We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Boston...great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Boston Logan Airport/Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Boston Logan Airport/Chelsea to your Saves list
Residence Inn Boston Logan Airport/Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Maple Street, Chelsea, MA 02150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chelsea
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“First time in Boston...great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. It was our first time in Boston. We paid with Points. This hotel is near the airport, but not so close where you need earplugs or anything like that. We took the red eye from the west coast and arrived at Logan around 6:30am. We called the hotel and a shuttle picked us up within 15 or 20 minutes. It too early to check in, but we were able to at least brush our teeth and the hotel stored our luggage for us. Karen at the front desk was super delight. She told us that she couldn’t get us checked into a room until 9am. We told her we were going into town and she told us to go have some breakfast then take the hotel shuttle to the T station (mass transit). Which we did (itinerary below). When we got to our room, it was great. Large living room with a desk, sleeper and lounge. The kitchen was perfect with a full sized fridge, microwave and dishwasher. The bedroom was separate from the living room with a really large nice bathroom. We didn’t have a view…well our view was of the interstate. We occasionally heard highway noise and the occasional person upstairs or next door. But really it was fine. The breakfast was better than most. We had French toast one morning, sausage hash, eggs..pretty good. Overall it was a very good home base. Oh, the last thing I mention…in the evenings during the week there is an even reception. They usually have some sort of light meal. Tuesday night we had mozzarella sticks, bacon wrapped scallops, and cheese tray. There is also a full serviced bar there you can also order a light dinner.

Itinerary:
Day 1: Saturday 6/8
Arrived at hotel dropped off bags
“T” to Aquarium exit and took the City View Tour
Walked to Mike’s Pastry for Cannoli (very good)
Walked the freedom trail
Walked to USS Constitution
Hopped the City View Tour to State House
Walked more of freedom trail
Walked to China Town. Lunch at Jade Garden (very good)
Walked to South Station. Caught Silverline to Airport for hotel shuttle.
Ate fries and had beer and wine at hotel bar.

Day 2: Sunday 6/9
Hotel Shuttle to “T” station
Walked to Marathon site
Walked to Harriet Tubman park
Walked to Northeastern University (not planned…took wrong turn still a nice campus)
Walked to Fenway (the real park..not the ballpark..again not planned, just read the map wrong. Nice park though)
Walked to Fenway Park for Boston vs LAA.
Caught train downtown. Walked Freedom Trail.
Walked to Quincy Market. (Looking for Indian food, but things were closing up)
Walked to North Bend (Hanover St). Ate dinner at Café Pompeii. Italian. (It was ok, but we definitely have had better).
Walked to Modern Pastry. Got cannoli and carrot cake. (The cannoli in my opinion was much better than Mike’s. The carrot cake was awesome).
“T” line to airport for hotel shuttle.

Day 3: Monday 6/10
Hotel Shuttle to “T” station
Walked to Sam Adams Brewery Tour
“T” line back to airport for hotel shuttle. (We bought beer and didn’t want to walk around town with it).
Back to “T” station.
Lunch at Tantric Indian Bistro on Stuart Street. (Awesome!!)
“T” line to Harvard and MIT.
Back to airport for shuttle.
Dinner: Ate leftover Chinese food.

Day 4/7: Tuesday 6/11 and Friday 6/14.
We checked out of the hotel and caught the Silver Line to South Station for trip to NYC (See review).
Friday we had time to kill before catching our plane back to the west coast. We ate Clam Chowder from Joe’s Grill at Boston Harbor (near the aquarium). Very good. We also walked to Granary Cemetery and the crossing area. We caught the “T” to the airport.

A couple of other things I’ll mention:
1) We’re hikers from Portland. Boston is easy to walk just like Portland, so we didn’t take the train as much as others.
2) We also try to stay off the main drag for eateries. Seeing as this was our first time in Boston, we had nothing to compare too.
3) If you are staying in Boston more than 2 days AND you’ll take the “T”, pick up a 7 day pass for $18. A one day pass is $11.
Any questions? Send me a message.

