We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many improvements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cohasset Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cohasset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cohasset Harbor Resort
Save
You added Cohasset Harbor Resort to your Saves list
124 Elm Street, Cohasset, MA 02025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cohasset
Sagamore, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Many improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Happy to see some renovating and improvements at the Harbor View.
Great Location - and new outdoor bar is great.
Stayed in one of the newer rooms while visiting family.
Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    13
    14
    15
See reviews for
27
20
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The people working in the hotel are pleasant. The rooms are best described as dingy, they look like rooms in a roadside motel. If you can get over the rooms, they rest of the Hotel is okay. It was raining the weekend I stayed so the outdoor bar was closed. Which means no food or drinks available in the hotel at all. I asked if there was anywhere to walk to get food, we were starving and there was no where to eat. I had a bag of chips for dinner (which I had in my bag).
You can get a drink at the VFW across the street but I wouldn't recommend the staff was rather crabby. We were here for a wedding, and you are kind of stuck as to where to stay. I would choose the Red Lion even if it costs quite a bit more. If i had paid $49 per night I would be okay with the hotel. If it was $89, I'd feel screwed. At $200??? Really...

Room Tip: Ask for a newly updated room (not that they will be much better). If you reserve rooms for guests a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cohasset hotels

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here. Same time as last year. We were allowed an early check-in way before std time. Immediately noticed the improvements over last year. Rosalie could not have been more accommodating. We stayed in a mini-suite which has two balconies. One overlooking the harbor, the other shows one of the town's back roads. Both capture the quaintness of this lovely harbor town. Our room was very nicely appointed. It actually had two bathrooms!! A very unexpected surprise. Flat screen TV., comfy sofa. The bed was amazing and I didn't want to get up the next morning, Continental breakfast outside was nice. Would have liked to experience the new Tapas bar but an evening wedding was being hosted there. Advance notice was given on the website. The Inn is a 2 minute walk to the Atlantica Restaurant (perfection). It's close proximity to the South Shore Music Circus is the draw for me. All of the staff were very accommodating and it was a pleasure to meet Rob the new Manager. It's a bit pricey for some, but if you are from out of town and have an event or function in the area, it's perfect. We both enjoyed our stay and will make an entire weekend of it next year. Kudos on the improvements. keep them coming.

Room Tip: the Harborside mini-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A, General Manager at Cohasset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to notice and comment on all of our renovations and improvements! We work hard to continually improve the facilities, amenities, and guest experience at the Cohasset Harbor Inn.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and can’t wait to welcome you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

August 10 & 11, 2012; Where do I start? This so called resort was the worst place I have stayed in for years; The room had no clock radio, no inside the room coffee maker; and the coffee maker at the receptionist office was broken all weekend long; therefore I couldn’t get a coffee in the morning; the toilet ran continuous; the hallways smelt as if I was in a machine shop; the rooms look as if they haven’t been renovated since the early seventies, most of the carpets are stained and all for $200/night unbelievable! To top it off, at 3 in the afternoon I had to beg the housekeeping to makeup up my room; the maid said that she would try her best to have it clean by 5PM; can you believe that; seeing that we needed to shower and get ready for the wedding at 5PM the maid said that she would gladly give us clean towels but making the bed would have to wait!!!! The only way I stayed for a second night was because all other rooms were booked in the area and I had to attend a wedding! How this place calls itself a resort is a joke; don’t stay there…….

Room Tip: Don't stay at Cohasset Harbor Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A, General Manager at Cohasset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear JaySea,

I’m sorry that you were unhappy with your recent stay at the Cohasset Harbor Inn. We are making an enormous effort to renovate and refresh the property. The first phase of our guest room renovation project was completed last year, and we fully remodeled 15 rooms with brand new furnishings, pillow top mattresses, down bedding, new carpeting and drapery, etc. We will continue to make upgrades to additional guest rooms and public spaces, and have immediate plans to replace the hallway carpeting and renovate the event spaces.

I can understand your frustration with the delayed housekeeping service to your room, and I apologize. We did our best to accommodate your needs at the time.

As I also responded to your partner’s negative review posted on August 14th, we do hope that you will give the Cohasset Harbor Inn another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The decor is not only old it feels it. The bed was uncomfortable. The patio near the stairway needs painting. Heck, there's not furniture to make it a patio. Promised one room, given another. Room didn't get clean until very late in the day. Kept leaving and coming back only to find it still wasn't done. Coffee maker in the lobby broken all weekend. Nothing in the room for amenities such as a fridge, coffee maker - heck there wasn't even a clock in the room. This was on the wedding list and I wish we had seen these reviews and found another place instead of wasting my money here. Could be nice since they are only one of two in the town - maybe they feel they don't have to spruce it up because of this. Disappointed to say the least.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. If not, ask for a balcony. Find out exactly the type of room you are getting and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A, General Manager at Cohasset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay at the Cohasset Harbor Inn. Had you made your concerns known to us at the time, we certainly would have made every effort to remedy the issues. Our housekeeping team works hard to meticulously clean all of the rooms daily, and we do apologize if your room was not attended to until later in the day.
While the Inn is an older property, we have made fantastic upgrades to many of our amenities in the last year. We renovated 4 suites and all of the first floor Harborside rooms with flat screen HDTV's, in-room refrigerators, new mattresses and furnishings, luxurious down bedding, and new carpeting and drapery. The room you stayed in has not yet been redecorated, although the next phase of remodeling will launch in the coming months.
In addition to all of the guest room renovations, we fully refurbished the public spaces, installed complimentary WIFI throughout the property, added a small convenience store (unfortunately the new Keurig machine was out of order during your stay - it has since been repaired), a business center, and opened Brisa - a brand new outdoor Tapas and Wine bar patio of the hotel.
We hope you will give the Cohasset Harbor Inn another chance and experience all of the exciting renovations to come in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The notion that Cohasset Harbor Inn is "the best in Cohasset" is silly since it's one of two places to stay in town. The other is the Red lion Inn and it's superior by far.
No pictures on the walls, no sugar/sweetener or cream for the in-room coffee, incompetent staff (receptionsist can't remember the general manager's name for example), continental breakfast with nothing but day old bakery items and fruit. Above all the room rates are higher than a top line hotel in Boston. You'de be crazy to stay there. Call the red lion Inn.
THE CLINCHER: Made a reservation, wife got sick, called to cancel and make a reservation for the following week, got billed for both. General Manager won't return my calls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were somewhat trepidatious after reading some of the reviews on this site that happily were proven woefully out-of-date once we arrived and enjoyed a very pleasant overnight experience at the Cohasset Harbor Resort. It seems those negative reviews from prior years were for a place that has benefitted from some strategic improvements and a location that gives the place an advantage over other options. Clean and well kept with careful attention to detail along with an attentive and pleasant staff make this a great place to stay. A new(?) tapas and wine bar restaurant on the patio is a winner with great food and drink and a talented, fun team staffing the service area. Don't hesitate to choose this place if you're going to the south shore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cohasset Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cohasset Harbor Resort

Address: 124 Elm Street, Cohasset, MA 02025
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cohasset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cohasset
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Cohasset Harbor Hotel Cohasset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cohasset Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.