We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pembroke, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Serenity Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I went away for two nights. Our busy lives don't give us a lot of time together and this weekend was incredible. Not only was the hotel amazing and luxurious but the staff was so outgoing and helpful. We had a spa room which had everything to make you feel you were in your own perfect world! The resort it's self was beautiful and the up keep was right on. The landscape was colorful and friendly. The near by beaches and pier were enjoyed. The easy call shuttle service made a trip to town quick and easy and they returned to get us as soon as we called. The eagerness of the staff to please made you feel like royalty. The resort has a "personal touch" that makes you feel they are there to make your stay just what you want it to be, amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    206
    99
    67
    28
See reviews for
322
561
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very nice hotel. Beautiful grounds with an upscale main hotel area. We booked a "seaside cottage" and were a bit disappointed when our "seaside cottage" was actually by the golf course without a view. A little bit deceiving based upon the pictures on the website. Our view was actualluy of the access road. Chatham is a cozy little town, our favorite on the Cape. I would limit your stay here to a few days, a little too stuffy but all in all very nice.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the sea, make sure your room has one. As indicated above, not all "seavie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have stayed at CBI many times, usually as participants in professional meetings there. We have never been disappointed -- although once we had to request a room change when our cottage room afforded no privacy because of an adjacent parking lot. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The setting of the resort is spectacular, and the area is one of most beautiful on the Cape. Our food choices here were almost always dictated by the meeting organizers, but banquet and clam bake menus were delicious, and the waitstaff very professional and courteous. There is only a 9 hole "public" golf course on the premises, but that also is quaint and picturesque. We love the area and this resort, and will come again.

Room Tip: The seabreeze rooms, while not in the main inn, are very comfortable -- large and private -- and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Never having been to Cape Cod, and living in a land locked state, coming to enjoy the beaches and water and sit outside our cottage to soak in the ocean air was a great anticipation. Chatham Bars was a huge splurge for us, but we felt it would be worth it. We were there the first part of October and unfortunately the 2 days we stayed, we had dense fog and some rain. It was warm and humid though. We were not able to use the pool, tennis courts, beach or sit outside an any of their lounges or outside our cottage. I realize none of this was the fault of the facility, but certainly set us up for huge disappointment to start with. Our cottage foliage and sitting area was covered with cigarette butts (even though it says it is a non-smoking facility). Our air conditioning did not work and we called about it. A repair man came out and said it needed a part he could not get until the next morning, so he brought a window a/c unit and duct taped it in to our window. It roared all night long. We were unable to get on to the internet, called the front desk and they said it was down for a few hours. The next morning when we returned from breakfast, which was very good in their main dining room, we were surprised to see our front door standing open, and the glass door unlocked. Going inside we saw some equipment maids would use, but no maid around. We waited 10 minutes until she finally showed back up in our room and asked her to NEVER leave our belongings of much computer and camera equipment unattended. We left for a day of foggy travels and when we came back, we still had the old a/c unit and duct tape patchwork and the room a/c still did not work. I walked to the front desk and asked about it, they said they knew nothing about this but would get right on it. Nothing ever happened. No a/c, no follow up call.

To add to this, our phone had a blinking light for a message, we were unable to retrieve it. I called the front desk and she too was unable to retrieve it, told us that the next day the phones would be out all day for an upgrade and perhaps it had something to do with that. The blinking never stopped, and because it was right by my head at night I had to put a towel over it so I wouldn't see the blinking. There was also mold in the white grout of the bath area.

This was not the experience we expected from such a highly rated and expensive ( $700/night) resort. It has a wonderful location and cute town of Chatham that we could not enjoy due to weather. The only time we have paid this much for a room was an overwater bungalow in Bora Bora - now THAT was worth it. This place, I felt totally cheated. We continued up through Boston and in to Maine, staying at places $150- $200 with no issues and much better service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbriggs, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of our performance during your October visit at Chatham Bars Inn. I am disappointed to learn of multiple mistakes made on our end in terms of communication and room functionality.

Unfortunately, the resort did experience a major failure with one of the main servers that subsequently interrupted our telephone system in addition to hindering wireless internet property wide, a matter that took days for our IT team to resolve. To make matters worse, the cottage where I believe you stayed in, after reading your review, was one of 2 buildings where we had and unrelated air conditioning failure.

