We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Inn with dignified charm.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deerfield Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deerfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deerfield Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   81 Old Main Street, Deerfield, MA 01342   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms starting at $130
Ranked #1 of 4 Deerfield B&B and Inns
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful Inn with dignified charm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. You should be very proud of your establishment. The entire staff is very friendly, welcoming and very well trained. Our room was delightfully decorated in period style, quaint and quiet.
We had a fantastic dinner Saturday night at Champneys. Erin is not only funny and entertaining, she's an excellent waitress. The food was gourmet, delicious and reasonably priced. Hats off to the chefs. Having visited during the remnants of a long winter, the surrounding village was nothing but eyecatching. We hope to return this summer to enjoy the patio area and view the local historic homes. Surely the greening of trees and lawns make quite an impact!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We are all so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and yes, Erin is a peach! Come back soon - we miss you already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    37
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
65
115
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orange,ma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Our daughter and son-in-law were married in Bermuda with a small group of family and friends attending. We then had a larger celebration at the Deerfield Inn. From the start Jane and Karl, the inn keepers, and all the staff went above and beyond to help and plan with even the smallest of details.
The food, from the fantastic raw bar, all the served hors d'oeuvres, the great entrees to the delicious desserts, everything was perfect. The chefs really do a great job and the wait staff were right there with food or drinks. Our friends are still talking about it.
Living in the area, we've known about the Deerfield Inn, have eaten many great meals there, but never have stayed the night until that weekend. WHAT A PLEASANT SURPRISE! The rooms were larger then we thought they would be and very cozy. The bed was really comfortable. Then in the morning our guests enjoyed a great buffet breakfast.
I would HIGHLY recommend the Deerfield Inn for any occasion, from retirement party to a wedding reception and everything in between, or just a quiet relaxing get away.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write. We all so appreciate your kind words and have posted them on the message board to make March a bit brighter for us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

DH, our teenage and pre-teen sons, and I stayed at the Deerfield Inn on the Sunday night of President's Birthday weekend. We were in the area for an indoor lacrosse tournament and came up to Deerfield a day early to beat some impending bad weather. We don't usually post reviews of our frequent travels, but our visit was so wonderful we want to share our experience.

First, the Deerfield Inn is nestled in Historic Deerfield (about 2 hours northwest of Boston; 45 minutes north of Springfield, Massachusetts, and 30 minutes south of Brattleboro, Vermont). It is convenient to Routes 91 and Route 2. It is adjacent to the campus of Deerfield Academy in a quaint, quiet, Colonial setting. Don't let the small number of rooms (24?) scare you -- the Inn is the perfect size to meet the needs of its guests. Folks, we literally parked for the night at the front door -- no marathon walk to and from an endless parking lot. As for price, it was only $50 or so more than a couple of nearby chain hotels located along a noisy major highway that obviously can't compete in terms of charm and service -- very, very well worth the price.

First, the room was perfect. I had originally booked the larger King room online and made a request for a rollaway. But, since I have 2 children, I called the Inn to ask for a second rollaway. Marcy was tremendously helpful and suggested that we switch our reservation to the room with the Queen and the twin and add a rollaway. Even with 4 people, 4 beds, a loveseat, a club chair, and a coffee table, assorted luggage, and an enormous lacrosse equipment bag, the room was still plenty large enough for comfort. Good call, Marcy!!!

As for style, we absolutely love the way the room offered both the historic Colonial feel but with appropriately discreet modern touches. We loved the high ceilings, the slightly sloping floors, the large windows, and the color scheme. The television was great for the kids, the lighting very sufficient, and the HVAC system was one of THE quietest we have ever encountered in our many family trips. The room even had its own easily-adjustable wall thermostat! And, of course, the bathroom is magnificent -- SPOTLESS, large, modern, fully-stocked, and fully-equipped including a rainshower showerhead in an enormous walk-in shower!!! (Heck, even my personal-hygiene-lazy 12 year old was wowed into taking a shower!)

We were a little concerned about overnight quiet since our heads were on the hallway wall and we assumed the Colonial walls would be paper thin, but our concerns were unfounded. We enjoyed a wonderfully peaceful night on truly comfortable beds (DH ruptured his L5 disk last summer and had back surgery in August -- he KNOWS comfortable beds!!).

As for the common rooms, the roaring fireplace and the large comfortable couches in the reception room lured us into sitting for awhile to enjoy the warmth. The kids actually put aside the cell phones and gadgets without prompting to relax "Colonial-style". Tea and cookies were served in the afternoon to complete the scene -- what a nice reminder for us all of how lovely it is to slow down and simply sit. Another wonderful benefit was to know as parents that our kids (remember: generally well-behaved teen and pre-teen!!!) were safe to move on their own from the room to the common areas and back because the Inn's size is so intimate.

