We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ridgevale Beach

Ridgevale Beach
Ridgevale Rd., Chatham, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 22 attractions in Chatham
Type: Beaches
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset, Swimming
Attraction Details
Barrington, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This bach looked like a post card. It is the very picture of a New England bach complete with tidal pools and a bridge leading to the beach itself. Great photo opps.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Beware of the plovers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

During piping plover season, much of this beach ($15 daily seasonal non-resident parking fee) is cordoned off for the endangered birds to breed. This is a good beach for kids, waves are never too high, but a steep drop-off may require parent supervison at some tide stages. This beach links easily to Cockle Cove, a short walk away.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“My favorite beach in Chatham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a wonderful beach in Chatham, right off Route 28. You have to pay to park, but if you are here for a few days or more, go and invest in a weekly visitor sticker for your car, it is cheaper. Most local beaches have free parking in the late afternoon (usually 3 p.m.). I love this beach as it is very clean, has a snack shack and the ice cream truck makes an appearance at least once a day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Beach in Chatham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Have been going to Chatham for many years, and this is the first time I have been to Ridgevale. It is a very pretty beach- but the main attraction is the tide pools- they are a GREAT attraction for kids- so great in fact that there are very few kids on the beach- which is attractive for those of us without kids!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Take Back Ridgevale!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I love this beach. You know by reading my first review about it that I love this beach. The lifeguards, access to bathrooms, the snack bar in the parking lot, recreational rentals, etc. But, gimme a break with these blasted birds! Our family's houses all overlook this beach and with the town being more accommodating to the birds than to the public is seriously impacting the number of beach goers this year. As the roped off area gets bigger, the amount of people drawn in gets drastically smaller. They even cord off sections of the water now. I'm all for saving the animals, but, call me insensitive...I care more about saving the sharks than I do about birds who are controlling beaches. Over 70 million sharks every year get their fins cut off and they are thrown back into the ocean alive...and drown. Why do we care about birds that are responsible for their own demise? The family in Hardings Beach Lighthouse, they can't drive up the driveway for 6 weeks because of these birds. Duxbury Beach, one of the biggest beaches around here, for the better part of the summer, you can no longer drive your car onto the beach because of these birds nesting in the tire tracks. The plovers are taking over the beaches like seals are decimating the fish (which is why the sharks are here). I'm not a complainer, but, when it comes down to something that has gotten progressively worse over the last 6 years....I'm not going to keep quiet about it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ridgevale Beach also viewed

 

Been to Ridgevale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridgevale Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ridgevale Beach to your Saves list