We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was okay....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Ferncroft Road, Danvers, MA 01923   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ultimate Water Park Pkg
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
danvers, United States
1 review
“The room was okay....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Ill start with the bad then Ill end it will what I was very impressed with. Upon entering the room I found it to be very small. The bathroom was not clean. The faucet had fingerprints. I was very surprised. The rug had a very dirty feel to it. I didn't feel clean in the room. The bed spread seemed like it needed to be cleaned. I don't like when hotels hire people who DON'T speak a word of English....all your maids couldn't understand me nor I could understand them. I feel like a hotel must be pretty desperate [financially] that they have to resort to that kind of service. If you take care of your staff everyone wins. Your customers will enjoy staying at your hotel if everyone is happy. Besides...take care of your own people!! I won't go into stores like, Starbucks or any convenient stores if the help does not speak proper English. That's my impression of your hotel But... The entry to the hotel itself was very pretty. The front desk staff were exceptionally sweet and welcoming. The bed was VERY comfortable. The sheets were crisp and the pillow was awesome! The breakfast that was given to us was absolutely delicious! I was very impressed with the selection. I had a very homey feeling while walking to and from Coco Keys. Thank you for a nice time while staying at your hotel. Please address the top half or my review and you will eventually be perfect..=]

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Michael, we appreciate all of our guests' feedback as we continually work to improve our operations. We are glad to hear you truly enjoyed your arrival experience, a comfortable night's rest, and a hearty breakfast. We are sorry to learn, though, that the cleanliness of your accommodations did not meet your expectations. As for the language barrier with some of our housekeeping staff, you are always welcome to pick up the phone or come to the front desk and speak to a supervisor so that we may best help rectify any issues. We are all a team working together to assist our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    177
    117
    60
    44
See reviews for
298
87
11
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The rooms were very well furnished for a family with children having a king size bed plus two youth beds each having their own tv. Access to the water park was very convenient and the we all had a great time at the water park .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. It is our goal to provide a fun family experience. We are so happy to hear your family enjoyed your stay in one of our Family Rooms and your time at CoCo Key! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, MA., United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My stay at the Doubletree was very nice. The room was clean, the restaurant was excellent, and the staff was great. I enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. I did ask for extra towels and pillows on line and never got them, but when the front deck found out they were very sorry and gave us both a coupon for a free breakfast each. You can't beat that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
William, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our service, food and cleanliness. We are also glad you had an opportunity to take advantage of our on-site Atlantis Sports Club and indoor pool. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walpole, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We cam in saturday night with the intention of checking in and going to the water park. We went to our room and upon opening the door found another family already in the room. We called the 800 number and found we had to go back to check in. A major inconvenience. The next day at trade winds for breakfast we waited alomost an hour for pancakes for my kids. Server forgot about drinks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Marko, thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the error and frustration your family experienced at check-in, and for the slow service at breakfast the next day. I have shared your comments with our team as we work to continually improve our operations. We do hope your family enjoyed your experience at the water park, and that you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was disappointed with this hotel. I stayed here with my wife and our two children because of its connection to CoCo Keys Water Park. The staff were all very nice and the main areas of the hotel were very nice, as expected. I felt that the restaurants and room service were quite overpriced compared to other hotels. When we got to the room our room keys didn't work and we had to go back to the front desk with the children and all of our luggage to get the key fixed, no one offered to help. When we got into the room it looked nice, a cute setup for a family. Shortly after getting settled into the room I went into the bathroom to take a shower. I put a towel on the floor and noticed a few ants on the floor. As I continued to look around I realized that they were crawling all over the bathroom floor, in the tub, and on the walls in the shower. This was not a good experience. We never complained to staff or told anyone, although we wanted to because we just wanted to relax (that's why we were there) and didn't want to have to switch rooms with the kids and all our stuff (likely, again with no help) or have people in our room spraying chemicals ect. Ants typically are not something I would make much of a fuss over but it was February and freezing out, ants are not common so if they are covering a room there IS a problem. Next time I want to get out for a night or two I will stay at the Motel 6 down the street for 1/3 the price, its cleaner there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Ashley, we're sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your family's expectations. We apologize for the frustrations you encountered while checking in to your room. And allow me to assure you that it is not typical of our property to have ants. Our front desk and housekeeping directors have been alerted and have inspected your room. Thank you for sharing your comments. We would welcome the opportunity to better serve your family and would be happy to extend a complimentary upgrade should you choose to return for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while attending a major two and half day scuba seminar attended by hundreds of people from around the globe. Scientists, Film makers, national organizations and many others attend this annual event. Year after year this hotel falls flat on its face when on Saturday evening after attending meetings all day and wishing to get a good meal, this hotel closes its large restaurant and leaves its guests to wait for hours to grab a dinner at its bar.The days activities are followed in the evening by a premier film festival and time is short between the days events and the film festival. Year after year this hotel closes a large restaurant and has its guests either not have dinner wait hours to grab a burger and miss the evening event. The management shows no regard for the attendees of this show and they do it each year. Do not hold and conventions or events at this hotel unless your attendees have hours to travel off site to eat dinner. Very poor planning by the management.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hank, we appreciate your feedback, which I have reviewed with our Food & Beverage Director and Conference Service team. We understand your time is valuable. To be fair, there are numerous restaurant and fast-food options just up the road on Route 1 which our Concierge would gladly recommend if you needed a quick bite nearby. But of course our first priority should always be to provide excellent food and timely service on property. We are certainly taking attendees' feedback like yours into account as we plan to best serve your group next year. Thank you for the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Booked the hotel for the sole purpose of the water park. after checking in I realized the room I got was not the room I booked. I booked 1 king sized bed and 2 twin and got 2 double beds. When I complained to the front desk there was nothing they could do for me being that the hotel was fully booked and the cost for the rooms were the "same". So my 10 year old had to share a bed with his 2 year old brother. The food in the water park was not good and the room service we ordered was very expensive and was also bad. Next time I would just go for the day and not stay at the hotel. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Lisandra, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry about the confusion regarding your room type. As you encountered, we sold out of Family Rooms and thus you were booked in a Double room. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the value and quality of our food to your liking. Did you voice your concerns to a manager? We aim to provide a positive experience for our guests throughout their stay and to address any issues while they are still on property. If you have any further comments, please feel free to reach out to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore

Address: 50 Ferncroft Road, Danvers, MA 01923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore is just 19 miles from downtown Boston and Logan International Airport (BOS), and a short drive from historic Salem. Ideally located for meetings, weddings, business travel and families, our Danvers, MA hotel offers 363 spacious guest rooms & suites (newly renovated in 2013) featuring contemporary decor and excellent amenities. Savor a warm, freshly baked DoubleTree cookie and make the most of our comforting amenities, including our business center, lobby coffee shop where we proudly serve Starbucks(R), full service restaurant and lounge, and on-site Atlantis Sports Club & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Key Hotel And Water Resort - Boston
Sheraton Ferncroft Hotel
Sheraton Danvers
Danvers Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.