We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far, far short of Doubletree standards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Ferncroft Road, Danvers, MA 01923   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for AAA Members
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
New England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Far, far short of Doubletree standards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I think it's safe to say that nobody at the Hilton corporate headquarters knows this place is masquerading as a full-service Hilton property - there is just no other explanation for why this hotel is allowed to operate under the Hilton and Doubletree brand.

As HHonors Gold, I'm generally a big fan of Hilton properties - but this place just doesn't come close to fulfilling the usual high-quality Hilton/Doubletree standards. It's noisy (and not just a little bit) and stuff doesn't work (basic stuff like the digital cable tv system and the plumbing). Contacted the hotel's general manager by mail a month ago to relay our disappointment but never received a reply. This place clearly caters to the adjacent water park and has no interest in being a quality Doubletree.

My advice, book a room at the nearby Marriott Peabody instead.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore. We strive to provide all of our guests with exemplary service and comfort and we are very disappointed that we fell short of this. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your recent stay; we’ll be reaching out to speak with you directly. We’ll be sure to address the issues with the room amenities and hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    158
    109
    53
    39
See reviews for
264
81
12
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here as part of a weekend package deal with the Coco keys water resort in Dec. The hotel is lovely. We had a standard room with 2 queen beds and were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. We are a family of 4 so definitely feel it when a room is small. There was enough room so we didn't feel cramped at all. The breakfast buffet was great the next morning - my kids enjoyed everything. I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore and CoCo Key Water Park! We agree that the breakfast is fantastic! We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The rooms themselves are quite nice especially the family room with 2 small singles for the kids (mine hate to share a bed). They were clean. Some of the staff, such as the evening waitress and pool "guard" could use an attitude adjustment. It is very convenient and we loved the Cocokey connection which is why we were there. Front desk should let you know that as a hotel guest you get access to Coco Key earlier than non hotel guests. Would stay there again for Coc Key only.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We’re so glad that you enjoyed the new Family Friendly rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore! With two youth beds, they are perfect for families with small children. You are correct that the Water Park does open half an hour earlier for hotel guests than for day pass guests; we will make more of an effort to communicate this policy in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The maintainence crew is horrible, they are rude, very rough looking and very unfriendly. When the maintainence man came to my door I thought I was going to be robbed! Lol He had a bandana on, very unprofessional and had some kind of crazy tattoos showing, don't you guys have a dress code? The front desk was being worked by a girl that seemed preoccupied with her cell phone and never got me the towels I asked for. Water temperatures and pressures were unacceptable. I can't believe Hilton would even risk putting their name on this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore. We are sorry to read that the level of service provided did not meet that which we expect from Hilton branded hotels. Rest assured, we have shared your comments with our leadership team and associates and use this as an opportunity for improvement. We do hope that you will give us another chance in the future. When you are ready to return, we would be happy to personally make your reservation for you. Please call Mariah at (978) 646 1062.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Pros: Mattress and bed linens were great - a wonderful bed. Our room was clean. The front desk staff were very friendly, as was the waiter we had at the breakfast buffet. The pool is large and the pool room quite lovely. The hot tub is nice and toasty.
Cons: The pull out couch for our daughter to sleep on was extremely uncomfortable (some kids wouldn't care, but our daughter did). The heater fan was obnoxiously noisy - if you are a light sleeper this could be a problem. Maybe because of the water park or because of the Cheerleader competition the weekend we were there, there was a lot of noise in the hallways in the evening. The food at the breakfast buffet was mediocre, certainly not worth the $18/person charge (which luckily we did not have to pay due to a promotion). The log-in for wifi was glitchy, at least for me - I had to keep re-entering, which was annoying.
Overall - not a standout hotel...but since we were really there for the water park (which our kids loved. It was clean, but oh-so-noisy.) we might stay again, with lowered expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your great feedback on the friendly staff of the DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore! We also appreciate your comments on the pull out couch, the noise, and the Internet as opportunities for improvement. We do hope that you will stay with us again soon. Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very disappointed of this hotel. Stayed with a large organization that blocked off several rooms for a weekend. We expected to be able to go to their water park. Upon arrival told that all tickets were sold out, no tickets are pulled aside for hotel guests.

Room supplies were missing or dirty. Our room was not cleaned, beds not made and new towels replaced. Had to go to the front desk and asked for someone to clean the room for us.

Went to the hotel pool, and because we didn't have clean towels asked at the member desk for one. Was told they were only for members and he would be "screwed" if he didn't have any for the members the next day. Told to get one from my room;again I would have had I had any clean towels in my room.

Supplies were not refreshed so ended up spending extra money for a pot of coffee.

Very disappointed in the quality of this hotel. I have stayed in many other hotels and have not been as disappointed as I was in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We really value your feedback! We strive to provide our guests with exemplary service and care and we are saddened to read that your recent stay did not reflect these goals or live up to your standards. Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our management team and associates. We do hope that you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rindge, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went here as a cheer squad renting about 75 rooms for our National Cheer competition. We could not get passes to Coco Keys because the link they were to set up was never set up and we were told we were going to be able to purchase pass at a discount when we arrived, but was not able to becaue they were SOLD OUT! So the girls had to use the pool on Saturday evening. When they finally could use the pool after a pool party the person from the pool staff when we entered the pool area was rude tell us the pool already has 50 people in it and it is full. We were in the pool for about 15 minutes when another staff person came in and went around to the group and told us the pool was going to closed at 8:45 instead of 10:00 because they were going to need to clean it because of all the people in it. Then they had the nerve to tell a club member whiles my husband was standing there waiting to ask for a towel, which they would not provide, that she could not use the pool because the cheerleaders had ruined the pool. The girls were following the posted rules. We found this staff member of the club to be extremely rude, so we went to the front desk of the hotel to make them aware of the issue at what time they told us the pool was club owned not owned by the hotel and it was a perk for the hotel guest.This should be put on their website because it was no PERK it was just another downfall to this hotel. Once we went back to our room thing did not improve the sheets on one of the bed were stained and my son went to take a shower and when he went to wipe up with the towel it had a clump on it, of what appeared to be a "bogger". IT WAS EXTREMELY GROSS!!!!! I will NEVER return to this hotel and would not recomended it to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTBOS_Mgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the challenges that you encountered during your stay, especially regarding the Water Park access, the pool in the Atlantis Sports Club and the cleanliness level of your room. We have shared your comments with our leadership team and associates and will take the opportunity to improve. When you are ready to return, we would be happy to personally make your reservation for you; please call Mariah at (978) 646 1065.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore

Address: 50 Ferncroft Road, Danvers, MA 01923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore is just 19 miles from downtown Boston and Logan International Airport (BOS), and a short drive from historic Salem. Ideally located for meetings, weddings, business travel and families, our Danvers, MA hotel offers 363 spacious guest rooms & suites (newly renovated in 2013) featuring contemporary decor and excellent amenities. Savor a warm, freshly baked DoubleTree cookie and make the most of our comforting amenities, including our business center, lobby coffee shop where we proudly serve Starbucks(R), full service restaurant and lounge, and on-site Atlantis Sports Club & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Key Hotel And Water Resort - Boston
Sheraton Ferncroft Hotel
Sheraton Danvers
Danvers Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.