We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place, small portions, high prices.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pisces Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pisces Restaurant
2653 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633
(508) 432-4600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 57 Restaurants in Chatham
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cute place, small portions, high prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very cute and comfortable. Food is excellent but small portions and high prices. Don't go much anymore.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    23
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unpretentious & Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Two couples went there for the first time after hearing good word of mouth. Well worth it. Very popular local South Chatham restaurant specializing in, you guessed it, seafood. We had swordfish, flounder and sea scallops all done perfectly. The calamari appetizer was best we've had in the USA. White tablecloth but intimate. Only 10-12 tables. We'll go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not enjoyable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is way too small for the number of tables they squeeze in and the noise is just so distracting that we won't be going back. In fact, the noise level was such that everyone ends up shouting across the table at each other and the entire restaurant turns into an un pleasant Tower of Babel.
The food was a bit pretentious, very boring and somewhat overpriced, but the waitstaff was pleasant and efficient. One dish was almost inedible given the over seasoning.
It's too bad because we really wanted to like this restaurant given the lack of decent places to eat in Chatham.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Intimate restaurant in Chatham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My friends and I spent the weekend in Chatham for a friend's wedding. We had a lovely dinner at Pisces Restaurant. First, there was complimentary valet which made the process of parking very easy. The restaurant is small and intimate and gave a very nice family feel. My husband got the lobster ravioli which was delicious. I got the seafood stew which was delicious- nice and fresh and good portion. My friend got the special which was a salmon on top of risotto. She only got the half portion and it was huge! The entire environment was warm and friendly. We also ordered a bottle of wine which was reasonably priced. Would go back in a heartbeat next time I am lucky enough to get up to the cape!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highly rated, a bit of a letdown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We found this place way overrated by others, found the selection of fish to be mediocre in an area endowed with so much fresh catch coming in each day and were mostly unimpressed by any of the entrees. I had a Portuguese-style fisherman's stew that was pleasant, not anything more than that. My wife had the chowder and it was not at all robust, rather dilute in seasoning and intensity of the lobster broth. An untrained person placed the utensils on our table while holding on to the tines of the fork and blade of the knife so that they would face the right way after putting them down. Not a fatal error, just a bit disappointing again based on the lofty ratings by others.
One pet peeve and it is actually routine in most restaurants, including this one. We are patrons. This word also refers to the expression on our faces as in patronized when a restaurant holding your reservation almost always tries to stick you in the worst seat in the restaurant first, then makes you beg/negotiate to get to a better spot. They assume you are too passive or stupid to react. Maybe restaurateurs get away with this often and reserve the better seats for the wealthier or better known patrons??? It sits poorly with us but is pretty routine. Patrons patronized.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pisces Restaurant also viewed

 
Chatham, Cape Cod
Chatham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Pisces Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pisces Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.