We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Chatham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Seafarer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chatham Seafarer to your Saves list
Chatham Seafarer
2079 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633-1020   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Rate - Hotel Website
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay at Chatham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The inn is very cute, and the service was excelent! Chatham is my favorite place to stay in Cape Cod, and the inn's location is perfect. The only reason I didn't give 5stars was that the bed sheets had a weird stain on it, and I slept with a towel over it. Other than that, not only I recommend the place but I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    24
    0
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
29
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

New, immaculately clean, delightful little room (key says Cockle Cove) just beyond the office breezeway. Room lacked a soap dish in the shower, tissue, hangers (not one on the rod!), and a luggage rack. Had to put our clothes on the floor. Room felt more like a little cabin with windows all around, a little patio overlooking the yard & lovely shade tree with the pool beyond. Charming. Front yard has beautiful landscaping too that is very welcoming.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braintree, ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Excellent front desk service. The representative was extremely knowledgeable about the area and local activities. Having a fresh cup of coffee in my room in the morning was an added bonus as was the fridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have just come back from a quick, family, 4-day stay in Cape Cod. We stayed at the Chatham Seafarer and it was just great; right in the middle of everything that we wanted to do! Beaches, souvenir shopping, great restaurants!!. The room (pool-side efficiency) was very, very clean and was the perfect size for us...everything looked like it has been recently renovated. The efficiency had everything that we needed; close access to the ice machine and great access / view to the pool.

Room Tip: the efficiency room that we had, had access directly to the pool and therefore (probably) the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I'm very surprised at the recent negative reviews - we had a wonderful experience at the Seafarer during our three-night stay in September 2013. We knew from the reviews that it wasn't walking distance from the downtown, but that was fine with us, especially since parking wasn't a problem in mid-September. Annie, our host, was delightful and very helpful with suggestions for food, shopping and attractions. The room was perfect for our needs - nothing fancy, but beautiful new wood floors; comfortable bed, thirsty towels and mini-fridge for our groceries. They have been doing renovations bit by bit, so some of the fixtures probably need an update, but everything worked fine and we weren't looking for (or paying for) five-star accommodations. One afternoon, we sat out in the rustic garden and ate our lunches. It was a bit too cold for the pool, though. We are seriously considering a return trip next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The pictures (and the Trip Advisor reviews) of this motel do not accurately reflect the over all shabbiness of the property, front office or the room we were supposed to stay in. The property needs much better lawn and shrubbery maintenance and the outside could use a coat of paint. The Front Office is a mess and smells moldy. The room we were supposed to stay in is attached to the Front Office and smelled as moldy. Whatever money they take in during the high season is not put back into this motel. It is such a shame, too, because it could be extremely charming. The woman, who I assume is the owner, could care less about our reaction and said she wished us luck finding another hotel to stay in (we found three). We knew the refund policy, but she wouldn't consider it even though she said she was turning people away that day. Also, I am so surprised at the quality of the reviews the Chatham Seafarer has received. They are very lucky indeed to have such accommodating guests. I, for one, will not return to the Chatham Seafarer nor recommend it to any one I know.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisemanretreats, Owner at Chatham Seafarer, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
My name is Patrick Wiseman, I own the Chatham Seafarer with my wife Annie, who manages it.
Apparently husband of couple arriving only wished to speak with a man, even though Annie tried explaining that she was one of the owners and the general manager.
I have photographed the property and have been careful not to make the rooms appear anything but what we have to offer. Landscape late fall is of course not as it is in the summer, which is when photographs were taken. But we are careful to try and keep up with our appearance nonetheless. Our staff meticulously clean each and every room before our guests arrive, as well as everyday during the course of their visit. As the owners of a reputable hospitality business we aim to please not disappoint. Please do read all our reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three days and left feeling we received little value at a high cost - averaged $197 per night. The motel has very few amenities - no complimentary breakfast or paper and no ice machine. The room's bathroom requires an upgrade - paint peeling on entire ceiling and sections of door. The motel office was not staffed for the three days we stayed. The location is poor - a car is required to get to Chatham or anywhere else. The town of Chatham was lovely, but wished we had picked accommodations that provided value for money. This is the first time I have written such a review.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatham Seafarer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Seafarer

Address: 2079 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633-1020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With New Owners as of April 2014, comes new towels, linens, bedspreads, ice machine, relocated office, fresh paint, high efficiency hot water system and much more. You will love the pool, Ridgevale Beach and the Cape Cod Bike Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chatham Seafarer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Seafarer Hotel Chatham
Seafarer Hotel Chatham
Seafarer Motel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Seafarer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.