Room Tip: If we go back I would request a room on the city side vs the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    75
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
65
18
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This RI looks pretty new. The staff is friendly. It has a nice little pool if you're traveling with kids. We booked an award stay before flying out early the next morning. AC unit got loud after about 30 min. Don't let them make you feel that Floramo's is the best restaurant in the universe. There are closer places to Logan if you're in a hurry. The guys working the desk/shuttle were replaying their night out for a while after it was pretty obvious that we were ready to get on the shuttle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Spend a quick visit in Boston and stayed at this out of the way location as it was close to family who live nearby. What a great surprise --- amazing modern rooms and amenities and really enjoyed the breakfast which was both greaty variety offered as well as meticulously maintained and stocked by staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Great stay!
Meg at front desk was super, everyone else was excellent!
Bartender Kate (yes they have a lounge) was great, great service & food while watching the games!
Health club & pool was money!
Overall an excellent hotel & comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We we're due to stay an additional night in the Hyannis, Mass. area, but due to the hotel we received online our decision was to cut our losses and rebook in the Boston, Logan area. We arrived early; the Front Desk agents were very professional. Another night was required for our departure back home, the hotel was fully booked and we were waitlisted. Upon our arrival back at the hotel late that afternoon we received notification the same room had cleared, but unfortunately not at the same rate as originally booked through the third party. The additional night cost $191.00. While driving here we noted the area, but were pleasantly pleased with the location of the hotel which is within walking distance to a Supermarket. Our room was fully equipped with 2 burner stove stop, sink, dishwasher, full size fridge, dishes, utensils. On the ground floors there is swimming pool, gym, lounge area with internet desks, breakfast area and elevators. Our shower was spacious for two,disappointed no tub. The television can be rotated by hand for your direct viewing. There is a night light for evening use so there's no need to turn on the main light in the bathroom. The hotel provides drop off and pick up shuttle service to the T. Station. Things that I didn't like, the hallways can be noisy and depending on guest occupying the room above you this can is disturbing. I also think they're trying to be too green - more towels please!!!!
We will be back, now that we know the location. Good for early departuring flights out of Boston.

Room Tip: All I can say the hallways can be slightly noisy (loud talking guest or children running the hall wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed in Residence inn Chelsea for 6 months. The Rooms in the Hotel are new and quite nice. The staff is quite professional. The Shuttle service is amazing. They have very friendly and helpful staff for running the shuttle. I was daily commuting to office with Frank in the morning and Victor in the evening. They both are very helpful, always on time and always friendly. They always made my stay as good as home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling down to Boston Logan Chelsea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I agree with all the other customers about this hotel: great rooms, great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.

The shuttle is free and about a 10 to 15 minute drive to the Airport T Station (subway). If the shuttle has to go to the airport to pick up or let off travelers, they do that first which can add another 10 minutes to the trip. On the way back, you need to call the hotel from the T Station and they send the shuttle to pick you up. The wait time varied but never more than 10 minutes. There are pay phones at the station. One time we did the airport tour on the way back to the hotel. My partner and I were fine with this because the rates were very good; but I think that our traveling companions would have liked to be able to get back to the hotel to rest a bit before supper and this wasn't that convenient for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Boston Logan Airport/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Logan Airport/Chelsea

Address: 200 Maple Street, Chelsea, MA 02150
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Logan Airport/Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've truly landed when you touch down at the stylish new Residence Inn Boston Logan Airport / Chelsea. This new hotel is located minutes from Logan International Airport, just a bridge away from Downtown Boston and the City of Cambridge. This historic inner suburban oasis greets you with warm, friendly hospitality. Every detail of our upscale all-suite hotel reflects the energy and vibrancy found in this diverse city. Featuring sophisticated decor, luxurious bedding and an abundance of amenities, our hotel is uniquely suited for business travel, weekend getaways or extended stays away from home. Every suite includes a full kitchen with separate living, working, and sleeping areas and complimentary wireless internet. Relax and unwind in our indoor heated saltwater pool or energize with an invigorating workout in our fully equipped fitness center. In the morning guests can enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, while evening offers our chic lobby lounge as a great setting to meet friends or co-workers for cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Logan Airport/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Boston Logan Airport/Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.