We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Atwood House Museum

The Old Atwood House Museum
347 Stage Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA
508/945-2493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 22 attractions in Chatham
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Southport UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Marvellous little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very quaint little museum.Some nice exhibits.
Great for passing a spare hour.
Very nice lady in the shop.
Bough a few lovely trinkets as gifts.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watervliet, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surprised to find Meneely Bells made in my home town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I researched new places to visit for this trip to Cape Cod. I came to Atwood house to see the old twin tower to Chatam Light. Nice little display of the lantern room outside. What I was surprised to find was a display of Meneely Bells that were made in my home town long ago. My dad is the president of the historical society here in Watervliet (formerly West Troy NY) so I've heard a lot about these bells from him. The museum was closed but I was able to talk to someone from the museum anyway. They were very friendly and helpful and sent me photos of the bell tower that used to house the Meneely bells they have on display. I took a few photos of the bells with my Ipad and several with my camera. I called my dad and emailed him photos from my ipad while I was away. I've been trying to get my mom and dad to take a trip to Cape Cod for years. I think your Meneely bell display will finally get them to go! Thanks so much for the help and emails! I will have to come back next time to tour the museum when you are open for business!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A most fascinating historic house museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the history of the house, the furnishings, art and artifacts, plus the knowledgeable and very interesting guides made it all come to life. Also there were attached gallery rooms filled with local items of interest relating to the fishing industry, ships and the arts. And the rescued and preserved fishing shack on the grounds was unique and fascinating. We were so glad to have discovered this house museum gem and the gift shop had many wonderful books and related treasures. It was a fun and history filled experience!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This was a really quaint museum. My family and I especially enjoyed the tour of the "old house". So many interesting things to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“guides were very personable and knowledgable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

great example of a 1600's cape cod home showing changes over time. There were also other exhibits included as this is the home of the Chatham historical society so it is more than an old house tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Atwood House Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Old Atwood House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Atwood House Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.