennovated rooms in the Carriage House are spacious, warm and inviting with fun decorative touches. The breakfast basket left ourside our door was a special touch-- the muffins were delicious. We're really looking forward to the re-opening of the dining room and visiting again for Mother's Day!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay! We are all so happy that you had a great time and that we will see you again in May! All good wishes, and many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The town of Old Deerfield is from the late 1700, and in great shape. Just walking through the town you can fell the history. Most of the buildings were closed for the winter. The town took a big hit from Tropical Storm Irene 2 years ago with almost 5 feet of water going through town and the place is making a great recovery. The Deerfield Inn is under major renovation to the main building but the carriage house is done. The rooms are so comfy that we really didn't want to leave. Food was within 15 miles in either direction. The Main house is due to open by May. The staff were just so friendly and always helpful. We will be back.

Room Tip: They have a suite in the carriage house that has it's own sitting room with a fireplace. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for coming to visit us, and thank you, too, for taking the time to write about your experience. We very much appreciate your words, and we are all so pleased that you had a happy time in Deerfield. Come and see us again when we are done! We got our certificate of occupancy on 2/28 so we can start to move everything back in and get ready for May! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Address: 81 Old Main Street, Deerfield, MA 01342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deerfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. The disasters went, but the guests stayed for "the atmosphere and charm of early days, with modern comfort and convenience" with breakfast starting at 30¢ and a room with running water from $1.50. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 130th year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.