We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy historic inn in a very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At 359 Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn At 359 Main
Save
You added Inn At 359 Main to your Saves list
359 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633 (Formerly Cranberry Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Chatham B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A cozy historic inn in a very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Cranberry Inn to attend a friend's wedding in Chatham. We weren't so crazy about Chatham, but quite enjoyed the Cranberry Inn. It's convenient to walk down to the commercial area and to the beach and lighthouse. We had room #3, which may be the largest, featuring a king-size bed, a small private balcony and sink with refrigerator. The en suite bathroom was perfectly fine with a tub/shower combo and adequate hot water.

The 1830 building is a former home for retired sailors and features a large front porch across the tree-shaded front, where it was a pleasure to sit and chat, especially during rainy weather. There are also two other public rooms: the lobby with period couches and easy chairs and a separate room with bar, which no one seemed to use. And yes, there is a cranberry bog with nature trail behind the building and parking lot.

Breakfast is served in a sunny room in the back with an ample buffet of muffins, fruit, yogurt and juices, and a different cooked selection each day is also served. You sign up for a breakfast time slot when you check in. Service is good, despite the charmless German overseer.

Our only complaints were an odd room layout. We didn't stay there to watch TV -- which is a good thing, since the TV was a small tube-style on a dresser that could not really be viewed from either the bed or the sitting area. And when we inadvertently dropped crumbs next to the sink in the room, we were infested with ants the next morning. When we asked at the desk if they had anything to combat the ants, "Brunhilda" simply said "No." And while we appreciated the otherwise comfortable large bed, it seemed to slant from the center to either side, so you constantly felt that you might fall out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor at the front of the building face onto the porch, so there may be privacy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    32
    14
    11
    9
See reviews for
27
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodridge, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just arrived and was given room #6. I paid $202.00 for a very TINY room with no lighting in the closet to be able to see my clothes in my suitcase, the TV is a 15 inch TV( I hope you have good vision or don't even
bother), when the blinds are closed, there's wide gaps so anyone can see you. Overall, horrible!!!!!!!! We tried to get moved but was told that we can't because people select their room in advance. No wonder no one selected this one had they known about it on advance. When I complained to Nora who works at the front desk, she tried to make it sound that when I called to verify my reservation, I was calling to confirm this room. Will NEVER stay here again and will tell everyone I know. I also teach customer service at a large Chicago metropolitan hospital and will include this experience in my lecture.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in room 12, which was really nice and we had our own little private balcony. Breakfast was good and the afternoon snacks were delish! It was the perfect location, right on Main Street. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited the cranberry inn to celebrate a friends wedding on the cape. Location is great- really close walking distance to town. We took a standard room which really was just ok. It was clean but seemed worn out- the furnishings and bathroom could use a sprucing up. Small details like the pictures on the wall were askew the entire time- when I tried to straighten them they would tilt again. Our room did not have an ironing board and when we requested one- it was a tabletop variety that was missing a leg. So we had to iron our clothes while balancing the board on three legs....lol. We didn't bother complaining about it.
Friends of ours stayed in a suite and that seemed to be worth the upgrade- it was much nicer with a private deck, wet bar, and fireplace. We would have grabbed one but they were already booked.
Breakfast was really good- the baked items were great and the hot breakfast option too. We would stay here again but be a little pickier about the room we choose next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

First stay here last week. Room was excellent, very clean, staff more than pleasant and helpful, breakfast was excellent (especially compared to what the English Garden in Dennis served us). I would recommend this establishment, more so off season when the rates come down a bit (at 275$, a room is a little overpriced compared to what that amount will buy you in Rockport or Marblehead, but that is what the Cape is coming to).

Room Tip: Old building. VERY old historic building, which means stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent the July 4th weekend here which was hectic but a nice get away. The Cranberry Inn is in the perfect location - walking distance into the town and restaurants as well as the beach and even to the fish pier if you wish. Chatham is also a great place to base yourself on the Cape and its very pretty and historical.

It's great the Inn has onsite parking and offer a full cooked breakfast everyday although we ended up being forced into an unpreferable time slot because they were so busy. The place is run like clockwork, clean and tidy but a little tired. Our room (3) was absolutely huge and although nice I am not sure it was worth the huge cost - yes there was a balcony but it overlooked the car park, the bathroom was quite old, the tv miles from the bed where you would watch it from and 'wet bar' a pretty simple sink and mini bar fridge. It's the most expensive place we've ever booked so I had hoped for something a little nicer, or at least some nice surprises or touches

Room Tip: the more expensive room was really paying for the size and nothing else- take an average one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's quaint and inviting. We enjoyed our stay. French toast at breakfast was good, though the fruit looked like it came out of a can. The wifi was extremely spotty. If you need to catch up on some business emails like I did, it could be frustrating. Its very well situated for visiting the shops on Main Street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn At 359 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At 359 Main

Address: 359 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633 (Formerly Cranberry Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated and completely refurnished in 2014, the Inn at 359 Main is ideally located at the eastern edge of Chatham's charming Main Street shopping village - a short walk to shops, restaurants, galleries and spectacular Lighthouse Beach! Our 18 guest rooms have been uniquely reimagined with twin, queen or king bed. Rates include full breakfast served each morning and afternoon tea. Our 18 air-conditioned guest rooms offer fine bed linens, pillows and duvets by Matouk and Comphy; towels by Frette; spa bath products from Malin+Goetz; ultra-thin flatscreen television with cable; Wifi service; alarm clock with 2-outlet charging station; blow dryer; makeup mirror; and bottled water. Deluxe Rooms have working fireplace; Premier Rooms also have balcony & wetbar w/fridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cranberry Hotel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At 359 Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.