We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very courteous staff...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Ferncroft Road, Danvers, MA 01923   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for AAA Members
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Leominster, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very courteous staff...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Two adults and two children were in our party, when we checked in on the 19th of January, for a few hours at Coco Key (seperate review).
The entire staff at this hotel, that we met, were very courteous and attentive.
The first floor room was very clean with a king bed that was soft. The children's beds were very hard, but they managed. Next day's buffet breakfast was ample, but cold. Yes, this property could use some minor fine tuning, but a clean room, and a soft bed, is all this family needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Thomas S,

I am delighted to see that while you had some hiccups during your stay, that our staff was able to correct your issues and that they did it in such a professional manner. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    140
    96
    49
    36
See reviews for
250
71
10
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My daughter and I just stayed here this past week while she attended a dance convention at the hotel. I had heard that the hotel was not great while it was under previous management. However, upon arrival I was very happy with the appearance of the hotel and the staff. Even though the hotel was completely full because of the dance convention the staff did a great job and were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The heatlh club attached to the hotel was unexpected and quite handy. Our daughters enjoyed the large indoor pool and a group of us worked out in the morning. Kudos to housekeeping as they kept with the restroom use of all the dancers. My only small complaint was with the elevators which were very slow and usually full. We resorted to climbing the stairs each time because of the wait. I think that not all were working which will probably be fixed shortly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear KimM250,

We are so delighted that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. We had a blast seeing all of the talented dancers with your group and being able to provide the great customer service we strive for. We look forward to having you back next year for the event and hopefully before then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT,USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall, the visit was a good one. My wife, 3 yo daughter and 1 yo son stayed overnight and went to the Coco Key water resort (separate review) that is attached to the hotel. For a Hilton property, it definitely needed some upgrading. We rated in one of the Family Suites on the first floor. The room was ok. Old and worn, for sure, but very comfortable and the separate kid's area was perfect. The thermostat was very difficult to control - it was either hot or cold. Nothing in between. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. We were able to check in early and use the hotel pool before coco key opened. It was very clean and nice. The breakfast buffet was pretty average as well. All the normal options, but it was clear that the hot items had been out for a while. I was satisfied, but not blown away.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Getaway4now,

I am delighted to see that we were able to meet your initial needs of being able to check-in early and that you were able to enjoy the water park! I have addressed your comments with our team, as we are always striving for perfection, and know when you return, that your comments will be even more phenomenal.

Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you have stayed here the past couple of years [as have I] and was left less than impressed [as was I] You Must Return!!! It has changed and I was extremely satisfied. For a business traveler this is a must stay. The staff was great, room was cozy, the food and drink was very good and priced right. Nothing better than landing, eating, and relaxing without having to "drive" more and more and more. The "managers" evening with treats and a staff open to feedback was refreshing. I will return and will share this information with my client so they can refer the good word to other road warriors. TY Peter

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Pierre R,

It was a pleasure getting to know you during our Manager's Reception. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review as I know you are a well-seasoned traveler. I have shared your kind remarks to our staff and they are ecstatic to see that there hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back and if you need anything, please call me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed at this facility in the past when it was under other management. The makeover to this hotel was not only to the structure and appearance but showed in the upbeat attitude of the employees as well. We were treated like royalty. Everyone smiled and asked how we were and if there was anything anyone could do for us from the cleaning staff on our floor to the concierge to the reservation desk staff to the hostesses and wait staff in the restaurant. Both my husband and I remarked on it repeatedly. We'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear thgi,

We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our "new" property. We have put immense efforts into upgrading our building for our guests and are delighted to see you and your husband appreciate the enhancements. As for the staff, they are a high-energy, high-service team and are thrilled that you all enjoyed it!

We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time and excellent service! I would go back and reccomand anyone to visit the double tree, especailly if you have kids. Coco key was very fun and excellent. The breakfast was great. The arcade was very fun and entertaining.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Lvrzjnny1991,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I visited this hotel last night for a wedding in Groveland, Ma. The shuttle service for the wedding had left a few of us behind and we were going to miss the ceremony. However, Janelle went out of her way to provide us with the best possible service and we were able to get to the wedding on time. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone I know thanks to the great service provided by Janelle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Emily M,

I am always ecstatic to see one of our team members go above and beyond for our guests. Janelle is a big asset to our success! I have passed on your kind words to our entire team and we hope to have you back for another wedding or whatever may bring you to our hotel. Janelle says "Hello".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore

Address: 50 Ferncroft Road, Danvers, MA 01923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore is just 19 miles from downtown Boston and Logan International Airport (BOS), and a short drive from historic Salem. Ideally located for meetings, weddings, business travel and families, our Danvers, MA hotel offers 363 spacious guest rooms & suites (newly renovated in 2013) featuring contemporary decor and excellent amenities. Savor a warm, freshly baked DoubleTree cookie and make the most of our comforting amenities, including our business center, lobby coffee shop where we proudly serve Starbucks(R), full service restaurant and lounge, and on-site Atlantis Sports Club & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Key Hotel And Water Resort - Boston
Sheraton Ferncroft Hotel
Sheraton Danvers
Danvers Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Boston North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.