We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quick trip to cape cod” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Old Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Old Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   22 Old Harbor Road, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Chatham B&B and Inns
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a quick trip to cape cod”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

With an opportunity for an overnight getaway, my wife and I made our way to Chatham and the Old Harbor Inn. A warm inviting greeting made us feel like old friends and soon we were escorted to a bright, immaculate room with a king bed and comfortable sitting area. The great location is only a short walk from historic Chatham and the quaint shops and restaurants. We were served a delicious breakfast and shared conversation with other guests, what a great start to the day. Too short a visit, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
332
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This inn is charming, cozy and immaculate. My husband and I spent three nights at the inn and it was a wonderful experience. The location is incredible, it's about a 1 minute walk to downtown Chatham. In fact, we walked to a different restaurant every night for dinner. The breakfast is wonderful -- always fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and some yummy baked goods (pumpkin raisin muffins with cream cheese icing, raspberry crumb cake, blueberry cake) and then a hot entree such as blueberry pancakes, quiche, belgian waffles. There's always plenty of food and coffee, tea, hot cocoa and snacks all day long. It was nice to come back to the inn and have a nice cup of hot coffee to bring to my room. Our room had a beautiful carved king sleigh bed and the beds are really comfortable. There is every amenity you need in your room right down to makeup remover. If there's anything you need such as a toothbrush, they have that too. Judy was so helpful with activities on the Cape and she gave us directions and maps to help us and she was fun to talk to on a daily basis. I got very comfortable talking with her every day. Tanya is a sweet and wonderful girl who does the baking in the afternoons and the smell (heavenly) travels through the inn. Tanya gave us great recommendations for dinner (the Delmar) and she was very interesting to talk to. I became very fond of her and our chats. I can't say enough about these people or the inn. If you're planning a trip to the Cape, you have to make beatiful downtown Chatham and the Old Harbor Inn part of your experience.

Carla T.

Room Tip: North Beach has a beautiful King bed and a lot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We spent 3 nights here in October 2011 and found it the perfect base for our stay in beautiful Chatham. The room was beautiful and superbly equipped and maintained and breakfast was a delight, with sensible portions of lovely food served in convivial company. A further nice touch is the provision of free snacks and soft drinks in the room, plus tea , coffee and cake for all during the day. The lounge has a computer , which proved useful for airline check-in. Old Harbor Inn is perfectly located for all Chatham's many delights, including the Impudent Oyster restaurant, which is a must and where booking is essential, and as a base for touring Cape Cod. Ray and Judy and their team run a very tight ship and are very helpful in providing details of local attractions and events and routes to follow etc

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our first "without kids" trip in 20 years. It was the perfect choice. From the phone call to ask questions and make a reservation, to check-out, everyone was so warm and helpful. Our room was spotless when we checked, and just as spotless when we returned each day. Ray and Judy made us feel right at home in their home. Ray has an amazing knowledge of the area and had wonderful suggestions - especially for a rainy day! Both Ray and Judy went out of their way to provide whatever we needed and made us feel that no request was unusual. And breakfast was a delicious start to each day. We are already trying to decide on dates to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This inn was selected based on its location, which is within walking distance of many facilites in Chatham. It proved to be one of the nicest inns we have ever stayed in! Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, who went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed to make a perfect stay. Coffee & freshly-baked cakes available all day; lovely breakfasts with a special dish erach day; free parking, & free wi-fi. Highly recommended for couples, (My wife loved the chipmunks, squirrels & birds in the garden too!).

Room Tip: All rooms are en-suite except one which has a private bathroom across the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The owners, Ray and Judy Braz, are terrific. They have a great staff. The Inn is immaculate, We have stayed there three times over the years. Our visits are like visiting family.

Room Tip: You can view many of the rooms on the Inn's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent the last three nights of our honeymoon here in the middle of October 2011. On arrival we thought things were going to be great because of the lovely, knowledgeable, friendly greeting from Tanya who was in the middle of preparing the next days cookies. She gave us a really helpful map and chatted about what to do in the area - excellent! We were then shown our room which was pretty disappointing. This Inn has great reviews on this site, and their website mentions English county charm, our room had pretty dodgy wallpaper, and the most tasteless velour bed spread (with matching window valences) I have ever seen, it was also very small. The bathroom shared the same dodgy wallpaper, and was very dated. More eighties council house than country charm. The furniture was nice but totally out of place.

However, we kind of laughed, remembered the great places we had already stayed, and thought that everything would be fine, because of the great welcome we'd had from Tanya, they had given a bottle of Californian Champagne and there were lovely chocolates in our room.

I overheard some other guests checking in and was surprised to hear that their rooms had fridges, we would have expected this in all the rooms for the price we were paying.

We couldn't believe it when we came back to the Inn at 20:46 on our first night to find that we were not able to have a hot drink as it was cleared away at 20:30! Judy was in the kitchen right beside the coffee area and just said that it was all gone. This rude introduction to our host was a real shock and extremely unexpected.

Breakfast was disappointing throughout, especially when compared to the delicious breakfasts that we had had at every other place we stayed. The hot option was poor every day (I didn't eat any of these, my husband had a couple). Breakfast pizza - beaten eggs with chopped bacon, sausage and cheese through, egg casserole - beaten egg with 4 cheeses, baked croissant - croissant soaked in egg overnight with a jam filling then baked. The baked goodies were great though, and there was plenty of toast, muffins, fresh fruit and cereal, the kind of thing that you can have at home every day.

There are some really good touches here, they have a fridge stocked with cold drinks and water together with a selection of snacks which is available all day. There are DVDs available to all guests. There is a laptop available for guests and they are happy for you to print your boarding passes. Ray is very knowledgeable about the area and happy to offer advice on where to go and what to do.

The Eastham room is presumably the worst room that they have here? It was really warm during our stay and there was no airconditioning unit in place so we had to leave our windows open at night. It is right beside the drive down to the carpark and we were woken every day by cars coming and going early.

When we left Judy was very nice, it was almost as if she didn't remember us, why was she not like this at the start? I suspect that time spent running a guest house has taken its toll and that perhaps she no longer has the same drive to provide the level of service I suspect she once did, or perhaps it was because we were a lot younger than most of the other guests who were there?

Room Tip: Don't book the Eastham
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbor Inn

Address: 22 Old Harbor Road, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Harbor Inn is ideally located just steps from the center of the historic seaside village of Chatham. Designer appointed rooms with king and queen beds are just the start of a luxurious experience.The most extensive renovations ever were completed in the spring of 2014, making the inn a truly outstanding property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Old Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.