We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swallow Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesterfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swallow Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Swallow Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
178 Bryant Street, PO Box 553, Chesterfield, MA 01012   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Chesterfield B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truely enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The property is beautiful and Kessie is a delightful hostess. We were lucky to be there for a few days when temperatures were mild and we were able to keep the windows open all night. Kessie has a lovely garden and the property has views of the distant mountains. Breakfast was good and the company was ecven better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessie W, Owner at Swallow Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
This is a fabulous review. Thank you so much. I loved having you here and hope perhaps you'll be able to come back some time. It's been a very good year here at Swallow Hill and you are a major part of my enjoyment. Thanks again, Kessie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Highly recommend this b&b. Cozy, comfortable, fun, delicious breakfast, out of this world hospitality. True relaxation, beautiful location. Kessie went out of her way to make us comfortable. She even lent us her personal ski clothes since we didn't bring ours. Sweet dog! Interesting host, we enjoyed our conversations with her.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Swallow Hill is a great place to catch your breath and to have your breath taken away.
Surrounded by paved and unpaved country roads,at the end of a long country driveway, at the top of a clear-cut hill with unobstructed and panoramic views of the Berkshires, Swallow Hill offers respite from the daily grind and a short, twenty minute drive to Northampton.
We stayed for two chilly early autumn nights and were warmed by a wood stove downstairs and, upstairs-- a reader's delight-- a comfortable bed in a room with floor-to-ceiling bookshelves. Kessie's breakfasts were simple, subtly delicious, thoughtfully planned, presented with her signature warmth and good humor. Staying at Swallow Hill was a refreshing break for us. We plan to return soon and, hopefully, often.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I agree with all the other comments - Swallow Hill is the best of B&B's - at Swallow Hill you can feel like a local but not an intruder, all your needs will be met with good cheer. Enjoy - it is a very beautiful and special place.

Room Tip: Be frank with Kessie about your needs and she will guide you to the right spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Swallow Hill for several days while searching for housing in the area. What could have been a stressful time was truly delightful. Kessie took great care of us, welcoming us back from our busy days eager for updates, and offered lots of tips about the area. We spent relaxing evenings with a glass of wine gazing across the fields and watching the sun set over the mountains. Breakfast was delicious -- seasonal and locally sourced. We couldn't have asked for more -- a terrific value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessie W, Owner at Swallow Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review. You took the job and moved here! Congratulations. But I guess it means you won't come and stay again. Hope all goes well and that you find Western Mass the best place to be. Come and visit anytime just for fun.

Kessie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a beautiful spot - perfect for a family holiday. A gracious, comfortable home in a spectacular setting. Kessie is the perfect hostess - warm , hospitable, generous with information and area guidance, and a truly delicious breakfast.

Julie, Roger & Gracie

Room Tip: Only three rooms, all spacious and comfortable with beautiful mountain and meadow views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Swallow Hill for three nights in the midst of July. Our stay here was undoubtably among the absolute highlights of our visit to the USA. The house itself is charming and beautiful, wonderfully located on top of a grassy field, with outstanding views. The rooms and beds are very comfortable, and breakfasts are delicious. Kessie is the friendliest host imaginable. She had plenty of tips for where to go and what to do, which was of great value to us. We found the area around Swallow Hill and Chesterfield very pleasant - lush and peaceful, tranquil, but plenty of things to do and nice villages to visit. There were also plenty of hiking possibilities and lots of nice places to go swimming (rivers and lakes).
As europeans we are regretably not often in the US, but it happens, and next time we are back we will do whatever possible to visit Kessie, and not to forget her lovely and very well behaved spaniel Nutmeg, again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swallow Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 178 Bryant Street, PO Box 553, Chesterfield, MA 01012
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now SOLAR POWERED, Swallow Hill commands expansive views towards the Berkshire Hills where swallows swoop in summer. Delicious breakfasts emphasize local organic produce. Vegetarian and vegan fare available. Twenty minutes to Northampton, Smith College, and close to area colleges, Deerfield, as well as Jacob's Pillow, Greenwood, Lenox, museums and other Berkshire activities. Hike, cross country ski, snow shoe from our door. Enjoy the gardens and the comforts and warmth of home in this country, farming community. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swallow Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.