We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buy the package with the Wachusett Village Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Russian Icons

Museum of Russian Icons
203 Union Street, Clinton, MA 01510
+1 978-598-5000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Clinton
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Russian Icons was founded in 2006 as a nonprofit educational institution by Massachusetts art collector and industrialist Gordon B. Lankton. With more than 700 Russian icons and artifacts, the collection is the largest of its kind in North America, and one of the largest private collections outside Russia. Spanning six centuries, the collection includes important historical paintings dating from the earliest periods of icon "writing" to the present. The Museum facility is 16,000 square feet and comprises several galleries, research library, archive storage, conservation studio, an auditorium accommodating programs, lectures and concerts, the Russian Tea Room, terrace, and green roof.
Flanders, NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Buy the package with the Wachusett Village Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A very unique and beautiful collection of Russian icons dating back hundreds of years. Our guide was excellent and knew all about each icon and its history and background. Definitely a place to visit if you are Russian (or Eastern) Orthodox. Took about 1 1/2 hours. Be sure to visit all three floors. We got a great package deal with the Wachusett Village Inn, less then $100 for overnight hotel, breakfast and entry to the museum (for two).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert Z, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Museum of Russian Icons. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and chose to write an outstanding review of your experience. Our local affiliations with The Wachusett Village Inn and area restaurants do make for an affordable, enjoyable visit to the Museum and additional attractions in Central Massachusetts. Please visit www.3museums.org for discounted admission rates to the Museum of Russian Icons, Tower Hill Botanic Garden and the Worcester Art Museum. Enjoy all Massachusetts has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Jewel of a Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a very attractive museum displaying a private collection of Russian iconography. It may sound dull but the three of us were rapt for the three hours we were there. We had a docent guide who walked us through and explained the artistic and historical background of the exhibits. This museum is a labor of love for a private collector and for most of us it is a window into a world we know so little of. If you find yourself in the Worcester Mass area, this museum is well worth your time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Three hours - we are honored! It's always great to see visitors become so wrapped up in touring the collection that time flies by for all of us. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you'll have the opportunity to visit us again! Our Docents really add something special to a visit. We hope everyone who desires a tour, will inquire about an available Docent when they arrive - tour with them for whatever length of time you'd like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assonet, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this amazing museum. There are several icons on display on 3 floors. The special exhibit titled "Imaging the Invisible: Angels, Demons, Prayer & Wisdom" was amazing to see. Many of the icons are very old, and you can get very close to them. There are excellent lighted magnifying glasses throughout the museum so you can get a closer look at the details in the icons. You can choose to have a guided tour or an audio tour at no extra charge. We chose to go through the museum on our own and read the detailed descriptions of the icons. There is a small gift shop on the main level which featured many items that are made in Russia including lovely jewelry and icons. On the lower level, there is a Russian Tea Room where you can get a snack or tea or coffee. For those who have difficulty with climbing stairs, there is an elevator available. We went to the museum on a Thursday when it is open until 7:00 p.m. We spent a few hours here and found the museum to be very enjoyable and educational. We also loved the Gregorian chant music that was playing in the museum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us! Thursday evenings are a great time to come - your visit can last longer and the galleries tend to be quieter. Our Special Exhibitions are always changing and we'd love for you to visit us again. Keep up-to-date with all of our changes and new exhibitions on our website. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, MI
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Fascinating collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a wonderful introduction to Russian icons. Not only is the collection lovely, but the explanations are very informative. This isn't a big museum, but you can still plan on taking a couple of hours to really appreciate all that is here. Do accept the free audio tour, if only to understand why this collection was created.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for visiting with us! We're especially glad you enjoyed our audio tour and we hope you'll be able to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Most extensive collection outside of Russia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is the most extensive collection outside of Russia. It was the first time I saw a icon showing the three handed Madonna - very rare. Make sure you either get there early as they normally close at three pm. They do have 3 small tv screens showing different movies in the corners of the building on the second floor but they are an hour in length if you want to watch them. Go on Thursday (?) when they are stay open later in the day. My favorite icon that they had an postcard of was St. John Climacus - The Ladder of Divine Ascent. I wish they had poster of that one to purchase in the gift shop. I included it in my photo upload. Make sure you visit the basement to see the process of how icons are made. In the basement they also have a Russian tea room where you can get snacks all the time and sandwiches on some days.
They do have docents who will explain the symbolism in the icons as well as hand held walkie-talkie devices if you want to learn it on your own. Do both - you get more out of it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed so much of your visit. Please take a moment to visit our Fine Art Print program available through our website. Simply click the "Fine Art Prints" link on our Home Page's main banner. Here you can choose from several different sizes and paper types. I double checked, and if you type "Climacus" in the search bar the exact icon you desire is available! We're so excited about this program because it uses Epson printing technology, recognized by the professional image community as the finest in imaging quality, ensuring that our prints will provide customer satisfaction for generations to come. I hope you'll have the chance to browse the rest of what's available and visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Russian Icons also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Russian Icons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Russian Icons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.