We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House Inn
Save
You added Carriage House Inn to your Saves list
407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Chatham B&B and Inns
Ansonia, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

we had stayed at the carriage house in september while we were in town for a friend's wedding so decided to return again for new year's eve.
the inn keepers are outstanding. very friendly and fun people. they even had a wonderful new year's day mega-buffet including party crackers. it was so much fun none of us wanted to leave.
we will definately return again and again.
thanks again,
mike and diane (two american kids)

Room Tip: all rooms are very comfortable and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    28
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
429
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Chatham in the winter and Mother Nature cooperated! Approximately 9" of snow fell as we arrived, turning the landscape to winter white. We stayed in Room #4, with a floor-to-ceiling window across from the bed from where we watched the storm rage. The fireplace spread heat throughout the room, the bed was very comfortable and the amenities were luxurious. Jim and Val (Jim always come second to Val so I wanted to help him out a little here!) were terrific, as was their lovely daughter and amazing young grandson. Warm, welcoming, full of local knowledge, they made our stay very enjoyable. They were also wonderfully accommodating when our schedules shifted and helped us in every way possible, including the supply of fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies! Val's breakfasts were fantastic, very flavorful and original in recipe. If you are seeking a romantic getaway in a wonderful ocean-side town with great people, fun shops and good food, this is your B&B!

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality and features. Use their website to see the available rooms so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've stayed in Chatham quite often, and the town is extremely nice. This was my first stay at the Carriage House Inn and I was extremely impressed. Comfortable, clean rooms, added to the hospitality provided by the 2 current Innkeepers. Outstanding breakfast included with the room rate. Close proximity to Chatham Center as well. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived we could sense Jim & Val's warm hospitality and pride in their inn and community. Jim ran through local attractions, sites & restaurants even including spots we might see seals!
The room itself was warm & inviting and the fireplace was the icing on the cake. The inn itself was just as comfortable. Jim & Val go the extra mile with small details like an 'open' fridge with free soda & water, a computer for guests, and even fresh cookies in the afternoon! Breakfast also exceeded our expectations with a variety of juices, tea & coffee, fresh fruit and a PHENOMENAL main course!
We plan on returning and wouldn't hesitate recommending The Carriage House to friends & family!
THANKS JIM & VAL, HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN SOON!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for making your visit so enjoyable for us. It was our pleasure having you stay with us. Many thanks for your very kind review. Hope you get some more skiing in this winter. The welcome mat will always be out for the two of you. Val and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our group of five couples stayed at the Carriage House Inn over the Martin Luther King weekend. We've been to B&B's all over New England and have never experienced the degree of hospitality we received from Jim and Val at the Carriage House Inn. We were greeted by Jim who provided us with all the particulars of the Inn including the just baked cookies, yum, as well as restaurant options in the area. Each couples guest room was beautifully appointed, very relaxing and enjoyable. We can't say enough about Val's delicious breakfasts; her pumpkin napoleon and croissant bread pudding were amazing!! While there we celebrated two birthdays and watched our Patriot's get beat :( in the Inn's comfortable living room. Again, Jim and Val's hospitality went above and beyond. Val made our group a delicious appetizer and Jim brought out two bottles of wine for us to celebrate with!!! We all had such an enjoyable stay and cant' say enough about the warm and friendly atmosphere that Jim and Val provide. Needless to say, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Sometimes the life of an inkeeper can be amazing. Val and I had so much fun hosting your group. We can't wait for your next visit. If we were not going to be so busy in April, we would love to tag along on your trip south. What a great, fun group. Thank you. Val and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Have been meaning to write this review for two years, and just now getting around to it (sad, but true). But I hope the fact that I am making the effort two years later demonstrates my enthusiasm for the Carriage House Inn! Stayed with Val and Jim for a romantic weekend back in January 2011. We were lodged in the actual carriage house and it sure was cozy - in-room fireplace, comfy bed, and a private bathroom. The room was such a treat, and so was the breakfast prepared by the very friendly innkeepers. While I can't remember the exact meal, it was sensational and I do hope to visit again someday. Thanks for your hard work, Val and Jim!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
What a great way to start off Sunday morning by reading your kind review on Trip Advisor. We think it is a tremendous testimony to the Carriage House that you have been remembering and thinking of us for the past two years.

Speaking of romantic weekends, Valentine's Day is coming and we still have availability. Ready for a return visit? You're less than 2 hours away and we would love to see you agtain. Thanks so much for remembering us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Falmouth, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Inn to enjoy Chatham's First Night for New Year's Eve. From the time we arrived, JIm was very helpful in acclimating us to the town for the festivities. The room was lovely with a warm and welcoming fireplace as was the inn itself. The breakfast on day one was excellent with very creative dishes. But on day two, New Year's Day of 2013, it went beyond expectations. We had our our choice of bloody Mary's or mimosas and a fabulous buffet of spiral ham, potatoes, asparagus, egg casserole, french toast casserole and dessert. Each table was set with those holiday "crackers" and there were lots of laughs as we pulled them apart. When the description says, "includes breakfast" that's not exactly what you expect. Jim and Val are great fun and so helpful. I would recommend this place highly and stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: #6 room was lovely - nicely appointed, a couple of reading chairs, sliders to a private area and nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for the positve feedback. I cannot tell you how much your response means to us. We have one simple mission at the Carriage House, and that is to make each guest's stay not only pleasant but memorable.

We had a great group assembled for this year's First Night. Thanks for being a part of it. Don't forget - this summer, fishing on board the Whaler. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic year-round bed & breakfast near Chatham Light Beach and downtown Chatham, the Carriage House Inn offers spacious grounds, beautifully appointed guestrooms and gracious hospitality. All rooms have queen size beds, private bathrooms, TV's with DVD players, air conditioning and CD alarm clocks; some feature fireplaces, private entrances, and outdoor sitting areas. A full, gourmet breakfast is served each morning under the crystal chandelier in the dining room or adjacent sunroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.