We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised to find Meneely Bells made in my home town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Atwood House Museum

The Old Atwood House Museum
347 Stage Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA
508/945-2493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 36 things to do in Chatham
Attraction details
Watervliet, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprised to find Meneely Bells made in my home town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I researched new places to visit for this trip to Cape Cod. I came to Atwood house to see the old twin tower to Chatam Light. Nice little display of the lantern room outside. What I was surprised to find was a display of Meneely Bells that were made in my home town long ago. My dad is the president of the historical society here in Watervliet (formerly West Troy NY) so I've heard a lot about these bells from him. The museum was closed but I was able to talk to someone from the museum anyway. They were very friendly and helpful and sent me photos of the bell tower that used to house the Meneely bells they have on display. I took a few photos of the bells with my Ipad and several with my camera. I called my dad and emailed him photos from my ipad while I was away. I've been trying to get my mom and dad to take a trip to Cape Cod for years. I think your Meneely bell display will finally get them to go! Thanks so much for the help and emails! I will have to come back next time to tour the museum when you are open for business!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A most fascinating historic house museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the history of the house, the furnishings, art and artifacts, plus the knowledgeable and very interesting guides made it all come to life. Also there were attached gallery rooms filled with local items of interest relating to the fishing industry, ships and the arts. And the rescued and preserved fishing shack on the grounds was unique and fascinating. We were so glad to have discovered this house museum gem and the gift shop had many wonderful books and related treasures. It was a fun and history filled experience!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quaint museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This was a really quaint museum. My family and I especially enjoyed the tour of the "old house". So many interesting things to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“guides were very personable and knowledgable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

great example of a 1600's cape cod home showing changes over time. There were also other exhibits included as this is the home of the Chatham historical society so it is more than an old house tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston, MA USA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A great take! Definitely worth your time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Set along a quiet street, you have to know where the Atwood House is. Not on Chatham's main drag, it is absolutely worth a visit! Even if it's not open when you get there, the small outside exhibits are worth looking at and the flower gardens are lovely. Visit the house and step back in time to "Old Cape Cod." Rotating exhibits in the nearby barn are always worth checking out.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Atwood House Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Old Atwood House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Atwood House Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.