We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Seafarer Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chatham Seafarer Inn to your Saves list
Chatham Seafarer Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   2079 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Free in June
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Hadley, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

last year was our 1st trip to the Cape (Provincetown) and we wanted to return at some point to explore further. I saw a Living Social deal for the Chatham Seafarer Inn and decided to take advantage of the discount. We booked the week before Memorial Day (checked in Sunday 5/17 checked out Friday) Surprising to us, we seemed to have the place to ourselves! We stayed in what was called 'The Boxwood Room'. Two Queen beds, (very comfortable and linens were good quality) small efficiency kitchen, sliding glass doors to the patio facing the garden/pool area. Lovely cherry trees that were in bloom while we were there. They were opening up the pool the day we left, but I appreciated that the pool was private and not seen from the road. The room appeared to have been recently upgraded, and was clean and spacious. The Inn itself is right on Route 28, minutes from Route 137. Our room's entrance was on Ridgevale Rd and 1/2 mile from Ridgevale Beach and easy walk (which I did daily). There is a section of the Cape Cod Bike Trail that runs from Chatham to Dennis and we were able to easily access the Bike Trail which was about a block away. The Inn has a bike rack in the rear of the garden area where we kept the bikes while we were there (they asked that you do not bring the bikes in to the rooms). I was a little nervous about leaving them there while we were gone....but the Chief of Police lives directly across the street so once I saw his Police Car in his driveway I relaxed quite a bit. Chatham Center was about a 5 minute drive. The location was perfect for us since we wanted to explore neighboring towns by car, but wanted close access to beaches and the bike trail.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrChathamSeafarer, Guest Relations Manager at Chatham Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello mearth1961,

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent visit to the Chatham Seafarer Inn.

It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of everything our property and location has to offer, and we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit with us!

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Chatham.

Layn Walker
Guest Relations, Chatham Seafarer Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my mom and i stayed at the seafarer recently for a long weekend. the room was clean and cute, and located just outside of downtown chatham. close walk to the beach and a bike path. the grounds are nicely kept - pretty trees! i was happy with the room, it wasn't too loud with folks staying next door to us, and they have done some updating to what seems to be an older motel. the bathroom wasn't super updated/new but it served the purpose just fine. for the price, location, and cleanliness i would stay here again for a visit to charming chatham

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrChathamSeafarer, Guest Relations Manager at Chatham Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello May14207,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and kind words. We are delighted to hear that you and your mother enjoyed your stay with us. We are particularly proud to hear that you've noticed the updates the new owners have put in place while maintaining the natural beauty and Cape Cod charm of our grounds.

By the way, the beautiful trees you mention are cherry trees, and you visited us at the perfect time to see the cherry blossoms in bloom!

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Chatham.

Layn Walker
Guest Relations, Chatham Seafarer Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltsatch
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Stayed at the Chatham Seafarer for two nights in Sept. 2014 to attend a wedding in the area. The motel is what it is, a nicer version of a Cape cod motel. Located right on the main drag into Chatham and within 1/2 mile of a great beach, what more could you want. The efficiency type room was old but well maintained. Customer service was great, a couple that came with us and stayed in a room next door had to check in late on Friday night, we were handed the keys to their room and they were allowed to pay the next morning as the office closed before their arrival. Great place to stay for a more reasonable rate in Chatham.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrChathamSeafarer, Guest Relations Manager at Chatham Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Itsatch,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your stay at the Chatham Seafarer Inn. We are happy to hear that our convenient location helped make your trip for the wedding more enjoyable. We pride ourselves on our customer service, and appreciate that you noticed! I have shared your comments with our staff.

Our efficiency units have been renovated and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised the next time you stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Chatham!

Layn Walker
Guest Relations, Chatham Seafarer Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay in Cape Cod and found a nice looking place with a great special two day rate on TripAdvisor. We booked two rooms as we were traveling with my sister and brother-in-law. The Seafarer has done a good job of making the rooms comfortable, with coffee makers, refrigerators, and even wine glasses and a corkscrew. The manager was very welcoming and helpful. We will definitely consider the Seafarer again.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrChathamSeafarer, Guest Relations Manager at Chatham Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello CalifKidRetired,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the Chatham Seafarer Inn. We're pleased to know that you were comfortable during your stay with us and had everything you needed. Our goal is to make your stay as relaxing and easy as possible, and we're happy to hear that we were able to do that for your and your family members.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Chatham!

Layn Walker
Guest Relations, Chatham Seafarer Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We stayed at the Chatham Seafarer a few days ago, October 5 & 6. It is off season on the Cape now, getting pretty quiet, but we had a last minute reason to visit. The Seafarer is an older hotel that has been updated, is very clean, and a great value. We had no special needs, but manager Leonard made us feel like we were their most important guests. If you are looking for a motel in the Chatham/ Harwich area that cares about guests, try the Chatham Seafarer.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrChathamSeafarer, Guest Relations Manager at Chatham Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello J B,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your visit to the Chatham Seafarer Inn and, in particular, your interactions with Leonard. Yes, we have updated and modernized guest rooms, but customer service remains our first priority. We're so pleased to hear that you experienced it first hand during your stay with us! I have shared your kind words with Leonard.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Chatham.

Layn Walker
Guest Relations, Chatham Seafarer Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I stayed here a few years ago and I was blown away by the improvements that have recently been made to this motel. Everything appears to be brighter, newer and more comfortable that it ever was before. Great job new owners. Looking forward to coming back next season!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrChathamSeafarer, Guest Relations Manager at Chatham Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello thetjd,

Thank you so much for the 5 star review and for sharing your kind words about your return visit to the Chatham Seafarer Inn. We're so pleased to hear that you noticed the updates and improvements that the new owners have put in place!

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Chatham.

Layn Walker
Guest Relations, Chatham Seafarer Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Extremely clean. Loved the pool area. Walk to beach at end of street.
Understand it is under new management which would make sense as it
feels like new. Great value! Had a splendid weekend and will most definitely venture back next summer.

Room Tip: Great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrChathamSeafarer, Guest Relations Manager at Chatham Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Bill J,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and your kind words about your visit to the Chatham Seafarer Inn. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed both the on property pool and the nearby Ridgevale beach.

The Seafarer is indeed under new ownership, and we're happy to hear that the updates and improvements to our classic inn made the property feel brand new!

We look forward to seeing you again next summer!

Layn Walker
Guest Relations, Chatham Seafarer Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Chatham Seafarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Seafarer Inn

Address: 2079 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatham Seafarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With new owners as of April 2014, the Chatham Seafarer Inn is excited to announce changes and improvements for the benefit and comfort of our guests. Upgraded bathroom and bedroom linens, freshly painted rooms, a newly installed high efficiency hot water system and many more additions and improvements. Lounge by the pool, take a ride on the Cape Cod Rail Trail, walk to Ridgevale beach, or enjoy our fantastic location on Main Street in Chatham. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chatham Seafarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Seafarer Hotel Chatham
Seafarer Hotel Chatham
Seafarer Motel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Seafarer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.