We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Summer Stock Theatre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monomoy Theatre

Monomoy Theatre
776 Main St., Chatham, MA 02633
1-508-945-1589
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Attractions in Chatham
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Summer Stock Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Small, intimate and quaint with excellent theatrical productions. Everyone should go at least once. You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedminster, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quintessential Summer Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Charming theater holds about 200 without a bad seat in the house. Air conditioned and comfortable seats, but still old Cape Cod feel with a quant outdoor courtyard for intermission. The theatre has an affiliation with two college theatre departments which contributes to the high quality of actors. Thoroughly enjoyed the show Wait Until Dark last week. Ordered tickets through the website and they were waiting for us at the door. Will definitely be back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Summer Stock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We are prejudiced. Over the past few years our daughter has been a performe at Monomoyr. Now that she has graduated, we still go for a show or two each summer. The Hartt students are total professionals with clear strong voices and acting talent.

The choice of musicals and drama/comedies offers such a wide range, there will be a performance for everyone.

Put this on you trip advisor for next year.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Monomoy Theatre - Always a Class Act!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were in Chatham for their Fourth of July activities and decided to go see 1776, the Musical. We bought the last 2 tickets that night and I was worried the seats wouldn't be that great. I should have remembered that there are no bad seats. The show was superb! The acting brought you back to those historical days when the various patriots penned the Declaration of Independence. You really felt you were there in the gallery watching the whole process. The music was great too. We thoroughly enjoyed it!!
Over the years we have seen many productions at Monomoy and have never been disappointed. This summer's line up includes Cabaret and Wait Until Dark. Wish I could see those. Actually, I wish I lived in Chatham so I could be a season ticket holder!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"1776" - Educational & Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were fortunate to get tickets for the first night performance of "1776" the musical. Very entertaining with great acting and singing from a mainly amateur cast. AS visitors to USA it was also very educational.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monomoy Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Monomoy Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monomoy Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.