Once a few nuisance items such as this occur, compounded by our lack of communication regarding the status of your room temperature, I can understand your frustration completely and apologize for the manner of how each was handled.

Where accidents such as mechanical failures occur, it is important to me that we communicate and handle the situation with guests affected, which in this case we fell short. I had personally called and left informative letters in the 24 rooms affected, however from the sounds of it, we missed yours completely. With regards to guestroom safety, I have discussed your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping so that he can retrain his team on how to properly secure occupied guestrooms, something they have done incredibly well with over my years here, but nonetheless need a refresher on.

I would very much enjoy the opportunity to discuss this matter further with you in effort to find proper resolve for our lack luster performance. I know that we can do much better than what your had experienced while visiting with us. It is my hope to restore your faith in our hospitality and to invite you back for a flawless visit next time around from start to finish.

My direct line is 508.945.6710. Thank you again for your candid feedback.

Truly,

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited Chatham Bars Inn and Spa in early October, and found the resort to be an amazing place. The setting is beautiful, with gorgeous grounds, large outdoor pool area, beach bar and restaurant close to their own private beach, all combined with spectacular views.

Our accommodations included both a Deluxe Cottage Suite and a Spa Suite. The Cottage Suite was very spacious and tastefully decorated.It included both a large bedroom and a separate living area with a fireplace. The Spa Suite was everything you could hope for and more. It included a large jacuzzi, steam shower, sauna and a fireplace. The beds in both were some of the most comfortable we have ever slept on.

The meals we enjoyed were excellent, from fine dining in the Stars restaurant to casual dining at the Beach House Grill. The servers were very knowledgeable with regards to menu choices, and were very attentive to our needs, making each meal a pleasurable dining experience.

From the moment we checked in until the time we left, the service throughout the resort was impeccable. The management and staff did everything they could to make our stay a memorable one.

We highly recommend staying at Chatham Bars Inn, and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After living on Cape Cod for 15 years, I recently returned for a vacation. Having lived and worked here, I knew the area well. This visit, however, was far more pleasant than I could have imagined. Chatham is a place on the Cape that time has forgotten, its history is ever present and Chatham Bars Inn is the perfect place to discover(or rediscover in my case)this peaceful and tranquil locale. The resort and the amentities that it offers are second to none. At the same time, you can make your stay as simple as a towel on the beach. The staff was incredilbly attentive to any and every detail of our stay. The Inn and its grounds are Impecably kept, and the views and surrounding area are beautiful beyond words. We eagerly look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Cant go wrong with any room with ocean views or the spa suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived on Columbus weekend for 3 nights of a 7 day holiday from Scotland expecting a experience to remember from a well respected and highly rated institution. On arrival approximately 4.00pm we could not reserve any tables for dinner, in fact staff appear off hand and offered little alternatives. Finally decided to eat on terrace in the late evening 7.00pm, note pizza only. Service was extremely slow and poor,so left a limited tip. To this we were told by the server that we had not left enough 18% minimum they were only paid $2/hr. Surely a tip is only given on receipt of good service and not be expected.

After this first night we decided to eat in Chatham each evening, the Impudent Oyster very good and service friendly.

This resort does not compare in anyway with top hotels in the old, as other reviewers have suggested. Could suggest a dozen hotels in Scotland alone offering far more and much higher levels of friendly service. The service is less than efficient and extremely slow with little of the normal New England greeting.

The general impression on the hotel is one of great location, resonable rooms, overpriced and should be far better.

After these 3 days moved to Boston, Back Bay Hotel and found service in the hotel and level of friendly people in the city that which we have always found in the US.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbriggs, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor. I would like to express how sincerely sorry I am about our failure to meet your expectations with regard to your dining reservation and for our service misstep on the Veranda. I would be happy to review the dining bill with you seeing that our service on that particular evening was less than satisfactory. My direct office line is 508.945.6710 if you wish to contact me at some point in the near future.

We look forward to the prospect of welcoming you back for a stay that will restore your confidence in all aspects of our hospitality, should you find yourselves vacationing again on Cape Cod. I know that we are capable of performing much better than what your lasting impressions of our efforts were, based on the above review.

Truly,
Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#2 Family Hotel in Chatham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.