We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Were Looking For” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Seafarer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chatham Seafarer to your Saves list
Chatham Seafarer
2079 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633-1020   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
2nd Night Free
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Waltham, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just What We Were Looking For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I'm very surprised at the recent negative reviews - we had a wonderful experience at the Seafarer during our three-night stay in September 2013. We knew from the reviews that it wasn't walking distance from the downtown, but that was fine with us, especially since parking wasn't a problem in mid-September. Annie, our host, was delightful and very helpful with suggestions for food, shopping and attractions. The room was perfect for our needs - nothing fancy, but beautiful new wood floors; comfortable bed, thirsty towels and mini-fridge for our groceries. They have been doing renovations bit by bit, so some of the fixtures probably need an update, but everything worked fine and we weren't looking for (or paying for) five-star accommodations. One afternoon, we sat out in the rustic garden and ate our lunches. It was a bit too cold for the pool, though. We are seriously considering a return trip next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    0
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
28
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The pictures (and the Trip Advisor reviews) of this motel do not accurately reflect the over all shabbiness of the property, front office or the room we were supposed to stay in. The property needs much better lawn and shrubbery maintenance and the outside could use a coat of paint. The Front Office is a mess and smells moldy. The room we were supposed to stay in is attached to the Front Office and smelled as moldy. Whatever money they take in during the high season is not put back into this motel. It is such a shame, too, because it could be extremely charming. The woman, who I assume is the owner, could care less about our reaction and said she wished us luck finding another hotel to stay in (we found three). We knew the refund policy, but she wouldn't consider it even though she said she was turning people away that day. Also, I am so surprised at the quality of the reviews the Chatham Seafarer has received. They are very lucky indeed to have such accommodating guests. I, for one, will not return to the Chatham Seafarer nor recommend it to any one I know.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisemanretreats, Owner at Chatham Seafarer, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
My name is Patrick Wiseman, I own the Chatham Seafarer with my wife Annie, who manages it.
Apparently husband of couple arriving only wished to speak with a man, even though Annie tried explaining that she was one of the owners and the general manager.
I have photographed the property and have been careful not to make the rooms appear anything but what we have to offer. Landscape late fall is of course not as it is in the summer, which is when photographs were taken. But we are careful to try and keep up with our appearance nonetheless. Our staff meticulously clean each and every room before our guests arrive, as well as everyday during the course of their visit. As the owners of a reputable hospitality business we aim to please not disappoint. Please do read all our reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three days and left feeling we received little value at a high cost - averaged $197 per night. The motel has very few amenities - no complimentary breakfast or paper and no ice machine. The room's bathroom requires an upgrade - paint peeling on entire ceiling and sections of door. The motel office was not staffed for the three days we stayed. The location is poor - a car is required to get to Chatham or anywhere else. The town of Chatham was lovely, but wished we had picked accommodations that provided value for money. This is the first time I have written such a review.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

First, but certainly not our last visit! One of the best spontaneous decisions of the touring holiday. Annie, the owner, greeted us though we had no booking and happily showed us the available rooms before we booked in. She is such a delightful lady, gave us good advice, beach towels and what turned out to be a brilliant recommendation for a wonderful evening. Beautifully kept accomodation, all our needs were more than met. Thank you very much indeed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited New Hampshire / Maine / Cape Cod from Scotland & Chatham was one of the highlights. The Seafarer is an ideal location to relax in when visiting Chatham. 2 miles from town centre and 3/4 mile down quiet road to Ridgevale Beach means that you are 5 minutes drive from town which has ample parking & a pleasant stroll down to beach.
We stayed in Room with small kitchen, fridge & microwave & the room was spotlessly clean. However the best part of any stay is not just the room or location but the people who are your host & Annie is brilliant. She made us very welcome from the start & assured us that we would be able to relax & enjoy our stay in Chatham (which we did). We wanted to stay 6 nights but she only had 4 available (4th&5th July were booked out) so she phoned around on our behalf to get us those 2 final nights, such kindness is rare nowadays & it's very much appreciated.
Annie invited us to help ourselves to use beach chairs & towels as we didn't carry any with us. As mentioned in other reviews, the pool is hidden from the road & set in lovely gardens & you don't get disturbed by traffic noise. Would definitely recommend staying here & will return when we get back to Chatham.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you know Cape Cod, you know the Route 28 motels. The good ones have clean rooms, a swimming pool, a/c, and heat, simple as that. Annie & Patrick are the proprietors, she French, he American, and they are two of the nicest people you will meet. They keep a great place, a nice clean motel in the classic Cape Cod sense. Free wifi and flat screen televisions are the modern conveniences, along with a frig in the rooms, and a coffee makers and coffee for early morning as well. I've ben going to the Cape for 60 years now, and believe me, there are owners who care, and who try to constantly maintain the property, and make the clients feel happy. Annie & Patrick are such owners. They want their clients to become friends, and having stayed there many times over the past 10 or so years, we have become friends as well. They go the extra mile for you and for your comfort.

Don't miss the Harwich Seafarer just down the road, and the Monncusser Tavern. Fabulously great food you will want to keep as your own little secret, but go tell the world, it is really that good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Some places are so right that I hesitate to tell anyone else about them. But since I cannot travel every day of the year, I might as well share the good news.

The Chatham Seafarer is about two miles west of Chatham. It is a block from an entrance to the Cape bike path and about 3/4 mile up a side road from a nice beach on Nantucket Sound (significantly warmer water than the Atlantic). That is close enough to walk.

The Seafarer has been tastefully redone and refurnished so that the room felt more like summer hotel than beach motel. Lovely, spacious, uncluttered. It has a heated pool which is perfect when the weather is too chilly for the beach. The owner-manager lives on the premises and is wonderfully helpful and charming.

Off-season there is no problem driving into Chatham town. In high season, you want to choose your times to avoid traffic jams. Never fear -- you only need to go to Chatham for the seals. There are plenty of places to eat in that part of the Cape without struggling with town traffic. From the Seafarer it is easy to escape in several different directions by foot, bike or car, which you could not consistently do from a place right in Chatham town. At the end of the day, it is nice to settle down in a lovely, roomy, quiet room or suite. And all at a really reasonable price.

Room Tip: The double room is quite roomy. They also have suites. All rooms seemed quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatham Seafarer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Seafarer

Address: 2079 Main Street, Chatham, MA 02633-1020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With New Owners as of April 2014, comes new towels, linens, bedspreads, ice machine, relocated office, fresh paint, high efficiency hot water system and much more. You will love the pool, Ridgevale Beach and the Cape Cod Bike Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chatham Seafarer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Seafarer Hotel Chatham
Seafarer Hotel Chatham
Seafarer Motel Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Seafarer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.