We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gumbo special - no meat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Dooley's Old Irish Pub

Mr. Dooley's Old Irish Pub
9 Depot Ct, Cohasset, MA 02025-1756
781-383-3366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Cohasset
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Taunton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gumbo special - no meat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My friends and I went to dinner here before going to the Music Circus. I like to order specials because they are usually very good. The gumbo special described the dish as having andouille sausage, blackened chicken and baby shrimp. The dish was served on a square plate with a mound of white rice in the middle on a sea of broth. I had one baby shrimp and that was it. No sausage or chicken at all. The broth was tasty but there was only chopped pieces of vegetables and tomatoes. I pointed this out to the bartender (waiter) and her response was "have you had gumbo before?". Yes I have had gumbo but this is minus the meat. She later apologized for the meal being unsatisfactory. She compensated with a free glass of wine. It is a nice pub atmosphere. The other meals were good, mixed grille and the shepherds pie stuffed potato skins.
I would try it again and maybe try a burger.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We tried Mr. Dooley's for lunch yesterday, a rainy dreary day reminiscent of the weather in Ireland. The atmosphere was definitely pub-like, it was cozy and comfortable even if the decor is based on a corporate formula. My husband had the shepherd's pie and I had the fish and chips. Both were absolutely delicious. The servings were more than ample. The waiter (Jason, I think) was very professional and service was quick. Beer selection on tap was good - it included one of my favorites, Allagash White. The lunch prices were quite reasonable.

The pub is small and I can imagine it would be really crowded for weekend dinner, or when there is music. It wasn't full on a Wednesday at lunchtime, but as one other person mentioned the acoustics are awful. It was difficult to have a conversation across our small table. It must be almost impossible to hear anything if there is a full house. I'm rating the restaurant and atmosphere "very good" based on the poor acoustics, otherwise I'd rate it excellent.

We'll definitely return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We've been to lunch there several times. The food is excellent and fairly priced. Service was also very good. TV's mounted on the walls all over. What you'd expect from an Irish pub in the USA.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Too noisy for me!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have tried Mr Dooley's 3 times since it opened. The food is decent pub food annd the prices are fairly reasonable. (I had burgers twice and fish and chips once). The problem is horrible acoustics which make the place so noisy that the meal was unpleasant and I was happy when I finished my meal and could leave. The last time I was there I had difficulty hearing what the waitress was saying and the waitress had a hard time hearing my order. The place badly needs some sort of sound deafening effort to get me to go back.
Also, minor item but as it is supposedly Irish I expected that I could get brown sauce (i.e. HP, Chefs, Branston etc) for my burger and chips but they did not, which is not very Irish.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub in Cohasset Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Went twice this week, once on a Tuesday night and had a drink at the bar. Good selection of beer and wine, the bartender (from Ireland no less!) was friendly and attentive. We liked it so much, we decided to go back for dinner on Friday night- we were not disappointed. The potato skins appetizer was great as were the salmon and steak tips. Very friendly and attentive service, comfortable atmosphere and great food. We will be back! A great addition to Cohasset Village.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Dooley's Old Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Dooley's Old Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Dooley's Old Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.