We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Hands-Down Favorite for Special Occassions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pate's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pate's Restaurant
1260 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-1861
508-945-9777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 58 restaurants in Chatham
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Brewster, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our Hands-Down Favorite for Special Occassions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband & I are Cape Cod Lifers. We've tried just about every restaurant there is on our home island. Time after time, however, we deeply regret our choice to go anywhere but Pate's. With a young family, we don't often get the opportunity to go out to dinner. Resources are often limted and arranging a babysitter often problematic. So often we have gone to other restaurants on our rare nights out, paid $60+ for mediocre food and service, and layed in bed that night lamenting that we didn't just go to Pate's. It's MORE than worth an additional $10-15 to go to Pate's and know we're going to have a superior meal and service. Is the decor darker and dated. Yes. But for those of us with deep seeded roots in Chatham, there is no better place. My parents were engaged there in June of 1957. As a family, growing up in Chatham, we went there for many, many special occassions in the off-season months - my own family being very respected town restaurant owners in the summer themselves. Pate's offers the best of the best in steaks and seafood. Yes, you'll pay $25+ for your entree, but you'll get a loaf of fresh bread (and more if requested) and a lovely house or Caeser salad. The house dressing - the creamy scallion - is to DIE for. Ask for it on the side, though, as it is very thick and rich. You won't need much and that's coming from someone who drowns her salads. My favorite meal there is the teriyaki steak. ALWAYS perfect. The baked stuffed potato is delicious and the carrots sauteed in terragon are wonderful. I've had many of the other items on the menu and have never, ever, ever once been disappointed in any of them. Pate's on Rte. 28 in Chatham is exceptional. WELL worth paying $75 when you'll easily pay $60 somewhere else for 1/2 the quality, 1/2 the deliciousness and 1/2 the service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    28
    28
    16
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
yarmouthport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Looking for a great steak, look no further. Other entrees are super as well. The baked stuffed potato is a joy in itself. When in Cape Cod don't miss it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“20 years later...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nothing changed other then they added rooms and more tables. Yes it is like stepping back to the 70's and yes a lot of gray hairs... prices are high...

Staff and host could needs work on how to greet and deal with guests. Drinks and wine list also needs work...

If you want seafood this is not the place but if you want steak or chops, can deal with the fair service Pates is okay..

After 20 years nothing has changed...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I went here with a group of 22 for dinner. The food was great, as was the service. The waiter, Rennie, was attentive with all the guests. I was amazed that all 22 dinners arrived at the same time and were hot...something you don't always get with a large group. I had the Top Sirloin Rump Steak and it was one of the best cuts of meat I have had in a long time. Tender, cooked just right, and you could almost cut it with a regular knife. Several others had the Baked Chatham Haddock and also were very pleased with it. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a great meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This restaurant is obviously popular because it was filled on a thursday, but we were not impressed. The one vegetarian meal was very expensive for a tasteless plate of pasta and vegetables. The waitress was either inexperienced or did not care. She offered a salad with feta, which turned out to be a strong goat or other type cheese. Our daughter could not eat it. When the waitress asked if we wanted another round of drinks, only our son said yes, but she brought back three. I wanted to send the other two drinks back, but my family is laid back and said they would just drink the wine. The food was ok, not really great. This is IMO a place favored by locals who have gone here for years and are used to it. As a visitor on vacation, I would avoid it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pate's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pate's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pate's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.