We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant touches make this B&B Special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1886 House

1886 House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesterfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1886 House
Save
You added 1886 House to your Saves list
202 East Street, Chesterfield, MA 01012   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Chesterfield B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Elegant touches make this B&B Special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We arrived late at night, braving the back roads (they're all back roads), we were pleasantly surprised. The room was simple, but very clean and comfortable. The owners have added a number of nice little touches (chocolate on the pillow, bottled water in the room) that made this a very enjoyable stay. The breakfast the next morning was delicious, and the conversation with the owner was great. Would definitely recommend for those wanting a quiet and peaceful B&B as a jumping off point to the Pioneer Valley.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

What a perfectly lovely stay we had at this B&B. Since it's off the beaten path somewhat, it was unbelievably quiet and peaceful. We stayed in the Chelsea room, which is close to being the best overall B&B room we have ever stayed in. Joe and Carol are marvelous hosts...warm, engaging, and eager to help with information and other touches to make your stay a pleasant one. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We did 7 New England B and B's in 9 days, 1886 was the most remote of all, which was a welcome most. The proprietors are a senior couple from Kentucky who moved here to be with their daughter, and this place is their baby. Everything is spic and span and well cared for. No skimping on the breakfast. We thought we were the only guests, but in the morning we met a great couple from New York who had arrived after us. Between them and the proprietors we hated to leave and break up the Koffee Klatsch.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed one night during a college reunion and it was wonderful.
The welcome can't be better. We were greeted by a kind woman upon arrival and shown to our room.
The grounds are lovely; green grass, trees, old barns, fresh air, indoor and outdoor porches ...
The rooms are beautifully decorated, quiet and charming. Comfortable bed, hot shower, plenty of clean towels ... No TV in the room, which we didn't care for.
The breakfast was delicious and fresh; eggs, pancakes, bacon, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, oj ...
We had a GPS, so driving around was easy. Williamsburg is 10 minutes away, Northampton 20 minutes.
Overall, it was a perfect B&B, quiet, cozy, and surrounded by nature.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterfield

Been to 1886 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 House

Address: 202 East Street, Chesterfield, MA 01012
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesterfield
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1886 House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.