We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, updated and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Boston Dedham

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Boston Dedham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Boston Dedham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   259 Elm Street, Dedham, MA 02026   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Dedham
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice, updated and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I recently spent almost four weeks at the Residence Inn in Dedham while working on a project in the area. I found the hotel to be comfortable and a very nice place to call home for a few weeks.

The full kitchen (dishwasher, large refrigerator, stovetop-but no oven) was fabulous for preparing meals, cutting down on the number of times I ate out. The decor is updated and modern, and the bathroom had ample space and counter top area. (You girls will understand the importance of that comment.)

I only took advantage of the breakfast and evening buffet a few times. They offered more choices than I expected...Just one word of advice: arrive early, or the food will be gone.

My only complaint about this property would be the strong smell of smoke that permeated the stairwells. While this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, the smokers must be "cheating" by smoking in the entryways or something. Without the smoke odor, I would have definitely given it a perfect score.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DedhamDOS, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Boston Dedham, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our newly renovated hotel and guest suites. We strive to provide a "home away from home", especially for our extended stay travelers. Being away from home is hard enough and it is important to be as comfortable as possible when away on long trips. We apologize for the smoke smell you experienced. We are 100% non-smoking and address any issues as soon as we are made aware of them. Thank you for your feedback on that as well. I hope you will stay with us again on you next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
9
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I recently spent almost 3 weeks at the Residence Inn in Dedham and overall it was a pleasant experience. I was in between closings on homes and needed a place that would allow me to bring my cat, so that's how I ended up here. The room was very clean with a stovetop, microwave, full fridge and dishwasher. They supplied dishes, silverware, pots, pans, etc. I was surprised there is no safe in the room. Since this is an extended stay hotel, odds are people will have items they'd like to lock up. The free breakfast was very good with a nice variety. There is a large grill outside that looked pretty new as well as a sitting area with tables & chairs. I used the workout room a few times and my only suggestion would be that they have spray cleaner for the machines & mount some hand sanitizer on the wall. As far as the staff go, most were very friendly and helpful. There was one woman working the front desk that could use some customer service training. I don't know her name because she never wore a name badge, but she was working when I checked out on 7/17. After staying 3 weeks and spending a small fortune, I expected a little more than a "thanks" when I checked out. I also was not thrilled that the gentleman who checked me in said my room number out loud in the lobby - HUGE pet peeve for me. Had I been alone, I would have requested a different room because there was a man sitting nearby when this happened. Some type of hand out or explanation about amenities and breakfast/dinner schedule at check in would have been helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DedhamDOS, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Boston Dedham, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the opportunity to exceed our guest's expectations. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon. The safety and security of our guests are very important to us and we will share your comments with our staff to make sure they are adhering to our check- in procedures. We look forward to providing you with comfortable accommodations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I am at the point that I must often travel with an elderly pet and the Residence Inn is the perfect fit for use when visiting the area. Paying a $100 one time fee is mandatory and your door is tagged that an animal is inside for hotel staff. The hotel is clean and comfortable, with rooms that vary from studio to 1 or 2 bedroom suites. The bedroom offers privacy for my door, the tiled kitchen area provides a good spot for water and food dishes. The amenities for 2 legged guests are a pool, exercise room, and full breakfast every morning. At the highway intersection are Walgreens, CVS, Joe's American Grill, and Legacy Shopping Center with stores and several restaurants, which makes the stay all the better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DedhamDOS, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Boston Dedham, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We are happy to hear you and your pet enjoyed your stay! I know traveling can be very challenging if you have to worry about leaving your pet behind. I hope we will be able to provide accommodations for you in the future. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our first stay at this facility could not have been any better. The rooms were very clean and updated, and the staff was genuinely friendly. All members of the staff were eager to help you in any way possible. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Boston Dedham, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We appreciate the feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. The whole team is here to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were in the area visiting our son and his family and found this hotel to be clean and well kept. It is located a few hundred yards away from the busy intersection just off of I-95 and you cannot hear any traffic. It sits behind a new shopping area that includes a Costco and a Whole Foods. The hotel and shopping area appear to be in a good, safe area and early one morning I walked from the hotel to the shopping center. The Whole Foods in the shopping center is new and large and has a great cafe with tables and chairs.

