We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn North Shore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn North Shore to your Saves list
Comfort Inn North Shore
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Dayton Street, Danvers, MA 01923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The check in process was very pleasent. The man who checked me in, Brad or Ben I think it was, was very helpful with getting us directions to Salem and Boston. He even pointed out the the train stops for us and where to get off for certain places. Now my experience at the hotel was actually better then I expected as far as the room and breakfast went. I was on the fifth floor over looking the parking lot. It was a very clean room, king sized bed, flat screen TV, fridge and microwave, and coffee maker(which was awesome for us). The free breakfast could've been better, but it's free so who can really complain. My only real problem, and it was a big problem, was that as I was checking out the two front desk employees were out in their backroom playing Trouble. I stood at the desk for 2-3 minutes while the laughed and ignored the desk, before the young lady poked her head out to see if anyone was there. That struck me as highly unprofessional and rude, I wish I had gotten their names. Anyway besides that, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Thank you Comfort Inn for a great stay!

Room Tip: The "upgraded kings" they called it, are $15 more but have a fridge and microwave and seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    84
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
75
68
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

As part of a moderate priced chain of hotels, this Comfort Inn was as expected. The check in went well and all the employees were friendly and helpful. There were maps and lists of neighbouring restaurants. The staff helped with directions and there was computer access in the lobby. The only access to the hotel from the road (walking or driving) was on a very steep driveway that was so winding that visibility seemed dangerous at times. Our room was quite nice... large and clean. The beds were comfortable and the shower had lots of pressure. Lots of storage space and good lighting.
The breakfast area was very crowded and not enough staff to clean or replenish the food items. They ran out of trays so leaving the area to eat elsewhere was difficult. Not up to par, even for Comfort Inn!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is the dirtiest hotel I have ever been in. We got bump here from another hotel and I will never stay at a confront inn again!! They put us in rooms that smelt like it was a bar!!! The smoke was horrible!!'

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This Comfort Inn is what we have come to expect from Comfort Inn, nothing more and nothing less. We do not expect 5 star hotel treatment when we stay here and the decor means nothing compared to cleanliness.

We stayed on the first floor and our room and bathroom were clean. The heating/ac system was relatively quiet. The pillows were decent. We picked this particular hotel because of the indoor pool and we were very happy with it. The pool was large, clean, and there was plenty of seating and towels. The pool hours were very generous. (6 am - 11 pm) The fitness room had a treadmill, elliptical, and a weight machine and they were all in working order. Breakfast is what you would expect and there was plenty of seating. The staff were very courteous.

The downside to this hotel was the lack of hotel directory (or even a phone book) and their outdoor pool wasn't available.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I should have listened to the reviews, the beds were terrible. Food was fine. Indoor and outdoor pool. Staff was fine. Room was okay. Beds were just terrible. I've never stayed at a hotel where the beds seemed like they are 20 years old. They creaked, and sank in the middle. Rooms need to be updated. We were on the first floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed there for a night before heading north to Maine on the coast. the staff was very nice and pleasant. The rooms didn't seem clean. the carpets were stained. a refresh will definitely go a long way in changing the image.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearl river, n.y.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here for Lacrosse tournament in Byfield, Mass. (6/23-6/24). Made reservations in May. Hotel was fully booked because of the tournament. Original date reserved was Friday & Sat. but because of scheduling, had to change to just a Sat. stayover. When making the change in their system, the hotel staff person changed the wrong night of the stayover. They changed the stayover date to just Friday instead of to just Saturday. When we found this out (Thurs. night) & because the hotel was fully booked, we had no room to stay in on Sat. The GOOD news is that my wife spoke to the Manager (Chad) on Friday morning & it was all straightened out. Our check in was very smooth on Sat. The hotel is nice, clean & very affordable. Aside from the Human error & the confusion before checking in, everything was "VERY" good . The hotel staff was very accomodating with any special requests for extra towels, extra pillows. They even provided a 10% off coupon to the Texas Roadhouse restaurant (very close to the hotel)(see my review there also) when we mentioned that we were going there for dinner. They were also very accomodating with our late checkout request. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Comfort Inn in Danvers, Mass. Hope this review can help. May God bless you all. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn North Shore

Address: 50 Dayton Street, Danvers, MA 01923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn North Shore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) North Shore is conveniently located just 15 miles north of Boston and seven miles from historic Salem. This Danvers, MA hotel in the Greater Boston area is near scenic Rockport & Gloucester, Salem State College, Gordon College, Endicott College, the Salem Witch Museum, the Peabody Essex Museum, the New England Aquarium and the Museum of Science, Boston. Additional points of interest include: •Bunker Hill Monument, a Boston National Historical Park site •Hammond Castle Museum •Salem Wax Museum •Salisbury Beach State Reservation •Cape Ann Whale Watch Sports enthusiasts will love the hotel's close proximity to TD Garden, home of the Boston Celtics basketball team and the Boston Bruins hockey team, and Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox baseball team. A visit to the nearby Boston Children's Museum is perfect for families. This Greater Boston area hotel is only minutes from the seacoast and mountains. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Shore Hotel Danvers
North Shore Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn North Shore Danvers
Comfort Inn Danvers
Danvers Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.