We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Boston/Danvers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Boston/Danvers to your Saves list
Knights Inn Boston/Danvers
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   225 Newbury Street, Danvers, MA 01923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“will not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were in the area for a wedding. We rented 3 rooms , 2 smoking and the other non-smoking. When we arrived the office smelled like someone had been smoking something illegal. They put the smoking rooms next door to each other. The non-smoking room was as far away from the other 2 as was possible. We had to ask the desk for towels as we only had 1 complete set. 2 rooms were clean, the third smelled like mildew. The safety latch was broken on our door so i didn't feel very safe as we were on the opposite corner, around the back of the main building. The closest occupied room was 10 doors down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjsway, General Manager at Knights Inn Boston/Danvers, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello,
I am sorry that you were dissatified with our Inn. Our Double and Single Smoking and Non Smoking Rooms are not near each other and you booked 2 Doubles Smoking and 1 Single Nonsmoking. We try very hard to keep multiple rooms as close together as possible but the rooms are blocked on a First Booked First Block Basis. Where your rooms were there were no NonSmoking Singles Available if there was then the Single NonSmoking would have been Close to your rooms. Also, most hotels try and keep Nonsmoking and Smoking rooms as seperate as possible for the guests convienence. Our Inn was just about fully booked and you had guests 4 doors from you, every room above you and as well as everyone from there on down.
I was at the Front Desk when yur rooms checked in and worked until 1AM and if there was an issue all that needed to be done was to call the Front Desk. I could not have moved the Single Room any closer but Maintenance was here until 11:30PM and he could have replaced any broken security u bolt immediately. You should not feel unsafe anywhere.
We had four guest that came in prior to your arrival that had been wearing a scent that smelled of Patchouli and we cannot do anything about what a guests wears or what they may smell like. In no way did it smell of anything illegal.
Please next time you are unhappy or have any concerns give the Hotel the chance to make it right upon checkin or at least at checkout. We cannot take care of an issue if we are unaware of an issue. We try everyday to have a Clean, Friendly Property.
We appreciate all our guests feedback and the time out of their day as this is what helps us strive each day to do better.
Please give me a call, ask for CIndy or Lisa and if you will give us another try we will make it worthwhile.
Thank you,
Cynthia and Staff of Knights Inn Danvers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    50
    28
    23
See reviews for
51
84
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel to stay in for our week-long vacation to the Boston/Maine area. First off, we chose this because of the cost, which was much cheaper than any of the other hotels in the area, but it is a BASIC room. It's an older hotel, not the most modern, but met our needs. Our room included a small mini-fridge, no microwave, but we ate out most of our vacation anyway. The Wi-Fi is definitely less-than-reliable, so I highly recommend you consider this if you are here on business or rely on internet access a great deal. We were right below the office and we still were lucky to get two bars of connection. The young girl who checked me in was so friendly, and we had a pleasant stay. For us, this was just what we needed. When we go back up to visit, we will be staying here for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjsway, General Manager at Knights Inn Boston/Danvers, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review! This means alot to our Staff!
We look forward to having you as our guests in the future!!
Thank You,
Cynthia and Staff of the Knights Inn Boston/Danvers, Ma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on September 12 and we were more than a little worried when we opened the door to the room! It was obviously old and needed upgrading but after we settled in it turned out really clean and comfortable. The only complaint would be the noise from the hwy. If you leave the fan running on the ac you'll be fine.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjsway, General Manager at Knights Inn Boston/Danvers, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello,
Thank You for taking the time to post a review on our Knights Inn we certainly do appreciate it!
Our staff looks forward to seeing every review so we can make the next day better than the day before.

