We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
CBI Winter Special
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
1 review
“fantastic get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed for 2 nights in the spa room. Absolutely beautiful! Comfy bed, fire place, flat screen tv, jacuzzi, sauna room & a steam shower. We ordered room service the first night, and the prime rib was amazing. Rooms are very clean and welcoming. Housekeeping came for stay over service and again at night to turn the beds down; everyone was extremely kind and helpful. We will absolutely be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    204
    96
    65
    28
See reviews for
314
536
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was our second winter weekend getaway at the Chatham Bars Inn. We loved it even more than our first visit. We got upgraded to the Beach Plum ocean front cottage. It had 2 rooms. A living room with a gas fireplace and flat screen tv and a beautiful bedroom with a large window seat as well as another flat screen tv. They brought us slippers and turned down our bed. The place was immaculate. Their breakfast is wonderful. The gift shop was nice. But my favorite part of this resort is when the bellmen open both glass entrance doors to welcome you in. We felt like the King and Queen has arrived. I even asked them to do it again, so I can video tape it. It's all of 8 seconds long, but none the less, I thought that was a very nice way to make you feel special.

Room Tip: They have so many good ones. You'll be happy anywhere. We loved the Beach Plum cottage. It has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I typically vacation on the Outer Cape to escape the crowds. However a winter getaway mid-Cape was perfect. The Inn is beautiful and the staff are wonderful. We enjoyed drinks at the bar each afternoon. We stayed across the road in a cottage suite, which was generously-sized and lovely. Evening turn-down service was a pleasant surprise. From our room we could watch the lobster boats in the water. I'm not giving them 5 stars because they should have done a better job soundproofing. The family above us wasn't loud, however we could hear everything from steps to conversations. Same with the neighbors next to us. It ruined our feeling of intimacy and solitude. We had Sunday brunch buffet at the Inn. Food was cold and average, which was disappointing for the price.

Other than than, loved it and loved mid-Cape!Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbriggs, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your taking the time providing us with valuable feedback. We are thrilled to hear that members of our team helped in making your winter getaway that much more enjoyable, we couldn’t ask for a more dedicated group, they all make the difference!

I am sorry however to learn that your cottage room was noisy at times, due to a family stayed above your unit. We continue to work on improving soundproofing throughout the property as we renovate our cottages, however in this instance it sounds like we need to review the unit/building which you stayed in. Perhaps if you have an opportunity to contact me directly, it would be a tremendous help to know exactly where you stayed so that I can focus on a permanent resolution with our onsite maintenance team.

I also plan to review your feedback on our morning breakfast buffet items with our dining room staff. It is never our intent to provide food items that are not kept hot on the buffet, in addition to our offerings being viewed as average. Your comments are helpful as we can review with our entire food and beverage team.

We thank you again for your honest four-star rating and providing in great detail where we can improve in the future. I look forward to hearing from you and on behalf of our entire staff; we hope to see you again soon.

With best regards,

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
mbriggs@chathambarsinn.com
508.945.6710
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Used an Eversave voucher--an incredible deal!

Ate at the Pub and all three of us had different entrees; pleasantly pleased with presentation, quality of food, and sizable portions.

The Inn was quaint and extremely relaxing, with pristine rooms and a view of the open ocean~

Room Tip: Ask for a corner deluxe suite--ocean view--AWESOME rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I spent one night in one of the Deluxe cottage suites. It was a short walk from the main inn but afforded us with complete privacy and luxury. It was a Friday night in February and although the staff was busy getting ready for a wedding, they went out of their way to accommodate us. I only wish that we could have stayed longer. I have to mention Lisa at the front desk. I can't imagine a better person representing your property. We will return!

Room Tip: Deluxe suites the way to go..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I just spent Friday and Saturday night (Valentines weekend) in one of the Deluxe cottage suites. This was our 2nd time staying in off season and again it was an awesome luxury and relaxing experience. We had couples massage when we arrived first and it was a great way to start off the weekend. the spa is very relaxing and our therapists were great and very professional and friendly. We then retreated to our cottage and spent some quiet time by the fireplace before going to dinner at Stars. We both loved our dinner of the diver scallops and shrimp. The next night we had dinner in the Sacred Cod Tavern which was also delicious. the Saturday special of prime rib with mashed potatos,asparagus and large popover was very good and enough for 2. The Inn is warm, cozy and inviting. it is a great place to go off season as much less expensive than the summer months. Just perfect for a couples getaway

Room Tip: If in a cottage and there is one above you it can be noisy. ask for a fireplace and get the preimie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I planned a 3 day anniversary get away while visiting our daughter in Boston. It was a pleasant 90 minute drive after which we arrived to exquisite ocean views, blooming hydrangeas, and the quaint cape cod style inn. The staff were amazingly considerate and after finding it was our special anniversary, (and noticing my recently broken wrist), our reservation was magically upgraded to the spa area, a no child zone. We were shown to a jaw dropping room complete with fireplace, sauna, steam shower large enough for 10, tub which fills from the ceiling, bar, chaise lounge, dressing area, flat screen t.v, and a king bed with luxury linens. We were able to tear ouselves away from the room to stroll the personable town of Chatham, with various dining and shopping venues. Be sure to set aside a day to explore Province (or P-town according to the locals) an hour's drive away, which is a shopping mecca of unique, artistic, boutiques and home to the most awesome whale watching tours, which was a highlight of our day. Throw in a lobsta roll and you will experience a day relegated to nirvana-like status! We spent another day exploring Nantucket, a short boat ride away, and whiled away the day walking the cobblestoned streets and exploring the cookie cutter architecture on the island's tour. There is a plethora of over priced, preppy stores, eager to lighten your wallet. Be sure to enjoy some home made ice cream while waiting for your return trip, and bask in the thought of that amazing room awaiting your arrival. The staff couldn't be more professional, hospitable, and genuinely concerned about your comfort level and enjoyment of the inn and surrounding area. We are saving up for a return trip, this time, just because....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#3 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.