We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatham Wayside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Chatham Wayside Inn to your Saves list
The Chatham Wayside Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   512 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sheer pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It is impossible to find a fault in our stay here. The first impression of the outside of the Inn on arrival, the pleasant receptionist, and the beautiful room with its veranda were all first class. We stayed two nights and ate in the restaurant both nights. The food could not have been better, although on the second night we were put into the narrow, booth section rather than the open restaurant - a small point but..

Room Tip: I can't imagine here is a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    43
    26
    10
    12
See reviews for
31
87
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I must say, I LOVE this Inn. I have stayed here many times over the years, and have never written a review but now was the time!

Love the beautifully decorated traditional rooms done in blue Toile (my fave) and I love the restaurant right in the Inn - delish and divine food.

If I go to the Cape my two choices are Wayside Inn OR Bradford Inn, both beautiful and just what is so perfect about the Cape.

Last visit we stayed at Bradford, but dined out alot at the restaurant at this Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have been going to the Wayside Inn for over 10 years now. The location, in my opinion, could not be beat. When I finally get to Chatham after a long car ride, I just like to be able to park and get situated. It is also nice to be able to walk to all of my necessities - restaurants, stores, the beach, etc. The pool is very nice to have right out the door. I also like getting a room that overlooks the park and the Friday night band concerts. The restaurant (The Wild Goose) is very good and the staff members are always pleasant. I have been to other local hotels and have even rented homes in the area, but since I always seem to end up in town, staying there is easy and relaxing.

Room Tip: For summer stays get a room overlooking park for band concerts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here in mid-Sept for a wedding. Bare in mind this was OFF SEASON for cape cod so I'm not sure what its like in-season.

Overall, the inn is very nice and clean. While historic looking, they have done a good job updating the amenities and rooms to modern standards (AC/Flat Screens/WiFi, etc..). The rooms were also well appointed. We stayed in in one of the original rooms overlooking Main St. in the front of the hotel. The rooms in the back that overlook the golf course and ocean looked amazing but I didn't get inside any of them.

Our room was great - huge king sized bed and plenty of space. The bathroom was a little cramped but that should be expected in a 100-year old inn.

Upsides: very convenient to walk around town. Easy walk/bike to beach. Nice staff. Nice room.
Downsides: a bit expensive, loud (last call at Squire is 1am and its right across the street and in the AM you can hear the early bustling on Main St.

Overall - would stay there again but the room would likely be loud in-season. Stay in the back if you are going during that time.

Room Tip: Check out the Chatham fish pier for fresh fish daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is quaint and elegant at the same time. My husband and I choose to stay here off season for a couple of reasons. The first being that it is a lot more affordable and the second being both the town and the Inn are a lot less crowded. Considering the fact that we are now middle-aged we find that when we get away for a week or week end we really like to relax and just enjoy walking and going out to dinner and seeing the sights. Both the Inn and Chatham are the perfect place to do both. The restaurant on the property has both an excellent bar and restaurant and we have sampled both. There are also several other casual, and not so casual bars and restaurants along Main Street within walking distance. No matter what time of year you choose to visit we highly recommend Chatham Wayside Inn as the perfect place to stay for a relaxing getaway. Don't forget to check out their unique and eclectic gift shop which is accessible off the lobby or via an outside street entrance!

Room Tip: We requested a room in the back behind the hotel so we were off the street side and way from the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location ! located on main street Chatham .Walk to shops , beaches, and restaurants! Super clean rooms! Great restaurant Wild Goose in house , with outdoor seating that makes it fun looking out on the main street! Friendly staff ! Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have been going to the Wayside for 5+ years now, and as always we had a fantastic trip. Every member of the staff is helpful and always there with a smile or friendly hello. The rooms have been renovated recently and look incredible. I would suggest you take the negative reviews with a grain of salt because in the many years we have been guests of the Inn we have NEVER experienced anything but superior customer service and have always considered the Wayside our second home!

Room Tip: The rooms with the porches are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chatham Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatham Wayside Inn

Address: 512 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chatham Wayside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the quaint seaside village of Chatham, Cape Cod, the Chatham Wayside Inn offers stylish accommodations, comfortable dining and outstanding service creating the perfect Cape Cod experience year-round. Chatham's strolling Main Street, an exclusive mile of boutique shops, art galleries, and restaurants, is just steps from your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Chatham Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatham Wayside Hotel Chatham
Chatham Wayside Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatham Wayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.