We look forward to having you as our guests in the future!
Cynthia and the Staff of the Knights Inn Danvers, Ma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Can I just say that this hotel exceeded my expectations? I kind of accidentally booked this accommodation on Hotwire (where they hide the names of the hotels until after you pay the non-refundable rate). I didn't realize that it was a smoking room either, because of the vagueness on the Hotwire site - but this is not Knights Inn's fault. Any which way, I called Knights Inn to request a non-smoking room. The lady who picked up sounded friendly, and apologized because there weren't any left for that night. I asked her to notate the request on my account, so that if any non-smoking rooms opened up, I could get them then. Lo and behold, when I arrive, I have the non-smoking rooms I requested! You don't know how happy I was! One room was a bit musty, but the kind man at the front desk was able to switch us to a less musty room. Breakfast was adequate, and the same man at the front desk was really hardworking - refilling stuff and taking care of customer needs as they came up. For a 2-Star, this Knights Inn exceeded my expectations greatly!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjsway, General Manager at Knights Inn Boston/Danvers, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thany you Deborah!!!
Your time is valuable and we appreciate you writing the review as you made our Front Desks Day!!!
We are always glad when we can accomodate the guest to their preferences!
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thank You,
Cynthia and Staff of Knights Inn Danvers, Ma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here because all other accommodaation further north was booked out. We got the last room (which was a smoking room), but they did point this out and showed us the room before we stayed. The motel was basic but clean with two double beds.An adequate breakfast was included. We paid $105 per night which was reasonable given that other motels were booked out and more expensive.

Room Tip: It is off the road so all rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjsway, General Manager at Knights Inn Boston/Danvers, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review, we certainly do appreciate all our reviews to help us do better everyday!
We look forward to having you as our guests in the future!
Thank you,
Cynthia and Staff of Knights Inn Danvers, Ma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The room was nice and clean and comfortable.
The office persons solved a BIG problem. We had planned this trip with sister and husband. He was ill and so we had to cut back to one room. We booked online with a company that searches out low prices and demands payment in advance. I won't say who, but when you see an actor spokesman who used to run the starship Enterprise, I will let you guess. This company made the doctor call to allow cancellation. They cancelled both rooms. So we had a blank. Pam called the company and found out that they reinstated one room but did not bother to tell Knights Inn. We did get the last open room in the hotel. These office people are great. That the room was good was a bonus. Also the continental breakfast was Aplus.

Follow up - Credit card bill charged us for two rooms. We have to let AMEX fight this one. This has nothing to do with the hotel but is a warning about the prepay companies.

Room Tip: The motel is located on the down side of a hill. You have to look hard to find the driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjsway, General Manager at Knights Inn Boston/Danvers, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hello,
Thank You! We do appreciate our guest taking their valuable time to write a review!
We were very happy to help you out a bad situation and make it good for you!
We look forward to having you as our guests in the future.
Thank You,
Cynthia and Staff of Knights Inn Danvers, Ma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothwyn, PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Not my first time in Danvers , but my first time at Knights Inn.
On previous visits i had stayed down the street at Motel 6 , on this visit however my niece chose this place to stay after a day in Gloucester before heading to Salem.
My room was clean , comfy bed , the a/c was on prior to my arrival (yes!) , there were ample towels and the bathroom was also clean. There is a continental breakfast in the morning with ok coffee, juice and some pastries.
I visit Salem often and alot of times (especially in October) it is hard to secure a hotel/inn in town if you did not book way in advance ...... Danvers is a very short drive into Salem (or Boston) and the rates here are very affordable . This for sure is my 'new' spot to spend the night when needing a place in Danvers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjsway, General Manager at Knights Inn Boston/Danvers, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hello,
Thank you! We know your time is valuable and we appreiciate your review!
We try everyday to make our guests stay a good one.
We look for to having you as our guests inthe future.
Thank You,
Cynthia and Staff of Knights Inn Danvers, Ma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Boston/Danvers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Boston/Danvers

Address: 225 Newbury Street, Danvers, MA 01923
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Boston/Danvers 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Boston/Danvers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Boston/Danvers Hotel Danvers
Knights Inn Danvers
Danvers Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Boston/Danvers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.