We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Chatham!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall Savings
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Chatham!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I normally take the lead in planning family vacations, but in this case, my wife select a place for us to get away for a few days to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.
We couldn't have found a better hotel and town for our 1st visit to Cape Cod.

Hotel:
Room was very large and a great view of the water (watch the clammers and seals each morning from our balcony).
The Staff was excellent.
Rates were reasonable as it was the off season.
Really enjoyed a nature walk on a nearby beach that was led by a local environmentalist. It was a great way to learn about the cape and it's history.

Restaurants:
Hotel Restaurants we're good (especially for breakfast) but had 2 great dinners in town at the Squires and Impetuous Oyster(?).

We also took a trip to Nantauket and really enjoyed the experience.

I'd highly recommend the Chatham Bars Inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    198
    94
    64
    27
See reviews for
308
507
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Looe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If we had come from end of May onwards I feel sure we would have given this five stars, but but we didn't. Staff trying very hard and we were kindly given rooms in the main hotel because it is quiet, when we had only paid for one of the outlying cottages. However, it is a bit like holidaying in a ghost town. The scenery and natural beauty of the place is superb, and it is apparently heaving during the summer months, so maybe we got the long stick after all! Would definitely come again, and one of local staff members recommended end of September when weather still great and most tourists gone. All preparations for the summer are well underway in the hotel, and it would certainly be amazing to BBQ on the beach and play tennis and swim in their pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and try to get in the main hotel where the restaurants are. Corner suite very bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have stayed at the CBI about 5 times. I have stayed in both the main inn and in a cottage. The CBI is always one of my favorite places to stay on Cape Cod.

The rooms are always spotless and not one thing is out of place. I enjoy the Nespresso machines in each room as opposed to crappy hotel room coffee. The Bose wave radio's are also a nice touch and great when you return to your room in the evening and the turndown service has tranquil music playing.

The outdoor bar across the street on the water is a great spot in nice weather to have a drink. I like the bar in the main inn but I wish it had an ocean view. Great seafood and chowder. Even if we don't stay at the CBI we will always go for their breakfast at Stars. Great spread, lots of options, its worth the money with a great view.

The valet service is great, very friendly and professional. They also have a complementary car service which have used to avoid drinking and driving in beautiful Land Rovers.

I would recommend a visit here in both off season and high season.

Room Tip: I personally like the main inn, though my wife would suggest a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We enjoyed everything this resort had to offer, even in the off season. Staff attentive and efficient. We arrived at noon and were called by two to indicate our room in one of the cottages was ready. The room was beautifully appointed, clean and overlooked the golf course and had an ocean view as well. Turn down service with chocolates, slippers and robes was a nice touch. We were able to be accommodated in the Spa late in the day and had an exceptional experience. Staff were informative and helped my daughter and I choose from their extensive menu of Spa services. We ventured out to a familiar restaurant for dinner but knew we would cap off our evening at CBI for dessert - where staff recommended beautifully presented sweets with coffee. Our stay was too brief - just an overnight. I look forward to an extended get away next time and am confident it will be unmatched again.

Room Tip: We stayed in either the Seaview or Seabreeze cottage. Being on the second floor was great as it over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely room in the seabreeze cottage. Very comfortable and cosy bed. Dinner was delicious and our waiter was very knowledgeable about wine. Didn't try the spa...it was seemed a bit pricey. The Inn Was an easy walk to the main part of town with litte shops.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The service at this hotel is hard to beat. They cannot do enough for you including rides to and from a restaurant if you want to have cocktails. Every employee I came across was very pleasant and eager to please.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just what you, would imagine a beach-front property would be like in Cape cod.

The location is brilliant - right on the beach (and the beach is both large and the sand is great). The hotel has wonderful charm; is in a fantastic location - next to the golf course, 5 minutes walk to the main street.

The staff are incredibly friendly, attentive and kind. I stayed there with my wife and young family. My kids are true kids - they like running around, and even though the hotel is expensive and exclusive there was not the snooty-ness I have experienced in other locations.

Although we were there outside of season, the place was quiet and many local restaurants were closed. It didn't stop us from having a lovely time though.

We stayed in one of the cottages near the children's playground and next to the golf course - it was on the ground floor, but I think there was a generator of some sort below us which churned at odd hours of the day and made a little too much noise for my liking. Other than that, the room was beautifully appointed, 2 large, comfortable beds, a Nespresso machine; a very large bathroom (with a big, deep bath) and a huge TV with lots of channels and pay-tv movies. There was also a small fridge and L'Occitane toiletries.

The hotel has a couple of restaurants and a bar that were open. The pool is still closed and we didn't use the spa. I would imagine that in mid-summer this place is fantastic.

Prices on site for drinks / food are what you would expect for such a place.

We stayed for a couple of days and had a great time. I would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#4 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.