But, while the room and the public areas were superb, we must offer our highest praise to the kitchen and wait staff in the Tavern Sunday night!!!! Our children both have anaphylactic food allergies. We brought food along from home for them intending to eat in our room, but both boys wanted to eat in the "cool, historic Tavern". When we wandered down to the restaurant at approximately 7:30, we were promptly seated at one of Hilda's tables. When we explained the food allergies to her, and asked her to check on the ingredients and cooking methods for the burgers and fries (and the ice cream at dessert time), she was incredibly gracious and accommodating. She accurately relayed our concerns to the kitchen staff and we were able to safely order cheeseburgers and pickles for the kids adding allegen-safe rolls and chips we'd brought with us. As frequent travelers, we have experienced a wide range of responses to our children's food allergies, but the Deerfield Inn staff went the EXTRA MILE for our children that night. Not only did they answer our questions openly and honestly ("we're not sure" is a welcome response because it is SO honest!!!), but, unbeknownst to us until the food was served, the staff fired up the charcoal grill especially for us and grilled the burgers to avoid cross-contamination!!!! So, not only did we indulge in a truly delicious meal using wonderful, fresh, ingredients from local sources, but we were able to relax and truly enjoy the meal because of their care!!!! Even the microbrews and the wines were obviously chosen with care and gave us an opportunity to sample selections we might not otherwise have tried -- with delicious success!!! We want to publicly extend our heartfelt gratitude and appreciation to everyone on duty Sunday night. Bravo!!!!

One final note: our 12 year old is an ardent fan of modern hotels with their pools, hot tubs, and high-tech rooms. Initially, he was not at all pleased to be staying at a property without those amenities. Heck, the mean parents that we are, we even made him WALK around the Historic Deerfield area to look at OLD houses, LOL. But, as we pulled away after checkout on Monday morning, he purposely put down his IPod and emphatically announced that the "Deerfield Inn is really cool and historic" and that he was "sad to be leaving so soon" and asked if there was "anyway we can stay another night".

Needless to say, we look forward to another wonderful visit very soon. The Deerfield Inn has the perfect blend of old and new and local food and superb service that this family wants on its travels. Kudos!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
We can't thank you enough for being so kind as to write such praise. Your words have given us all a glow, and inspired us to try to keep at the top of our game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011 via mobile

The place was neat, and wonderful.

People very friendly.

Best if you go for fall foliage.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you so very much from all of us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, MA.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We celebrated our 2 year anniversary here. There were flowers in the room. The room was elegant, the bed better than the Ritz Carlton, food outstanding. The best was the the staffs attention to every detail and freindliness beyond their actual function. I highly recommend the Deerfield Inn. It is close to so many activities yet one comes back to a historic village dating back to the 1800s. A must for travelers in western MA. along the I90 corridor and close to U. MA in Amherts, Northhampton, Williamstown, Vermont......

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you, dear guests, for posting a review about your stay. We posted your comments for everyone who works here with us, and it has given such pleasure to know how much they are appreciated by you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila., PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

My husband and I once again thoroughly enjoyed our New Year's stay at the Deerfield Inn. The innkeepers and their staff couldn't be more warm and helpful. The rooms are lovely & clean and the bed was so comfortable. We had several meals there as well and we were not disappointed with either the restaurant or the tavern food and service.
The Deerfield Inn remains our "go to" place for a relaxing and romantic "Weekend in New England".

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
We all thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience. You have made us all so happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

What a wonderful stay we had at this Inn in the cold of December! The room was so comfortable (we were able to control the temperature easily) & spacious with great reading chairs and an ottoman and my husband and I slept like babies in the king size bed with the quality bedding. The shower was clean and the pressure from the shower head surprisingly strong and the bathroom was warm with its additional heater. The décor throughout the inn is beautiful and heartwarming and the crackling fireplace adds to the welcoming ambiance. . . and, probably best of all, the food is GREAT! And, the inn keepers epitomize the consummate host & hostess - so charming and helpful, so knowledgeable about the history of the Inn/surrounding area and generous in sharing it, and they have created a very delightful environment in which to rest or socialize. I would highly recommend this inn without reservation!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Thank you from all of us here at the Deerfield Inn to our house guests who have visited with us over the year. We will continue to strive to do our best for you, and we thank you all so much for your kind words and constructive thoughts. We send all good wishes for the new year ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Address: 81 Old Main Street, Deerfield, MA 01342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deerfield Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. The disasters went, but the guests stayed for "the atmosphere and charm of early days, with modern comfort and convenience" with breakfast starting at 30¢ and a room with running water from $1.50. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 130th year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Deerfield Inn to your Saves list