We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always worth trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J.P. Licks

J.P. Licks
704 Legacy Place, Dedham, MA 02026
+1 781-329-9100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 74 Restaurants in Dedham
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Ice Cream, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dessert
florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“always worth trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stop at JP Licks when I am in town. good ice cream at any of it's many locations. I especially like coffee Oreo.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yummy goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The ice cream is great. Conveniently located in Legacy Place, a great break from shopping. We went there and there was a crowd but the line moved pretty quickly. Lots of options. Lots of yummy goodness.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Homemade Ice Cream Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have been a J.P. Licks customer for many years. To have one right down the street in Dedham is really a great thing for me. All of their ice cream is homemade and they always have interesting monthly flavors that I always love. And they have Cow Paws for dogs. My dog loves them.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Store Brand Ice Cream and Dirty Shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stopped in on a Friday night while waiting to go to the movies. Never been before. The shop, while not very busy at the time, had many staff available but none were bothering to do any clean up. The result was the floor being very littered with toppings and drips of old ice cream creating a sticky walk. The tables and our booth were the same. We had to clean our table top and brush the toppings off the seat and this was the clean one.

Ordered both Maple Butter and chocolate ice cream. Mine was the chocolate. My first spoon brought up the taste of many store brand ice cream purchased at various grocery stores. It was very disappointing.

Wouldn't go back. Price and quality did not match. I'll stick with Cabot's at Newton Corner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great Ice cream spot in Dedhams Legacy Place. The kids love it. Great seating outside in the summer. If you hare at Legacy, go for it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.P. Licks also viewed

 

Been to J.P. Licks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.P. Licks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.