We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Special
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here Oct 29-31 using a deal purchased from Living Social. Based on some of the reviews on trip advisor I was a little concerned but, we were pleasantly surprised. Our deal was for a deluxe cottage suite with resort view. Our actual room was in the Lands End building which sits upon a hill overlooking the beach. The room was very nice and had a separate living area with gas fireplace. Also had a nice deck from which we would watch the fishing boats and seals in the morning.

The hotel offers a free car service to main st in Chatham which we took advantage of.

As others have mentioned, there was also a conference going on when we were here. They often overtook many of the amenities. We had a $100 resort credit and thought we would have breakfast at Stars the day we were checking out. Unfortunately the conference had the entire Stars restaurant reserved. As we were standing outside Stars, a staff member put a "private party" sign up. We later learned the Sacred Cod restaurant in the hotel was serving breakfast unfortunately no one made us aware of this since it's usually only open for lunch and dinner.

I would recommend this hotel if you can find a promotional rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    212
    100
    67
    28
See reviews for
327
578
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A lovely old hotel from a bygone era. The views are amazing. As it was October we were there to enjoy the bike trails, walks on the beach and visit with old friends. We enjoyed a nice breakfast in the main front restaurant and dinner in the tavern the second night, which was very good. Breakfast the second day at a local breakfast joint was better though as was dinner at the Impudent Oyster, which was amazing!! We spent 2 nights in the seamist cottage. The cottage room very nice and had plenty of room to move about and looked out onto the golf course.
We had a special rate so were happy with the room until we were woken up in the middle of the night by someone pacing back and forth above us. Found out the next day that there was a couple with a baby up there. The soundproofing in these cottages is horrible. We could also hear the couple next door to us talking and moving chairs on the wood floors. Lucky for us, both couples moved out and our second night was quiet. You have to wonder what they are thinking when they build these places. Other than that it was a fun fall stay. p.s. If you plan on biking this late in the season, bring your own bikes as the 2 bike shops we saw were closed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed Oct 23 & 24, 2013 for our 20 year anniversary. Knowing it was off season, we obviously did not expect the pool to be open, but it would have been nice to sit on the veranda with a drink in hand if there were a few heaters. We were not able to enjoy the amenities because one night had a rowdy crowd that had been in a meeting on-site and the next had the Chatham Chamber of Commerce take over the lounge and dining room. That was unfortunate. The other recommendation is to allow us to use the spa heated pool since the other pool was not open, whether we choose a spa treatment or not. Essentially we paid for the hotel amenities and did not have a chance to use any of them. I think in the off season months, the fee should not be assessed. Otherwise, the room was spacious, the turn down and cold water appreciated and the robes comfy!

Room Tip: Get a room in the main house to enjoy the majority of the amenities in the colder months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We recently attended a 50th birthday party at the Chatham Bars Inn in Chatham, Mass on Cape Cod. We stayed in a large cottage facing the ocean where we enjoyed spectacular sunrises and sunsets. The food at the Inn was exceptional with a large breakfast buffet and a special event in the well stocked wine cellar. The bar scene was lively as we watched the Red Sox win a World Series berth. We also enjoyed watching the participants in several weddings as they enjoyed this perfect location. We strongly recommend the Chatham Bars Inn for a memorable vacation or weekend getaway. Since the Inn is a member of Leading Hotels of the world, we recommend that you join Leading Hotels and book your stay through them. The LH gratuities of upgrades, free breakfast and free internet pay for the membership fee

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent 4 days here in the fall and find it hard to criticise anything! The staff were all extremely attentive and professional, the room was superbly appointed, with great views, and the food and drink were excellent. Can't praise it highly enough - if you can, stay there!

Room Tip: We had a room in the main building, which was great. Perhaps if you were with friends you would pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Chatham Bars for an anniversary weekend and for the most part was very pleased. Since it was off season we did get an upgrade which we were beyond delighted with. Our suite was gorgeous! We did have some cocktails at the inn one night and I am very picky about a certain cocktail I like and it was made to perfection! The only reason I am not giving Chatham Bars a 5 star review is that housekeeping is horrendous!! Our room was indeed spotless when we arrived, but because we did not get out of the room in time the next AM when housekeeping came around, the woman was pretty annoyed and came back later while we were out and left the bed made and clean towels. No toilet paper was left, the dirty coffee cups and wine glasses were left and NO coffee left for the following day. Husband called and they came with the coffee and no cups and STILL did not take the dirty dishes. The cups were delivered as we were walking out the door to leave for the day. Turn down service was bizarre too with people knocking at our door at around 5 asking if we wanted turn down service and then laughing and giggling like teenagers leaving chocolates in our hands??? This is a four star establishment?? I have had better housekeeping in 2 star hotels! I feel they need to "clean" up their act a bit with this as the housekeeping certainly does not fit the type of accommodations. All this being said we do look forward to our next visit and in the hopes that some of these issues are cleared up by then!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a perfect place & our first visit to Cape Cod. My husband wondered how I had decided on Chatham and this hotel was why. It (or the town) did not disappoint.
Rated as Leading Hotels of the World and I can see why!
All the amenities of a top notch beach resort & a plus that it is a short walk to town (which we did a few times each day!)
Season had just closed, so pool was not open, but I could imagine how nice it would be to come during a warmer time.
We stayed in Seaview Cottage and our room was superb. Large, well decorated, Nespresso coffee maker in room, robes. etc. Large comfy bed & bedding, fireplace! So comfortable.
Rates are pricey but look for off season deals.
Wedding was taking place on Sat & what a gorgeous setting for the luck birdie & gorrom & their guests.
Coffee in the morning off lobby & you can also sit in verandah & on ground looking at the glistening sea.
Bar was nice as well.
HUsband did not realize golf course next door was "public" and only $19.00 to play until we were leaving. Next time that's what he will choose.
Shops & restuarnts in Chatham cute & people so friendly,
A def place for a return visit!

Room Tip: We liked the cottages - seemed more private Tons of potions scattered through . Check before you bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#2 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.