We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be so good!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Danversport Grille & Bistro

Danversport Grille & Bistro
161 Elliott St, Danvers, MA 01923-3897
9787748621
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 108 Restaurants in Danvers
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bistro, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Used to be so good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband , daughter and I went for lunch and it was a very disappointing experience. Lobster roll was not fresh and the mayo was heavy and "runny". My husband got the prime rib; overlooked and tasteless. We used to live in Danvers and went there quite a bit, up until 5 years ago.We even had our wedding reception there 22 years ago and it was great back then. I doubt we will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanversportYC, Manager at Danversport Grille & Bistro, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Bonnie,

Thank you for your feedback. I am assuming we had a breakdown in our recipe and preparation guidelines. We have reviewed your email with our kitchen department.

Our Lobster roll is usually outstanding with light mayonnaise on a freshly grilled bun with chopped romaine. The prime rib is a Black Angus rib eye roasted with crushed herbs. On Wednesdays throughout the "winter" we feature a Prime Rib Special for $13.99 and is a crowd favorite. I regret that your dish was not.

Hopefully you will dine with us again in the future. If we ever fall short of your expectations please ask for a manager so they may immediately address and remedy any errors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danvers
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Excellent value Tuesday-Thursday at the bar specials- good cheap eats. From shrimp/flounder, to Anguus burgers or quesidillas- all nice portions.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanversportYC, Manager at Danversport Grille & Bistro, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Steve,

Thank you so much for your feedback. In addition to great weekend specials, we run special deals midweek, especially in the winter. Right now on Wednesdays, day & night we have a Prime Rib Dinner for $13.99. People love it! We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
“Amazing food and company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I ate here for the first time for my birthday 10 years ago and have been coming back ever since! Great atmosphere and consistent fresh food. Great for functions or just a night out with the girls! the patio seating makes it a nice way to sit outside and watch the boats drive by and enjoy a great time with your friends and family.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“oTHER pEOPLES FOOD AND BUTTER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I always have liked the food, including a hugh wedding we paid for 10 years ago, but tonight was the frosting on the cake, my husband said we are not coming hear again, seeing as we spend appr $100 per meal every week, this was it. When they served the butter it was already opened by somebody else, real appietizing, my husband asked for new fresh butter and got an attitude, totally unaccepticle for that kind of $$, we will not be back again, as that was totally gross and uncalled for..................

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALEM, MA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful Summer Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We ate outside on a beautiful summer night. Always good consistent food. They have a new raw bar but don't seem committed to it's success. We had a dozen oysters for our apps, which were decent but not served on ice and just shrimp cocktail sauce. There is just too many raw bar options locally with a variety of oysters with different hot sauces, iced, seaweed salad and served with knowledge of their raw bar items.

I had very good filet mignon and gf had boiled lobster. Not too many good seafood sides with lobster. They seem to serve mashed potatoes with everthing which are good but more of a winter comfort food than a sit under the stars food item,

The fun part was there was 3 weddings going on and always fun to check out the weddin parties.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danversport Grille & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Danversport Grille & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danversport Grille & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.