We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place For An AT Hiker To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Village Inn

Shamrock Village Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shamrock Village Inn
Save
You added Shamrock Village Inn to your Saves list
633 Main Street, Dalton, MA 01226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Dalton B&B and Inns
Nebo, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Place For An AT Hiker To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Normally I would of stayed at Robert Byrd’s place up the street during my stop over in Dalton this last summer on the Appalachian Trail. Have ate dinner many a time at the restaurant, but never stayed till now. Found the place to be in good repair, clean, and good value for the dollar. It was nice to have so many amenities and services close by without hiking a long distance or jumping through many hoops on public transportation. Will stay here from now on when I am passing through on the AT.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This motel should be demolished! Upon entering you can see that the screen door has a large hole. As I walked toward the bathroom I had to walk through a puddle of water. The caulking in the bathroom is non-existent. Once in the bathroom I could not open the door to get out; I had to have someone on the outside actually yank the door open. The carpeting is old and thread-bare. And on and on! Bad, bad experience.

Room Tip: Keep looking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dalton hotels

Littleton, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed there while on business for an extended period of time, rates changed randomly with seemingly no connection to established rates on website. When staff was questioned, no answer was given. After being overcharged for a one-night's stay, I choose another trustworthy establishment for the following week, only to find out This Motel had charged my card without my consent or a reservation, I was told about the charge by a colleague. When I approached the manager about this, she became volatile and verbally abusive, telling me they can "charge me whatever they want" I decided at that point to take it up with my bank. Needless to say, my money has not as of yet been refunded and I have since cancelled this card. I can say I am happy to have found a much more reputable establishment in the area. By the way, there is no cell service at this location.

Room Tip: no tips for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This Inn is so welcoming and has a Family Friendly environment.
The Owner is always available and the employees are so kind and attentive.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Not a new building by any means, but the staff keeps what they have fairly clean. The staff is definitely what bumps this above some other places in it's class, they are very accommodating in all respects. They also have a lobby computer to use attached to a hi def laser printer. Wifi was fast throughout the building.

Rooms were fairly on par with what you'd get in a national chain in this price range, but it's nice to support indie businesses when possible. Beds were not overly supportive. I've definitely had worse, but if you have back issues this place may not be the best choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shamrock Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Village Inn

Address: 633 Main Street, Dalton, MA 01226
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Dalton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dalton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Shamrock Village Hotel Dalton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.