We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Ferncroft Road, Danvers, MA 01923   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for AAA Members
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is amazing! All workers here are awesome! Tara at the front desk is a wonderful, wonderful help and is great at her job! All other staff is amazing! I suggest this hotel to everybody. the pool is huge, the hottub is nice as well. Also, there is a sauna in the pool area which is very helpful when you get out of the pool and get a little chilly. Also, Hayley the food manager at the hotel is a very nice person who also does a superb job.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Lindsey, thank you for your positive comments, which I have shared with our staff, and especially Tara and Hayley and their directors. We are happy to hear our staff made your stay so enjoyable. And that you were able to take advantage of our on-site Atlantis Sports Club pool & spa. Hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    160
    109
    53
    40
See reviews for
267
81
12
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel was nice. No water pressure in shower. Water in shower not very hot. The clerk that took my reservation made a mistake. Breakfast was an absolute rip off. It was $12 for some boxed cereal, stale muffins and bagels. Cream cheese looked gross. Oatmeal was gross. Couldn't even spoon on brown sugar because it was hard as a rock. Most hotels give this kind of breakfast for free, it cost us $25 which was outrageous!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Colleen, thank you for your feedback. We are glad your stay was enjoyable overall. But we do apologize for the water pressure & temperature issues you encountered, and have alerted our Engineering department to address these issues. As for the continental breakfast buffet in our restaurant, we are as disappointed to hear about what you encountered as you were to experience it. We will be refunding you the cost of breakfast. And I have shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage team, which continues to work to improve our quality and service. We hope you will give us another opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was here for only one night for work, The driver picked myself & my co-workers up from the hotel we were staying at Boston, he referred to this place as a "pit." Not something you want to hear going to where you will spend the night. Of course, my concept of what a "pit" is and the drivers is two different things. This place is NOT a pit. Modern decor, clean, good service. I was upgraded to executive floor, where I got to take advantage of happy hour offerings and breakfast with a nice view. My room was spacious, clean. The HVAC was a bit noisy when I adjusted the temperature, but I didn't hear it the rest of the night after it got up to my desired temperature. I also tried their restaurant, we had a large group which the waitnress who served us was great. The food was good, drinks were good. What more can you want from a hotel?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I would have rated this hotel between average and very good, but opted on the higher rating since overall it wasn't a bad experience. My wife and I just completed a stay here due to her having a corporate event on property. The check in process was very simple and the staff were extremely accommodating and polite. We were recognized as Hilton members, offered waters and provided with breakfast coupons since the Executive Lounge is closed on the weekends - and of course the usual hot cookie. The hotel itself is easy to get to, plenty of parking at both ends of the building, with limited front of building parking. The room we received was fine, clean with all the amenities you'd expect in a DoubleTree. As noted by others the hotel and rooms are a bit dated, but all was in order. That is to say the heating worked fine, as did the water, lights, etc. There were plenty of plugs, an in room safe, ample mirrors, good iron, tv and the like. The only negative about the room was we could easily hear the folks next door to us as they talked, so not sure on the sound proofing or the like. The event we attended was also nice - the buffet line food was good, staff were pleasant and helpful, so all in all a good experience. We were never "wow"ed, but were never left disappointed or upset either. We had the buffet breakfast on site at the Trade Winds and it actually was very good. The usual fair, but lots of it and decent quality, including a better than usual fruit offering. Solid service here too with attentive never ending coffee and offers to get us something else. We'd stay again given a reason to be in Danvers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was concerned when I saw the picture of the exterior of the hotel online. I was afraid it would be sort of early 70's or 80's, but the hotel is updated in pristine condition on the inside. My room was clean, comfortable and it actually felt kind of posh. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was here for several days for a conference during a blizzard. The room itself was fine, I was on the 7th floor and had no complaints. The restaurant, the service was slow, food was ok. Most of the staff were friendly and trying their best. The best meal I had was the chicken Panini, that was very good.

The pool area was chilly and the hot tub disgusting and cold. I didn't use the indoor water park so I can't comment on that.

The parking lot was cleared out by the next day of the snow, for having over 18 inches of snow late night they did a great job.

The room for the conference was good, made it easy to sit for 8 hours, and the breakfast, and snacks during the conference were decent.

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor, it was quiet up there. There is a water park and there are a lot of families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It was our pleasure to host your group while you were "snowed in" at our property. We're happy to hear our conference space suited your group well. And we are glad you enjoyed a quiet stay on our Executive Floor, which is a great option for business travelers. We do apologize for the pool and hot tub issues you encountered, and I have shared your feedback with our on-site Atlantis Sports Club staff. We appreciate your comments regarding the helpfulness of our hotel staff. The slow service you encountered in our restaurant is being addressed, as our Food & Beverage team is undergoing an extensive training program to ensure that our service standards meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We do hope you will come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel's location next to CoCo Key is great -- and the water park itself was fabulous for kids. But this hotel is dated, dingy, and in some respects dirty. It's just not up to snuff with other DoubleTree and Hilton hotels that I've visited.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments. So glad to hear that you and your kids had an excellent experience at CoCo Key! We hope to see your family again soon. As for your feedback regarding our hotel, we are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will continue working to make our hotel a more welcoming property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore

Address: 50 Ferncroft Road, Danvers, MA 01923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore is just 19 miles from downtown Boston and Logan International Airport (BOS), and a short drive from historic Salem. Ideally located for meetings, weddings, business travel and families, our Danvers, MA hotel offers 363 spacious guest rooms & suites (newly renovated in 2013) featuring contemporary decor and excellent amenities. Savor a warm, freshly baked DoubleTree cookie and make the most of our comforting amenities, including our business center, lobby coffee shop where we proudly serve Starbucks(R), full service restaurant and lounge, and on-site Atlantis Sports Club & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Key Hotel And Water Resort - Boston
Sheraton Ferncroft Hotel
Sheraton Danvers
Danvers Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.