We will stay here again when we are in the area

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DedhamDOS, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Boston Dedham, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our location! The new Whole Foods at Legacy Place is currently the largest in MA and they are proud to say totally GREEN. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Admittedly, I hevn't been to this hotel since late Fall 2012. That said, I have stayed here multiple times for business over the least few years and I find the service and amenities to be excellent. The staff is incredibly courteous and helpful and the location adjacent to Legacy Place is ideal.

I would love to see a more up-to-date workout facility, but the local area is a nice place to run.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DedhamDOS, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Boston Dedham, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments and allowing us to be your "go-to hotel"! We appreciate the kind words about our staff and will share your feedback with them. We agree, we are in a great location with Legacy Place within walking distance as well as the commuter rail to Boston. While we are a bit challenged with space for our Fitness Room, we do have an arrangement with the Planet Fitness which is less than a mile from the hotel that might work for you on longer stays. Please check with our Front Desk for details. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Boston/Dedham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed one night at the Residence Inn with my 20 month old son while we were visiting friends in Jamaica Plain nearby. The hotel was not able to accommodate our requested early check-in which, with a toddler needing a nap, was tough. Also, they had no luggage carts available on check-in and no staff to go find me one so I had to try and bring in all our bags and take care of my son on my own while checking in with no help (hubby was not on this trip with us). They did accommodate our request for a quiet room away from things and actually put a couple with a baby next to us so neither of us minded when the babes woke up for a bit in the night. The room was really nice - very spacious for a 1bdr suite and well appointed kitchen (full sized fridge, stovetop, dishwasher and microwave). A couple of lamps didn't work, but that was OK. TV in suite area didn't work, but front desk person came up and fixed it (plugs had come loose during cleaning). I was very happy with the room and it worked out great with a kid. Clean, furnishings and carpet seems pretty new. The only complaint was a puddle of water and rust in the tub from a shower leak. I called downstairs and informed them of this, but they said they could not do anything about it. I didn't feel comfortable bathing my son in the tub because of it and if we'd been staying more than one night, I would have asked to change rooms. Breakfast was so-so but good enough. Pool was clean enough for a hotel and pretty much empty so me and my son got in two swims. Pool towels left a lot to be desired - skimpy to say the least. Overall I would say this is a good place to stay with a child for a couple of nights. When I did finally snag a luggage cart next morning, it was small and very old and falling apart - they can definitely do to upgrade those and increase the amount of them. No staff offered to help me as I tried to wheel the full cart and again, wrangle a toddler out to the car, but a nice man staying in the hotel did help me. So, staff could do to be more helpful and more plentiful (besides the front desk person, I didn't see many staff members at all except for cleaning staff). Also, good location depending on where in Boston you are going to. Not accessible to the T, I don't think, but lots of restaurants, pharmacies, etc all right there. Since I wasn't going into the city at all, it fit the bill for our needs. Price was quite good for a suite I thought (I used AAA).

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DedhamDOS, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Boston Dedham, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you felt our newly renovated hotel was comfortable, and glad you enjoyed the pool! Being a limited service hotel, our staffing model is different from a full service hotel, but the service level should always exceed our guest's expectations. Your concerns give us the opportunity to improve and a focus for our on going training programs. We hope you will stay with us again while in the Boston/Dedham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Boston Dedham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Dedham

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boston Dedham Hotel
Residence Inn Boston Dedham Hotel Dedham
Residence Inn Dedham
Dedham Residence Inn
Address: 259 Elm Street, Dedham, MA 02026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Dedham 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Dedham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Boston Dedham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.